×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Medusa Stone
     

The Medusa Stone

4.5 27
by Jack Du Brul
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the tiny African nation of Eritrea, the American spy satellite Medusa has crashed but not before its sensors revealed an underground kimberlite pipeline, the telltale sign of a huge load of diamonds. The mine turns out to be King Solomon's Lost Mine, but with it is a tale of heartbreak---it was children who worked and died in the mine for 400 years, leading to many

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Medusa Stone 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
RetiredUSAF More than 1 year ago
This story will be welcomed by those fans of Clive Cussler's and of the IJ movies. The hero of the story, Mercer, combines the love of geology and spelunking with a knack for getting into dangerous spots ... and then getting back out. For those who are interested in reading the series, you should definitely read them in the order written - you'll appreciate a lot of the tongue-in-cheek references to earlier stories. I bought five of Mr DuBrul's books and read them all in four days - and I'm looking forward to his next efforts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The suspense was almost overwhelming
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The action (where way too many good guys died) was bogged down with a lot of boring stuff. Book should have been half as long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mercer does not disappoint
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I gotta admit, if you haven't read anything by Jack Du Brul, you ARE missing out! I honestly can't remember HOW I got linked up with his books, but I CAN tell you I will NOT let another book come hot off the press without me being there to pick it up on it's first day of release. Like many avid readers I have a short list of 'Absolute Favorite Authors' who I buy sight-unseen no matter what...add to that short list the name of Jack Du Brul. After a rather dull streak I found a copy of 'Vulcan's Forge' (used copy, I might add) and immediately I knew I had discovered something I was going to become attached to. I can't remember the last novel I have read by a first-time author that I enjoyed MORE. I also keep seeing these reviews who compare Du Brul with Cussler. Normally I would say that comparing someone to the Supreme Author of Action/Adventure fiction is just plain unfair...however after finishing 'Charon's Landing' I felt that the comparisons were more and more accurate. By the time I finished 'The Medusa Stone' I began to think that Cussler has in fact met his match. It is sad to think that someone, ANYONE could replace Dirk Pitt as my favorite adventurer in modern fiction...but Phillip Mercer is gaining ground, and he's doing it F-A-S-T. The plot of 'Medusa Stone' is complex, with many sub-plots moving in all directions...but NEVER without a purpose. No matter HOW far off the plot you THINK the story is going, don't worry--Du Brul KNOWS what he is doing, and he ties it all together in the end very nicely. The action is on just about every page, with intrigue piled on top of treachery on top of suspense. Just bloody good FUN! The best thing about NOT having read ANYTHING by Jack Du Brul is that you have something really cool to look forward TO: Three novels to read back-to-back! Now IF you are really lucky, and you time yourself just right, you might be able to finish 'Medusa Stone' in time to pick up the next Mercer adventure (hopefully we won't have to wait TOO LONG...hint, hint...). Simply put, if you consider yourself a Dirk Pitt fan, do yourself a SUPREME favor and get to know Phillip Mercer. Don't worry, don't think of it as cheating on Cussler, 'cuz Clive actually LOVES Du Brul, too! Don't wait! Head to the bookstore NOW! Hurry!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows that Jack has come into his own! Medusa Stone is jam packed with everything that an action adventure novel needs and more! The story line is tight and intriquing. By the end of the book you have to run for a glass of water. You go through every emotion possible in this story. Jack Du Brul has proven himself to be worthy of praise from Clive Cussler! Jack will be with us for many years! The only drawback was that the book didn't come out in hardback! Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I happened upon The Medusa Stone by accident in the book store. I never heard of the writer before, but figured I would give it a shot. I have to tell you that ever since I read that book, Jack Du Brul is now my favorite new author!! I can't wait until he puts out a new novel. His writing style was very comfortable. He wrote in a way that I could relate to, especially with his humor. I would recommend any one of his books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
¿Medusa Stone¿ is Jack Du Brul¿s latest foray into the swirling vortex that is the life of Dr. Philip Mercer. From Tiny¿s Bar in Washington DC to Leonardo da Vinci Airport in Rome to the Valley of Dead Children in the war-torn African nation of Eritrea, Du Brul follows the latest exploits of his hero, known to friend, foe, and fan alike as Mercer, and his not-quite trust-worthy ¿partner¿ Selome Nagast as they hunt for a treasure greater than any ever found in the ravages of the Eritrean desert. The regular cast of Harry White, jockey-turned-bar-keep Tiny, and FBI Director Dick Henna make their appearances, along with a new cast of villains, which make this book one of the best reads of the year. ¿Medusa Stone¿ reaffirms Mr. Du Brul¿s already solid reputations as one of the dominant new authors today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jack DuBrul's new book grabs you from the start and keeps you glued to the pages till the end. Mercer is offered the opportunity to search Africa for a new diamond mine, but declines. However, he is forced to reconsider after his friend, Harry, is kidnapped. Given an ultimatium, time wise, Mercer must rush to find the mine and somehow rescue Harry. Unknown to Mercer is the presence of a second group interested in the mine. Both groups share an interest, finding the mine, but for totally different ends. From his arrival in the Rome airport until the final air combat over the Red Sea Mercer is faced with numerous almost unsurmountable obstacles. Using his knowledge, skill and hunches he, with help from a few select confidantes, is able to solve the riddle of the Medusa photographs. The book grabbed me from the start and kept me enthralled all the way through. By far the best of Jack's books. Looking forward to number four, Pandora's Curse.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jack DuBrul is back and has another winner with his third novel, The Medusa Stone. The story centers around Phillip Mercer, geologist and adventurer extraordinaire. From his home in Washinton DC where his best friend is kidnapped, to strife ridden Eritrea in Northern Africa this is one fast paced action packed thriller. DuBrul's writing has the ability to put you right in the action and with this book there is lots of it. Phillip Mercer is under pressure to save his friend's life and solve the riddle of The Medusa Project with the help of his friend Dick Mercer in the FBI. The plot is brillant and sophisticated and will have you turning the pages at a furious pace until the dramatic conclusion is revealed. As with his two previous books, Charon's Landing and Vulcan Forge the writing, plot and cast of returning characters makes this book an absolute must read.