×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Midnight
     

Midnight

4.4 15
by Ellen Connor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Their desire destroys her defenses. Their love gives him a reason to live.
 
Three years of wandering the postapocalyptic wasteland has stripped Dr. Chris Welsh of humanity and hope. A harrowing loss drove him from his home, and he hasn’t stopped moving since. Grim and sardonic, he’s never found anything worth sticking around

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Midnight 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated the heroine for the same reasons everyone else seemed to love her for. She was hard and unforgiving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. I can't wait to see what happens next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PaulaML More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this series.
bookowl828 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book almost as much as the first one. This book is darker. Connor is much harder on her main characters in this book, but develops them so deeply. As with the first book in this series, it is very cinematic. I have yet to read the last/3rd one in the series (Daybreak) because I don't want the books to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kyubbiman More than 1 year ago
This book is not just some romance novel that is smut with a plot. No in this story the plot is very well developed and the characters are very well developed. This is seen as the story unfolds . The book is a healthy blend of survival in a ravaged and desolent wasteland mixed with maintaining order and civility within a society and topped off with the idea that change is not only inevitable but necessary. And sprinkled with just the right amount of romance and chemistry between the two main characters to create a very enjoyable well rounded story. I read the first one and loved it. This one is even better because the author has refined her technique even further. I give this book 10 stars because five is not even close enough. I highly reccomend tbis book to readers who want good characters without a massive quantity of sex that diverts from the story. Please consider giving this book a read. I eagerly await the last book in the trilogy.
SmittenWithReading More than 1 year ago
My Review: I wasn't sure if I was going to be able to like this book or not. I wasn't a huge fan of Chris' character in the first book. And, I will be honest, the first quarter of the book, I was still feeling the same apathy towards him and to Rosa's character too, but eventually, I got caught up in the story and now I love both of their characters. BTW, there is absolutely no reason that you have to read book #1 before this book. There are a few references to events that happened in that book, but not anything that would affect your enjoyment of this book. This book takes place in a post-apocolyptic world. It basically takes place 3-4 years after the first book and Chris has been wandering alone that entire time. He, like everyone else, has lost so much since the Change. He is living, but it's simply survival...not a real life. He has changed a lot. He is tough. He is strong. He doesn't think twice about killing. He is straightforward. He is honest and truly has a good heart. He is still acting as a doctor whenever he runs across anyone in need. He has a pretty apathetic existence, until he wanders upon the settlement of Valle de Bravo. Valle is ruled with an iron hand by Rosa. This band of about 20 people have settled into an old ghost town and made it their home. She is in charge there and if anyone has a problem with that, then they are thrown out. The world has become too harsh to accept anything else and Rosa has had to become harsh right along with it. The town has very basic rules and everyone knows what is expected of them. Because she is female, Rosa has had to establish very strict boundaries for herself so that no one questions her authority. One of those is that she doesn't get involved with men. After a history of sexual abuse because of the Change, this isn't a real issue for her. She has no desire to get intimate with any man and has never even been tempted until Chris shows up. Neither Chris nor Rosa have been living anything that would qualify as a real life, so when their passion ignites, they are both in for some shocks. It was fabulous to read their return to hope in this world that they live in that has so little. I really grew to love these characters and the surprises at the end of this book left me reeling. This ended up being such a fantastic story and I am so glad that I read it. I actually grew to love the entire town and what they are developing there. The book has a great mix of characters that make up the little town of Valle de Bravo. There is another book coming in this series, Daybreak (coming out Dec 6th,) which will go back to the original story line. That story is about Penny & Tru, the kids that are raised by Jenna & Mason (H/h from book #1, Nightfall.) While I loved this installment of the series, I cannot wait to know more about what has happened with all those characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can be read as a standalone no problem , can't wait to read the next in the series
AliceMcElwee More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Dark Age Dawning series (the first is "Nightfall"), but you don't necessarily need to read book one to understand book two. It helps, but book two follows a different set of characters -- only of which is introduced in the first book. Of course, fan girl that I am, I highly recommend you read book one first. ;) "Midnight" is as explosive as "Nightfall", though I didn't find it nearly as gritty or dark as the first book. That disappointed me a little bit and it's the main reason I gave "Midnight" 4 stars instead of 5. Where book one explored a world turned to chaos in an "every man, woman, child for themselves" kind of way, "Midnight" is more about groups of people coming together and building their own mini-civilizations. This is what Rosa has done in Valle de Bravo. She's in charge and her word is law. She's got cojones, and everyone knows it. With the help of her bravos, she brings in food, whiskey and other supplies. In return, everyone swears fealty to her and lives in relative safety within the borders of Valle de Bravo. I really liked Rosa. I loved that she was tough and had a set of steel cojones that put her above all the men around her. Still, she wasn't without her flaws. Because she's had to be so tough, she doesn't trust the changes that are coming with the new world. She's got a strong prejudice against shifters -- which we saw in book one aren't all bad -- and she has to keep herself at arms length from the men around her. That means no steamy one-night-stands and definitely no relationships. She can't afford to be seen as weak and emotional and she sacrifices herself for the good of her people. You can't help but admire her for that. But even tough-as-nails Rosa can't deny her attraction to Chris, the doctor who appears in Valle de Bravo after traveling on his own for so long. Their attraction is near-instant, and it's strong, but Rosa can't trust Chris right away. He could, after all, just be using her as a stepping stone to be in charge of Valle de Bravo himself -- he wouldn't be the first to try. But Chris is patient, which we saw a bit of book one. What we didn't see in book one was Christian's flirty bad-boy side. For some reason, I had Chris pictured as a scraggly, kind of dumpy type of professor. I certainly did not imagine him looking like the man on the cover. I do now, though. Ha! For tons of action and a slight "wild-west-in-chaos" feel, "Midnight" is definitely the book you want to read. There may not be as many hellhounds as in book one, but the dust pirates are definitely a threat and there are more characters to become involved with. Four stars!
lbgdentist More than 1 year ago
Good book, caries on the sf premises from Nightfall, and is even a better story. Some what erotic, but not as hot as most these days. Definately a good read, but be sure to read Nightfall first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
scouty54 More than 1 year ago
Great story Great writing, Great characters! Guaranteed you will Love this book
harstan More than 1 year ago
Near Valle de Bravo, La Jefa Rosa Cortez leads her Bravos on an attack of a truck. They succeed in hijacking needed supplies for their town where males greatly outnumber females. Rosa thinks of before the Change when she fed her brother by selling her body. Now she runs a small town. Watching the action is Dr. Chris Welsh who has traveled since he lost the mother of his child just after the Change. He offers medicine and medical care to the Bravos in exchange for food and a few days of sleep in the first community Chris has seen in over two years. As town leader Rosa says they should test Christo see if he is a skinwalker as none are allowed. He is left alone in the dark for eight hours as skinwalkers cannot deal with this type of stress. Chris dreams of Rosa as he knows the test is inane superstition. The next morning Chris says he slept through her test. When Hellhounds arrive, Chris helps kill the monsters. He explains to her not all skinwalkers are evil, but she saw what they did to her brother. Though not a medical doctor, Chris agrees to help pregnant Tilly while Falco who wants to take charge does not trust the newcomer. The second Dark Age of Dawning (see Nightfall) is an excellent futuristic post-apocalyptic fantasy with an intelligent introduction followed by an action-packed story line. The town and its residents seem genuine and is enhanced by good people dying while the romance stays somewhat abated as the danger remains front and center. Although a radical change in the heroine's bias seems unlikely, readers will enjoy the bleak 24/7 Midnight world of Ellen Connor. Harriet Klausner