×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mercy Thompson: Homecoming
     

Mercy Thompson: Homecoming

4.2 75
by Patricia Briggs, David Lawrence, Francis Tsai (Artist), Amelia Woo (Artist), Bill Tortolini (Illustrator)
 

Mercy Thompson is a walker, a magical being with the power to transform into a coyote. She lives on the fine line dividing the everyday world from a darker dimension, observing the supernatural community while standing apart.

When Mercy travels to the Tri-Cities of Washington for a job interview, she quickly finds herself smack-dab in the middle of a gang war

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mercy Thompson Homecoming 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
elizabethbennet More than 1 year ago
I know i should not be allowed to give a review with only reading a portion of it but i just liked what i read and the pictures in the graphic novel it was real neat and makes me what to start on that series even tho i am already engrossed in several series, this will be the next one on my list along with shiver. i really like this author so far patricia briggs seems very interesting and fun.... with a good imagination i also looked into some of her other series that i would like to read like the hurog series and raven series. I really like wolves and shapeshifters and this book as both.
Ziva More than 1 year ago
This is a graphic novel from the Mercy Thompson Series. I enjoyed seeing how Mercy got to book 1 Moon Called (Mercy Thompson Series #1). The drawing is great, I really liked being able to visualize what everything looked like. The way Mercy looked in the first few pages I didn't like as much as later on. The story is good and the intro to all the characters was interesting. I can't wait to see what's next. The day any of these books/graphic novels come out I have to get them.
Patokagwp More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this comic. I love Briggs' work. I enjoyed reading and had to re-read this several times. It is worth picking up; but there are some caveats. The story line is bad. There are so many scenes with back(?) scenes in them. You're reading along and then all of a sudden that line stops and somewhere there is a back-in-time sequence and then there is a back-in-time sequence within the first one. That is confusing. It isn't a straight line to the finish. I liked the overall story. There were some discrepencies. Mercy had lived in her trailer for a few years before Adam "BUILT" his mansion behind her. In this graphic novel, Adam Bought it right after she "RENTED" her trailer. So, with all of this, why did I like this? Because I could get a visual on how the author saw her characters. Would I purchase a 2nd graphic novel? Depends upon my employment status. It would be very tempting. Buy or not? That would be your decision. Mine was that I enjoy Patricia Briggs works and want a complete library of them. So, I would buy this again if I hadn't already. But be prepared for discrepancies. If you are in a critical mood, don't get it. If you are in a curious and willing to be entertained mood, go for it. I know this won't give you a definitive answer. But, I liked seeing the characters. I liked seeing Tad hire Mercy. I liked seeing her interview for a teaching position. I liked the story. But, this won't be everyone's favorite. I think that for a first time effort it was great. But, I grew up on comic books and means I once had a collection that would have made me rich if Mom hadn't sold them at her yard sale. <grin>
harstan More than 1 year ago
Shapeshifting human walker Mercedes "Mercy" Thompson can shift into a coyote. However, having just graduated from college, Mercy just wants a job. Thus the Oregonian goes for an interview in the nearby Tri-Cities, Washington. However, minding her business and having her nerves on edge seem not to matter for Mercy. She must deal with vampires, werewolves, and her mom as well as the interviewing horde. Just another normal day for a college grad seeking employment with the worst terrorist being her lecturing mother telling her she is ruining her life. Mercy is not sure whose life mom is referring to in her latest diatribe. This is a terrific graphic comic with a strong Patricia Briggs' story line that occurs before the Mercy novels take place and with vivid powerful illustrations by Francis Tsai and Amelia Woo. Fans of the saga will relish this new direction that showcases the heroine just after her college graduation while newcomers will find this a wonderful bridge into the world of mercy Thompson. Harriet Klausner
Jerry0 More than 1 year ago
I want it. Where is the NOOK Version? Pretty Please?
ezmajrelda More than 1 year ago
I did not like this style of writing at all. I got lost in 2 places. I'll stick to her regular writing and hope she redoes this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Huh, this one was the prequel and the other Mercy one is based on Moon Called. Got the review for the wrong one. You know how when you're caught up on a series, then you wait (impatiently) for the newest book and you see there's a long waiting list and all that? Then while waiting, you find there's a prequel and graphic novels to ease the wait. I sometimes wonder whether I should read the spin offs, sequels or prequels of series I liked or thought were okay. I go for a yes and no on that one. But because I miss the characters and liked the last book in the series so far, I thought, let's see how this one is. And I got to say that it was nice, seeing how the characters meet and yay for Mercy and Stefan slowly budding friendship. And hello Adam and Mercy meet! But I got all excited for the Mercy and Stefan moments honestly. And Tad is freaking adorable and Zee is pretty much how I imagined him in a way. And maybe its how he's drawn but he kind of reminds me of a human, uh fae, version of a Goron (the leader one). Maybe its the hair? Anyway, the art at times was weird but was really good with the fight scenes. It didn't bother me from enjoying the story. So this is one of those where the art is good to okay. Other times, the art isn't as good or the story isn't that good as well with some series, Vampire Academy from what I heard (graphic novel form) comes to mind, same can be said for the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter graphic novels. Basically, this was good set up to the series and at the end with the different art style for the characters was interesting to see.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TiggersMomPA More than 1 year ago
Absolutely not what I was expecting! This hardcover collection of graphic novels with dust jacket is a great idea. I thought this would be a cartoon version of the original novel but the artwork and story are wonderful. You forget you're reading a "comic book" because the artwork is so realistic!
shymeri More than 1 year ago
Loved the graphics and its nice to get the background to Mercy and Adam.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Qdaba11 More than 1 year ago
Ha, a Vamp w/ a Mystery Machine--good gag
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BreRose86 More than 1 year ago
If you'r an avid graphic novel or manga reader this is not for you. I bought it on a whim becuase I loved the original series but the graphic novel wasn't what I had expected. Neither bad nor good just was.