×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mice: A Novel
     

Mice: A Novel

4.5 18
by Gordon Reece
 

See All Formats & Editions

An electrifying psychological thriller about a mother and daughter pushed to their limits.

Shelley and her mom have been menaced long enough. Excused from high school where a trio of bullies nearly killed her, and still reeling from her parents' humiliating divorce, Shelley has retreated with her mother to the quiet of Honeysuckle Cottage in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mice 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Well developed characters, twists of the plot make this book a great read. Hope that Gordon Reece nex book will be as good as this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story full of twists and turns and unexpected actions from the characters involved. A great first novel from this author! I look forward to more from him!
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Shelly has been bullied by girls who used to be her best friends. Her mother, Elizabeth, was bullied by her husband until he left her for a younger woman, she is now bullied by her employers. They leave London and retreat to Honeysuckle Cottage in the country. Elizabeth stills commutes to the same office everyday. These woman are MICE! Timid, nervous and put everyone before themselves. They love their life in the country until the eve of Shelly's sixteenth birthday. Something horrifying will change their lives forever. Maybe they are not mice after all. My Thoughts I find myself really on the fence about this book. It addresses the very common problem these days of bullying. For the first half of the book I was right there turning pages, feeling the right emotions for what these women were going through. Then the book took a very dark and even more horrifying turn that what these women had endured. I found it hard to keep going but I finished the book, hoping beyond home this dark theme would I don't know, magically go away. It didn't. I also found the whole premise very unbelievable. I know the author is trying to dramatize the extreme extent bullying can go to, but no, a mother and daughter couldn't turn into the women they created. If they do I hope and pray they are few and far between. It is a well written book and the part of the bullied Shelly and how she kept the incidents to herself until they escalated to a point where she was so physically hurt the paramedics had to be called was very well portrayed. Her actions and her thoughts. I understand this is a psychological thriller, but to me it's a thriller that goes off the rails. Maybe young adults will not have the reaction I had as a mother. I found myself very troubled by the second half of the book and had to wait to write this review and really collect my thoughts. Yes, there was suspense, yes, the were varied psychological aspects at play. The author just went a little too far for me. Because I liked the first half and have warned you about the second half I will give it 3 stars. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Viking. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book until about the last third of it. I read this expecting lots of twists & turns, but I feel like I've seen it done better. It was definitely not a bad book, really well written, awesome character development, I just feel that it lost it's thunder in the last few chapters, with a bit of an unsatisfying ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The pretty shecat licked her white chestfur her eyes twinkling "please tell me about yourselves" she says purring P.s. please put names at bottom of posts. I cant see headlines :) -icebeam-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hojja mc grutt says ufta kuge pol moyt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lilywolf listen to me. No matter wht happenes u dont need to get that way because u cant get a mate. Just think of med.cats they cant have love or kits and they seem alright to me. My mate was killed in front of me before i had our kits and yes i was almost completely depressed but then i realize if i didnt find a clan soon my kits would be dead. ~ silverfur
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kits take some of my milk!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amberclaw, i want to join thunderclan, i am loyal, brave, smart, and i would risk my life for the clan- Flameclaw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She hissed. "ShadowClan...on MY territory!!!" She yowled. "Get off!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Purrs thankyou
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What clan is this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello......