×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook
     

Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook

4.9 10
by Michael Garland
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Zack meets his second-grade teacher, Miss Smith, he can tell right away that her class will be different.  But he has no idea just how different it will be!  Miss Smith has a knack for telling tales when she reads from her incredible book,  the stories literally spring to life!  Then one day Miss Smith is late for school.  The principal

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
knickchick More than 1 year ago
My Son and I love this book!  The illustrations are beautiful and vivid!  I just learned that there are other Miss. Smith books.  I am going o order some now!
psycheKK More than 1 year ago
Some years ago I drew a pen and ink graphic for the literacy program at our library.  It showed an open door with stacks of books and some of the characters come to life.  I thought I was pretty clever.  I was not, however, as clever as Michael Garland in Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook. Miss Smith is the second-grade teacher that you wished you had.  She has rather punk-y red hair, red cat-eye glasses, and best of all, she sports red Converse high-tops.  She reads from an incredible storybook that brings characters to life, not just in an imaginary way as any good reader can, but in a way that fills the classroom.  Imagine the possibilities, and you have Michael Garland's book. Michael Garland is an artist of astounding range.  The illustrations for this book are phenomenal and add to the magic that is this story.
Mom2sassypants More than 1 year ago
My three-year-old daughter loves this series. We checked them out from the library but knew they would be added to our collection. This series thrills a broad age range and my husband and I enjoy them, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ptmom More than 1 year ago
Miss Smith is the fun, new teacher with a special book. Whenever she reads a story, the characters come to life in the classroom and the students feel like they are right in the story. The kids get into the book on their own one day when Miss Smith is late and things get out of hand. The story is fun and interesting and the pictures are great. The story makes reading sound fun and there's also an underlying message about not touching things that don't belong to you and learning to listen. We've read it a bunch of times and my daughter never gets sick of it.
alcush More than 1 year ago
Bought this for my 8yo boy to read before the first day of school. He liked it so much I have read it several times to him since.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book about books! I teach in an elementary school and have used this book for kids in grades K to 5. Kids love the bright illustrations and the imagination in the story. They also LOVE identifing and figuring out which original stories the characters came from!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a marvelous book about non-conformity, not judging a teacher by the cover, and how fun reading can be. Excellent choice for any reading opportunity for young children. I plan to read it to my son's preschool class.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Michael Garland's high powered imagination and razzle-dazzle illustrations bring the story of a one-of-a-kind teacher to energetic life. There's zip and color on every page plus a lesson for all. Zack is a pretty disheartened young fellow. It's the first day of school, and he's sure the semester will be as boring as ever. Suddenly a small ball of fire whips through the door in the person of Miss Smith, a new teacher. She is unlike any teacher Zack has ever known because when she reads to the class from her story book, the characters actually come to life. There are swashbuckling pirates so real that Zack could actually feel waves pounding against the sides of their pirate ship. And then, when she finished reading 'all the characters and adventure whooshed back into her book.' From then on Zack couldn't wait to go to school. One day when Miss Smith was stuck in traffic and couldn't reach the school, others read from her book and the same amazing things happened. Except for one problem: the storybook characters didn't want to return to the book once the story was over. That could make for a very crowded room! 'Who would ever have guessed that reading could be so much fun?'