×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mickey and Willie: Mantle and Mays, the Parallel Lives of Baseball's Golden Age
     

Mickey and Willie: Mantle and Mays, the Parallel Lives of Baseball's Golden Age

3.7 13
by Allen Barra
 

See All Formats & Editions

Acclaimed sportswriter Allen Barra exposes the uncanny parallels—and lifelong friendship—between two of the greatest baseball players ever to take the field.

Culturally, Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays were light-years apart. Yet they were nearly the same age and almost the same size, and they came to New York at the same time. They possessed

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mickey and Willie: Mantle and Mays, The Parallel Lives of Baseball's Golden Age 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
cwbMT More than 1 year ago
A very engaging story of one of my baseball hero's (Willie Mays), and another one of the great "hated Yankees" (Mickey Mantle)... Well written, easy to read - didn't want to put the book down until I had finished it!!! Highly recommended!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SavvyMomma More than 1 year ago
"Mickey and Willie" by Allen Barra is a biography of two of the most famous men in baseball, Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays. This book is subtitled, "Mantle and Mays, the Parallel Lives of Baseball's Golden Age", and what Barra does is shine light on the personal and professional lives of both Mickey and Willie, and points out how similar the two men were, in many different aspects of their lives. I appreciated that Barra took the time to research the pre-baseball lives of Mantle and Mays, and give the reader an understanding of their childhood and why they chose baseball. I think that this is as important of a detail as any, considering that both Mickey and Willie's fathers were employed in manual labor, and without the intervention of baseball, most likely would have followed in their footsteps. Barra follows both Willie and Mickey in their professional careers, highlight both the ups and downs. I liked the fact that this book really details the personal side of these men, how they were feeling, the struggles they were facing, and the disappointments they had. I think that this book really humanizes these two men, who have become legends in the game. I would highly recommend this book to any baseball lover. I thought it was a great read, full of interesting and entertaining stories about Willie Mays and Mickey Mantle. I would give this book a 5/5, for sure. Easy to read, and Barra does a great job of telling the story of their lives without making it overcomplicated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book glaringly shows why fans should not write books about their heroe(s). At least 1/4 of this book is Barra laying out statistics why Mantle and Mays should have won the MVP in their respective leagues during their core years. It is tiring, which caused me to skip the whining as to why one of them lost the voting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EWM More than 1 year ago
Brings back many memories! I was in my early teens then and the book brought many good times.
mick7marv More than 1 year ago
A very enjoyable read. Having read almost every book ever written about the 'Mick' I found the author's research to be very refreshing and at last some new insight into Mantle's career and life. A marvelous concept to draw the comparison with the great Willie Mays. Growing up in the 50's I found the story very interesting and told as it was. Any baseball fan should find this book very enjoyable. If you are a fan of the time when three teams from New York ruled baseball, you will find the book a real treat.
HenryBeemis More than 1 year ago
Sometimes you just want to remember the fun part of baseball, the home runs, the great plays. Mickey and Willie is a book that brings you a part of that fun, but it brings more of the reality of superstardom in baseball to light. The drinking, the women, the neglect of family..........back in the day, how many boys wished their dad was Mickey Mantle or Willie Mays? If they read this book I'll bet a large number of them are glad they never got their wish. Very in depth, well researched, but leave my memories alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have only finished about one forth of the book but enjoy it very much. It brings back the good old days of baseball and many things I never knew about Willie and Mickey. I was never a Mays fan but am now,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a die-hard baseball fan of the 'Golden Era" it is a good read. However I found the author's attempts to draw parallels between Mays and Mantle on virtually every aspect of their lives strained.Certainly not in the league of the DiMaggio or Koufax bios.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. The writer does a great job defining the characters and depicting their relationship. You don't need to be a baseball fan to enjoy this book, but if you are it makes it all the better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting, fun and informative.