×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Middle Place
  • Alternative view 1 of The Middle Place
  • Alternative view 2 of The Middle Place
  • Alternative view 3 of The Middle Place
<Previous >Next
     

The Middle Place

4.3 126
by Kelly Corrigan
 

See All Formats & Editions

For Kelly Corrigan, family is everything. At thirty-six, she had a marriage that worked, two funny, active kids, and a weekly newspaper column. But even as a thriving adult, Kelly still saw herself as the daughter of garrulous Irish-American charmer George Corrigan. She was living deep within what she calls the Middle Place—"that sliver of time when parenthood

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Middle Place 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 126 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I obsessively read it in one weekend. I ignored my kids for a full day of reading one quiet Sunday. I laughed and cried so many times I lost track. It is funny, poignant, insightful. I wanted to know her family and be her friend. You have to read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recently picked this book as a choice for autobiography in a book club and was pleasantly suprised. Within the first 50 pages I had already laughed, cried and everything in between. Kelly has a gift for telling her story and keeping you turning the pages. Our book club had a very intense discussion, even without the aid of the reading group questions on their website. We are a group of younger women who aren't quite at the stage of life Kelly is at, but personally for me, I could still relate to her through her engaging tone. Great and easy read!
Jac49 More than 1 year ago
Hearing Kelly speak at a breast cancer event was my first exposure to her great sense of humor as she shared her life events and how she dealt with a cancer diagnosis. Kelly's bold hilarious manner makes you keenly aware of the funny side of cancer, but also the challenges of dealing with serious health issuess from the prospective of a real mom in the midst of dealing with everyday life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic. As a woman I can feel all of her anxiety and the love for her children. As a daughter who loves her Dad more than anyone in the world, I can feel all the love she has for her dad and all the worry and pain while he goes through his own tribulation. Absolutely heart warming and eye opening. Beautifully written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I picked up after being diagnosed with BC. I didn't even know what it was about. It hit the spot to feed my spirt. Like the author, I can definetly appreciate the blessing of being a daughter, friend, sister, wife, mother, and friend to all of the awesome people who have offered me their support at this time. Funny and inspiring as well as informational.
Visha More than 1 year ago
A charming true story about Kelly and her family. Lots of little homilies and insights into her life that make you realize you are not alone in this world. I thought it was well written and flowed nicely. She shared this part of her life in a touching and heartwarming story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed, I cried and then I bought five copies to give to my girlfriends. Kelly Corrigan is an amazing writer who ties together life lessons with the importance of family and friends. Send around the additional essay at the end to your girlfriends - it just puts life and love in perspective.
cantstopreading39 More than 1 year ago
This was a new author to all of us, discovered through her youtube clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_4qwVLqt9Q) which I received, then forwarded to club members. We discussed the characters and relationships in detail, felt we learned from them and enjoyed watching them, especially Kelly, learn and grow. Found the book at once warm and funny and sometimes profound.

We also discovered articles by her in Oprah: January 09 gives a glimpse into her future plans.

Definitely recommend this book and look forward to more from Kelly Corrigan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book- I couldn't put it down! I'm pushing it on you because it's close to my heart (especially so at the moment) ...And, because after emailing the author a quick email to tell her what her story meant to me, she actually took the time (the same day) to send me a personal email in response. She also asked me to spread the word on her book. So- check out the trailer for her memoir. This is one memoir you will not forget. It's so real, so honest, and above all, it's something that every daughter, lucky enough to come from strong roots, can identify with.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days, which is no small feat in a household with three young children. Kelly pulls you in from the very beginning I was reading her book as if I were talking to my best friend. Kelly's story of her courageous battle with breast cancer and her relationships with her family, especially her father, were truly inspirational. And her account of 'the middle place', that place where you transition from a child to an adult, is so relatable. Kelly proves to all women that you can fight any battle as long as you stay strong, have faith, laugh and love!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and finished it in a single evening. Like Kelly, I had a special (grand)father living next door who offered up that rare joie de vivre and unconditional love similar to Greenie's. Her words resonated sharply and triggered strong emotional reaction as I reflected on how lucky we are to have enjoyed such a raw and authentic love, a touchstone that we as parents can now draw from as we grow our own kids. It was fun getting to know Kelly and her lovely family through the book - I look forward to the next chapter.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. I loved the addiction my emotions experienced reading about Corrigan's journey from laughing out loud to lumps in the throat - a journey not unlike any of ours and emotions just the same. She has a gift of putting them into words - enjoy!
huglady More than 1 year ago
Excellent reading. Made me laugh & made me cry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved every word, every page! Humerous and heartfelt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
angela04 More than 1 year ago
I hated this book. I found Kelly to be a rather selfish individual. I would suggest that she be grateful for what she has (two wonderful girls) and not feel sorry for herself that she cannot have the boy she wants. I feel very sorry for her girls and her mother. Sorry Kelly but your mom should be concerned when her teenager gets drunk at a school function. I hope that your husband has the good sense to realize that kids should not be doing drugs, including alcohol. I would not have finished this awful book if it was not being discussed by my book group.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GinnyBPA More than 1 year ago
It is 1:45 a.m. I should have been asleep at least an hour ago but couldn't put this book down. I'll pay for it tomorrow but it will be worth it! I just had to get up, go online, and check...Did she or didn't she?...SHE DID! SHE DID! She wrote another book! Which I will order before I go back to bed where I will sleep contentedly, knowing another book by the wonderful Kelly Corrigan is on its way!