×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mexican WhiteBoy
     

Mexican WhiteBoy

4.0 29
by Matt de la Peña
 

See All Formats & Editions

Danny's tall and skinny. Even though he’s not built, his arms are long enough to give his pitch a power so fierce any college scout would sign him on the spot. Ninety-five mile an hour fastball, but the boy’s not even on a team. Every time he gets up on the mound he loses it.
   But at his private school, they don’t expect much else

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mexican WhiteBoy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book! My LA teacher was making us read this book. After a few pages, I was hooked. It's real, I guess. It doesn't create some sort of plot that will never happen in real life: many people can definitely relate to this book. I would totally reccommend this book. Warning: This book has many cuss words, and some situations that you don't want young children reading. I suggest that teens read this book.
sunny_ash More than 1 year ago
For school I had to get a book with a theme of tolerance, and most of my classmates were choosing books about the holocaust. I too was going to read a holocaust book, but then I found this one. I read it very quickly and could hardly put it down! I've never read a book written from a boy's point of view (besides being forced to in class) and was a little unsure of reading a book about from a boy's point of view and about baseball, but I genuinely enjoyed it! Girls, if you don't think you'll like this book because it's a boy telling the story, I'm sure you will love it! I'd recommend this book to any teenager.
TE-in-CC-atRAL More than 1 year ago
Mexican Whiteboy was a book that had to be read in one sitting, not only because it was good, but because it was easier to follow that way. The book starts out with a fight between two half mexican boys - only difference: one is half black, Uno, and the other half white, Danny. However, the fight doesn't stop them from becoming good friends. They then set out to earn five hundred dollars so Uno can move out of the ghetto and live with his dad. Uno and Danny make the money by hustling baseball. Danny is an amazing pitcher with some control issues. Uno is an amazing Catcher with the will to help Danny through it. Mexican Whiteboy is an adventurous tale about how you can find friends in the most unlikely of places, and how you can find yourself making the best out of something that isn't very good. The book touches on some sensative points such as racism, gang violence, and underage abuse of drugs and alcohol, but the author does it in a way that it can't be taken offensively. I enjoyed this book because it made me think how mexicans outcast those who have any white in them, and how hard some people have it. Everyone will like Mexican Whiteboy because it has many genres of reading in it - sports, adventure, drama, and mystery. It's a quick, easy and thought - provoking read. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though he’s not built, his arms are long enough to give his pitch a power so fierce any college scout would sign him on the spot. Mexican Whiteboy, is one of my favorite book to read, because the main character Danny, a very shy person who gets all A’s, loves to play baseball, and he is an half Mexican, half American. He is trying to go to Mexico and live with his father, and learn some Spanish. That’s why he’s spending the summer with his dad’s family in San Diego. To find himself, he may just have to face the demons he refuses to see-the demons that are right in front of his face. Opens up to a friendship he never saw coming. Set in the alleys and on the ball fields of San Diego County, Mexican Whiteboy is a story of friendship, acceptance of who you are, and the struggle to find your identity in a world of definitions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It can be the mexican it is races
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I had to read this book for English class and it turned out to be a very well written book. I liked how the two main characters faced the same conflict in a way and how they overcame the conflict, i would recommend this book to anyone trying to read a book about baseball and action. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE RACIST BOOKS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is true to life in some parts, it shows that you can always fit in anywhere by being yourselve I must say the ending is very unexpected not gomna spoil it more to you but this is a MUST BUY BOOK!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mexican Whiteboy by Mat De La Pena is a book that takes place in the present day National City, California. Danny, the book's main character, is a half white half Mexican teenage boy who spends the summer with his dad's family in National City, with hopes of finding his dad who left him at a young age. While he is in National City he makes a friend named Uno through baseball, Danny is an amazing pitcher who lacks control but still helps Uno pull of hustles. Throughout the book Danny has realizations about his dad, his family, and street violence. This book is a must-read for all readers. It is an inspirational book that many teenagers can relate to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago