×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Million Shades of Gray
     

A Million Shades of Gray

4.2 18
by Cynthia Kadohata
 

See All Formats & Editions

Y'Tin is brave.

No one in his village denies that—his mother may wish that he’d spend more time on school work than on elephant training, but still she knows that it takes a great deal of courage and calm to deal with elephants the way that Y'Tin does. He is almost the best trainer in the village—and, at twelve-years old, he’s certainly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Million Shades of Gray 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Dancegirl1 More than 1 year ago
This was a good book and I read it to do a report on it. The only thing that I didn't like was how gory some things in the book were. Dead bodies? FInding a dead humans ear? Screams in the night? Shootings? Fights? Plus, the theme wasn't clear and things came out of no where. In the short range of 1 page, Y'Tin goes from home to being with the soldiers and Lady comes out of no where in the forest. Also, Y'Tin makes a split second desicion at the end of the book. Some parts were good, and other parts not so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the whole book but the end was heartbreaking.I almost cried at the end,but over all one of my favorite books!It is a must read for anyone and everyone!
Anonymous 4 months ago
It isnt that long, according to my other book by said author. But, to you, it may be long. If you know now, just ignore this review, its useless now. Thanks, A fellow nook owner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 12-year-old son read this for a school project, and he loved it! He is not a reader by nature, and to see him reading a book and actually enjoying it was wonderful. When the following year in school, he needed to choose a book for a different project, this is the book he chose. I bought it for the Nook because he liked it so much. I may have to read it myself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Question....... How much pages dose this book have THANKS FOR READING THIS IS A SERIOUS QUESTION PLEASE DONT NOT REASPON BECAUSE YOU DONT THINK IM SERIOUS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bout the boy who has been held and excaped from enimies. Runs away to find his elephant ans his family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be honest, I am really finding it difficult to read this book. If the author is really going to use such simple, choppy, boring sentences then at least make it so that Y'Tin is the narrator. I find myself shaking my head at some of these sentences. Can you maybe be more discriptive and exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teacher had me read this while on a four night five day school field trip. I loved the book, but i wouldn't read it again. One to three of my friends read the book, they said it was good but that the end was strange. Over all id say get the free sample a see if you like the begining befoe buying the book. The plot makes sense by the third chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YourLibrarian More than 1 year ago
Set in the mid-'70s, this historical novel deals with the aftermath of the Vietnam War for the Dega people, a group of tribesman that supported the Americans during what we know as the Vietnam War. The Dega people knew this same war as the American War. The main character is Y'Tin, a thirteen year old boy. He is assigned the all-important task of caring for Lady, one of the tribe's three elephants, and caring for Lady is his focus and his passion. Life in his village is interrupted when the North Vietnamese arrive and seek revenge upon the villagers for their past support of the Americans. Half of the village is killed and the other half has found shelter in refugee camps in the jungle. Y-Tin recognizes the truth in the statements that "war changes things" and that a "jungle changes a man". Y-Tin and his friends struggle to stay alive and are faced with some horrific decisions. Despite dealing directly with the horrors of war, this book has a hopeful tone and the main character makes good choices. This book provides a good jumping off point for many discussions such as what is a country's obligation in terms of protecting a people when the country withdraws from war and what importance should education have for people in remote places of the world. The narration done by Keith Nobbs is top notch. Because this book deals with violence (brains splattering, mass executions and singular execution-style killings) it is appropriate for grades 6 and up. This book is on several mock Newbery prize lists - which means that librarians are considering it to be one of the best new books of 2010.
Kaitlin Besselman More than 1 year ago
good hated the end but the begining and middle was good