×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Miss Buncle Married
     

Miss Buncle Married

3.8 33
by D.E. Stevenson
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Marriage and a Sudden Move to a New Town Won't Slow This Mischievous Writer Down!

Barbara Buncle: bestselling novelist, new wife...new neighbor?

In this charming follow-up to Miss Buncle's Book, the intrepid writer moves to a new town filled with fascinating folks...who don't even know they might become the subjects of her next bestselling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Miss Buncle Married 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This wonderful book is just as good as the first in the series. Delightful characters, charming English village life, vivid descriptions and even a mystery. Perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I liked the first book in the series more, this was a cute little story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Miss Buncle's Book and was looking forward to another great read by D. E. Stevenson. However, Miss Buncle Married was slow-paced, contrived and lacked the characterization of Stevenson's first story. Sorry to say, it never came up to the same level as the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to agree with the reviewer of November 13, 2013, this book was just as good as the first one. It was published in 1934, yet it does not seem dated, perhaps because it is set in England. How extrardinary to have each house or building named. I find this delightful. This book cost $1.99, is 260 pages long, perfectly edited, funny and contains no violence, murder, drugs, cursing, sex or other adult themes. There is an iota of church attendence. I loved the introduction of the woderfully obnoxious Marvell children, they reminded me of my two brothers and myself, we were a bit of the wild ones and took great delight in being so. It was our way of surviving in a very dysfunctional family situation, just like it is for the Marvells. The next book is "THE TWO MRS. MARVELS", I am looking forward to reading this novel, stepping back into a time, more innocent and fresh, then what I see everyday. I would have rated this book five stars, but some events were just a little too sappy and unbelievable. For readers 16 and up, more chick lit then anything else, not a mystery, romance, paranormal, suspense or thriller. This is just a nice clean, friendly, humourous read. It is a breath of fresh air. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I found Miss Buncle's Book charming, Miss Buncle Married is better. Stevenson develops Barbara Buncle in this book. There were times during the first book when I wondered if I really liked Barabara Buncle. I wanted to like her and knew that I was supposed to but her character wasn't developed enough to know much about her. Was she more than a simple creature, thought of as rather vanilla, by her friends and neighbors? I hoped so. Her character blossoms in this book and it's a pleasure to read. I gave it four stars because a chapter or two became tedious at times, but overall a great read. I pre-ordered The Two Mrs. Abbotts (due out on Nook on Jan. 7) but I may take a short break from Miss Buncle and read something else first. I'm starting to say things like "I think it's frightfully decent" and "that's rot" and people are starting to look at me funny so I'd better come back to 2014 with my next read...:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but it kind of showed its age, and felt like she was forced to write this because of the sucess of the first book
Books_n_Tea More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was a great sequel to Miss Buncle's Book. Like another reviewer I was happy to see the character of Miss Buncle/Mrs. Abbott developed more because while I enjoyed the first book I walked away not entirely sure that I actually like the main character. On the other hand I was a little disappointed that Miss Buncle did not develop more as a writer this time around, I was really hoping that she would use her new found imagination to write a book that was more fiction than fact. When I finished reading this book I found myself a little disappointed that it had ended without wholly resolving some minor issues. While the plot was very different from what I thought it would be overall this novel was enjoyable and I would recommend it to those who enjoyed the first.
2ndlady More than 1 year ago
A charming read, like its predecessor, although not very memorable. The characters are sweetly amusing and everything falls neatly into place. While it wasn't particularly gripping a read, I'd like to read the final book in the Miss Buncle series when I'm in need of something light, amusing, and bubbly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a sweet, darling story. Even better than Miss Buncle's Book, which I adored.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some interesting moments, but the story line is pretty weak and the characters are not as well-defined as in Miss Buncle's Book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is just as well written as the first book. The characters are even more lovable and Barbara is smashing as a wife.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
2silverspurs More than 1 year ago
Another great read from this author. So nice to see church mentioned again. Loved the dialogue and the great characters. Again, the cover art was a treat. On the the "Two Mrs Abbotts"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun characters cute story that keeps you hooked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pleasant but a bit saccarine and overtly sexist even in the context of the time it was written
KannRead More than 1 year ago
First read Miss Buncle's Book and loved it. Didn't realize it was written in the 1930's. Was a delightful read and couldn't wait to read more about Miss Buncle Married. Another fun read!
Avid-ReaderEK More than 1 year ago
This book is as delightful as the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago