×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mercy Blade (Jane Yellowrock Series #3)
     

Mercy Blade (Jane Yellowrock Series #3)

4.5 175
by Faith Hunter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jane, a shapeshifting vampire-hunter-for-hire, crosses paths with a stranger who has arrived in New Orleans, enlisted to hunt vampires who have gone insane-or so he says...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mercy Blade (Jane Yellowrock Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 175 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Her name is Jane Yellowrock and she is a skinwalker; the last of her kind. To survive she is a rogue vampire slayer. She shares her soul with Beast and they communicate with each other. When Jane shapeshifts she usually turns to Beast, but she can change into any animal she chooses. Now the Weres have gone public and Jane works exclusively for the Blood Master of New Orleans, Leo Pellissier. Leo hates werewolves and when a clan of weres arrives to stake a claim in Leo's territory, he orders Jane to come to his house. He wants his security systems and peoples to be at full alert which is Jane's department. Leo also wants her to meet someone near a pub to tell home to get out of town. When she arrives at the spot she notices the werewolves are there. She meets Girrard who once worked for Leo as his Mercy Blade, but Leos almost killed him when he tried to kill Leo's insane daughter. Not interested in a chat, Jane prepares for the gala where the African werewolves try to make peace with Leo and his vampires. The American werewolves get past the sentries and attack. By the end of the confrontation, the hall is flowing with blood. Making matters worse, Rick, Jane's lover is undercover and she realizes that he is having sex with a werewolf as part of his job as a police officer. The Weres plans another assault on Leo's complex and Jane is pleased when the carnage ends and peace is restored. Now if she can only find Rick who still remains missing. The third Yellowrock urban fantasy (see Blood Cross and Skinwalker) is great thriller starring a flawed heroine whose childhood memories are nightmares and gets upset with the slaughters but does her job while dealing with various supernatural species. Girrard adds an enigmatic element as Jane wonders what his tie to her boss is. Readers will appreciate Mercy Blade as paranormal blood flows in the Big Easy. Harriet Klausner
KrissieTN More than 1 year ago
The third installment of the Jane Yellowrock series begins with Jane and her boyfriend Rick in Appalachia. A startling revelation sends them back to New Orleans, and back to business. Jane finds herself dealing with a missing lover, steamy moments with Bruiser, Her best friends snooty sister, not to mention her vampire boss, and a mysterious stranger. All of which have their own agendas.
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
I love the action and story. The only thing keeping me from giving this a 5 star rating, is the reference in I believe every single chapter of the scents of New Orleans. Yes, Jane and Beast can scent well, we've heard several times what New Orleans smells like, I don't want to read it any more. I've got the description of all of her guns and knives down as well. I know authors have certain writing styles and idiosyncrasies, but enough with these same descriptions over and over and over again. I will read the next book, hopefully, I won't have felt like I've read half of the book before.
mkbeyer More than 1 year ago
Faith Hunter has done it again....I love the Jane Yellowrock series. I can't wait to see what happens next!!
bookaddictHW More than 1 year ago
Third installment of the Jane Yellowrock series. Read them in order. They just keep getting and better. Shapeshifter story that is fresh. Vampire Master of the City, werewolves, whats not to love! Great ending in this book to lead up to Raven Cursed.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hrschic More than 1 year ago
The Jane Yellowrock world just keeps getting better and better. Can't wait to read what happens next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PatH More than 1 year ago
I love the Jane Yellowrock series. An amazing character - not a hero/not a bad guy. Just an interesting woman - I love Beast. Reminds me of one of my cats. This is a grand series for anyone who loves Patricia Briggs, Michelle Sagara, or Kim Harrison. Love the characters - and Ms. Hunter knows how to write. Well crafted from start to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crikel83 More than 1 year ago
The Jane Yellowrock series is one of my favorite series. There are currently five books in the series with the sixth one (Blood Trade) set to release in April of 2013. The first book is Skinwalker. The series features a Cherokee Skinwalker who is the last of her kind. Unlike most shapeshifter series, Jane is able to shift into any type of animal and is not limited to one type of animal throughout the whole series. We watch as Jane, a rogue vampire hunter, finds herself working for a vampire, learning of their culture, the culture of the people who serve them and sometimes finding that she is not the top predator in the room. I found her character development interesting. This is not a traditional shapeshifter and vampire series and I found I rather enjoyed the fresh take in the urban fantasy genre. If you like Kim Harrison Rachel Morgan series, Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series, and Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series (just to name a few) then you should also try this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hunter never fails to deliver. I'm on to the next in the series. Jane Yellowrock is my new superhero. I would love to be her BFF.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We're introduced to some new species of paranormals and get some great backstory on Leo, Jane's employer/tormentor/admirer. This author has a talent for writing action scenes; I could see them in my head clearly. This is exciting writing and a great world to get lost in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago