×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed Series #3)
     

Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed Series #3)

4.5 636
by Lara Adrian
 

See All Formats & Editions

With a dagger in her hand and vengeance on her mind, Darkhaven beauty Elise Chase prowls Boston’s streets in search of retribution against the Rogue vampires who took from her everything she cherished. Using an extraordinary psychic gift, she tracks her prey, well aware that the power she possesses is destroying her. She must learn to harness this gift, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 636 reviews.
Mary Felgenhauer More than 1 year ago
Tegan is my Zsadist. Enough said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all four of the Midnight Breed books that are out so far, but out of order, and think that this is the very best of the bunch. They are all good, but Tegan is just such a luscious damaged hero! And Elise is so cool and spunky, despite her own painful past. Adrian did an excellent job of developing the attraction between these two wounded souls who have no interest in falling in love. And she shows enough of the other Breeds to stay connected with their stories, without neglecting her principal pair. This one goes on my keeper shelf, and I look forward to what LA offers readers next.
Eternal--Love78 More than 1 year ago
Elise Chase, the one woman who has tamed & clouded the mind of the savage & ravenous beast, Tegan. The most ferocious & deadliest warrior of all the members of the Order. Who has been as COLD as ICE to anyone he has come in contact with for well over five centuries. Until Elise enters Tegan's life, the direct element they both have in common is the loss of thier mates. However, Elise's loss also involves the death of her ONLY son, Camden. Who was tragically taken away four months ago by the Rogue induce drug Crimson. Tegan's loyality is always first to the Order; however, when Elise is out after dark, (on her own vengeful purpose, to take out as many Minions as possible), & about to be attacked by a Rogue. Tegan being out on patrol already, leaps in & saves Elise. Dramatically altering his life as he knows it. After days & nights of giving Elise HOT/COLD symbols, she's just about had it. With the sexual intamate moments they've shared, to the mere moments Tegan was about to open his heart to her, then instantly removing & tightly securing it before anyone would notice. Elise is sent into a tailspin of emotions & confusion. Losing herself within the web she & Tegan has cast. Extracting her one & only purpose from her mind, to revenge Camden's death. Tegan's revelation on his irrefutable necessity came to light upon discovering that Elise was about to be killed & taken away from his grasp by another male. Tegan confronts Elise in her bedroom after he has bared witness to a kiss she received by the other male. Tegan loses control of the layers of wall he has constructed over his heart for all of these years. Once those thick boulders come crashing down, so does the ability & tight hold he has on his emotions, lustful desires, & yearnful attraction towards Elise. Staking his claim within her & sealing their irrevocable fate forever. Lara Adrian writing of the Breed Series is an undeniable sexually gratifiying romance, action, suspense/thiller. To claim which one of the books is my favorite would be an understatement. Each one depicts it's own scenario to a common valor of humankind. With it's Breed Warriors of the Order & Breedmates to possess pure acclaimed attributions to one another is much to be desired for. This series is beyond excellence, and I cannot wait to come to it's conculsion to the fate of the Breed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED DESERVES WELL BEYOND THE 5 STAR RATING!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading these books really just to pass the time until my BDB books came out but now i am hooked on a new set of "brothers". I loved this book from cover to cover!
Haylie_Hannah More than 1 year ago
This story started out with Elise Chase, a Breedmate of Darkhaven, getting revenge on the Rogue vampires for killing her mate and her son. She began this lonely mission with the thought that she really had nothing else to lose since she had already lost everything she treasured. In one incident where she was about to be attacked by three Rogue vampires, she was rescued by Tegan, the most dangerous of the Breed warriors. From then on, their lives seemed to be intertwined even though Tegan tried his best to have nothing to do with her. He had always worked alone and never thought to have a partner. However, after Elise provided Tegan with an important book that Marek, the leader of the Rogues, was trying to get his hands on, Tegan was forced to work with her on deciphering the meaning behind the texts. The more Tegan worked with Elise, the more she proved to be useful and helpful to him. He tried to fight his feelings for her throughout almost 2/3 of the book but eventually lost. In the end, Elise and Tegan were given a second chance at love-a love that both never thought could be possible-and both grabbed on to it with eagerness. Overall, the story was very beautiful. It was fast-paced from the beginning to end and I couldn't put it down. It was heart breaking to see how hard Tegan tried to push Elise away at first. His reason for doing so was because he didn't want to care (or afraid to care) for another woman again after he has lost his Breedmate Sorcha centuries ago. However, he learned fast enough that when it came down to love, when you couldn't fight it, join it.
Smurf97 More than 1 year ago
Elise & Tegan story is so moving.....he fights with everything in him to keep from falling in love with her. Elise only wants to focus on the pain of losing her soon. The both realize that they need each other and love can heal all the hurts of the heart. Just purchased book #4 in this series and can't wait to read it and others in this series.
ILuvMyNook More than 1 year ago
I just finished book 3 of this series and even though I enjoyed book's 1 & 2, I LOVED book 3! This series just keeps getting better and better with each book! I can't wait to see what book 4 is going to be like! Highly Recommend not only this book, but this series!
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Elise, a breedmate, is mouring the lost of her husband when a new rave drug, crimson, turns her son Camden into a Rouge vampire. Camden as a rouge has become a threat to every living creature. Camden is killed by his uncle. He was attempting to attack his mother Elise so she witness the act first hand. This changes Elise's life forever. No longer sheltered from the war the rages between the breed and the rouges, Elise takes an active roll in the fight to rid the world of crimson and the rouge vampires she blames for her sons death. Tegan is a breed Order warrior vampire, who devoted to removing all rouge vampires from the world. Tourmented by his failure to protect his breedmate 5 centuries early has given up on all feeling and emotion and has sault a life a revenge. Tegan finds Elise fighting for her life when she is caught off guard by a rouge attack. He swoops in and saves her only realizes that she has been single handily destroying minions, day time servants of the rouges. Elise's single minded revenge touches an emotional cord Tegan has not felt in over 400 years. Confilicting emotions arrise in the most feared warrior and the Elise. The imformaton Elise uncovers threatens to destory the Breeds if Tegan and Elise together can not work together and connect the abstract imformation she found. Don't you just hate when half way through the story line you figure out the plot. With Midnight Awakening this was not the case. I found this book a non-stop thrill ride. Midnight Awakening provided twists and turns with and ending that I did not expect!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Vampires who find their Breedmate, recognizable by a certain mark somewhere on their body, can have children. Their bond is a lifelong commitment and the woman doesn¿t age as long as her mate is still alive. The Breed are a peaceable society and most of them live in the Darkhavens, which are underground and surrounded by the best security systems in existence. The Rogues have given in to their blood lust and have no care for human life because their craving is too strong.----------- The Rogues and the minions (Renfields) are controlled by Merek, the brother of Lucan who is in charge of the Order. Its mission is to kill the rogues while its counterpoint the Enforcement Agency believes in rehabilitation and looks upon the order as barbarous.-------------- Elise lost her husband in the war against the Rogues and her son to the Bloodlust that made him go Rogue. She lives to kill them and nobody interferes with her until Tegan, a powerful agent in the Order, discovers what she is doing. Centuries of staying apart from his brethren are gone when he realizes how courageous Elise is. Though he tries to stop her, she puts herself in the middle of a war zone and he ends up giving her his blood to strengthen her. He avoids thinking about his feelings for her as they both concentrate on figuring out what plan Merek is working on. He finds Elise is a valuable helper and as the danger mounts he finds he cannot hide his feelings from her and himself any longer.---------------- Lara Adrian has created a whole vampire culture that is separate from humanity and makes it feel vulnerable. Her latest and most exciting work will appeal to fans of Laurell K. Hamilton as her vampires have heart and care about each other and the humans who they could easily dominate as the Rogues want to do. Both Elise and Tegan have suffered great losses so when love comes knocking on their door, she is eager to embrace it while he fears getting hurt again. Both protagonists are complex likeable characters who endear themselves to the reader.------------ Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
" "
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
To date, my favorite of the series. The plot is never ending, and it was nice to get to know a little more about the breed. Andreas Reichen and his world was interesting. Our heroine Elise was perfect for Tegan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the Midnight Breed Series! I hope they never end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
Tegan, Tegan, Tegan. This warrior scared the crap out of me in the first couple Midnight Breed Series books. I wasn't sure I liked him. However, after reading Midnight Awakening, he is now one of my favorites. Each book in this series is an adventure and this one excellent. I was not a fan of Elise after my first encounter with her. I couldn't imagine how I thought she and Tegan would be the couple of this book, but it happened and I loved every minute of it. In Midnight Awakening, Elise is on the prowl. She wants to avenge her son's death and nothing will stop her. Not even Tegan, a very dangerous warrior that found out what she was up to. Tegan doesn't want to care about Elise or her plan, but he can't seem to help himself. New information is found that could potentially lead the Order to crazy villain Marek and they all act on it. Tegan and Elise are headed overseas to Berlin and that's when the real fun begins between Tegan and Elise. I thoroughly enjoyed the dynamics to Tegan and Elise's relationship and how the two of them came to be mates. That is the best part of each book for me. Tegan and Elise both showed us that people can change. They can move on in life and find true love again. What really worked for me this time was that they both had a similar past, so they understood hurt and pain the other one has experienced and still might from time to time, but they have the same goals for the future. They were an exciting couple to read about. If you like paranormal romance and haven't checked out this series, give it s try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
smbcSB More than 1 year ago
You will not be disappointed with Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed Series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it, although Tegan being wishy washy can get frustrating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had been waiting for Tegan's book and I was not disappointed. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DyeAnneDM More than 1 year ago
great story; keep them coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The midnight breed series is a fun fast past and sexy read. Each book builds on the series with new characters and plot twists. Currently on book seven, great summer reads or for mothers day.