×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Missionary
     

The Missionary

4.8 15
by William Carmichael
 

David Eller is an American missionary in Venezuela, married to missionary nurse, Christie. Together they rescue homeless children in Caracas. But for David, that isn't enough. The supply of homeless children is endless because of massive poverty and the oppressive policies of the Venezuelan government, led by the Hugo Chavez-like Armando Guzman. In a moment of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Missionary 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Tamera_Lynn_Kraft More than 1 year ago
David is a frustrated missionary. No matter how hard he works, there's always more homeless poverty striken orphans he can't reach. He wants to do more, but how can he with the repressive dictator he blames for Venezula's misery in control. If only something could be done? This is the mindset of David when he is approached by a man who claims ties to the CIA and says he plans a peaceful coup. All David has to do is make a few deliveries. David knows he's putting the mission, his family, and his life at risk if he agrees, but this is his chance to do something important. But then everything goes wrong. I can relate to David's stupid decisions. Many times as Chritians, we don't feel like what were doing is making any difference. Sometimes it's easier to do something "big" to change things. This is not your typical missionary story with the protaganist who meekly serves. This man has the faults and temptations we all do, and sometimes he screws up big time while trying to help God out. I literally could not put this novel down. From the moment I started reading it, I was hooked. I had to see what happened next. I couldn't put it down. If I could give this novel 6 stars, I would. It's that good.
angief More than 1 year ago
Fast-paced and gripping, this is one action-packed adventure full of unexpected twists and turns that will keep you reading well into the night. Strong, believable characters give a fascinating look at the world of international espionage, drug cartels and frighteningly hostile dictatorships. Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i was asked to read this book by a friend. not my usual reading. i found the beginning a bit slow, but interesting enough to keep reading, then the story just took off! a real page turner! i had to know -what would David do next...smart choice, bad one. definitely not your usual christian reading material. very thought provoking... if you're looking for something a bit different this is it! i highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VickiLN More than 1 year ago
What an amazing book!! It's fast paced and has loads of surprises. The characters are believable and the story gets better and better with every twist. This book has it all: missionaries, drug cartels, dictatorships, faith, family and more. If you like thriller/suspense, you'll love this book. I hope there is a book 2!
Mark_Allen_Young More than 1 year ago
The Missionary novel-a riveting thriller-opens with a man fighting to save children trapped in the slums of Caracas, Venezuela. Good intentions go awry, however, as missionary David Eller struggles with an explosive decision that may change lives forever. Is this of God? Others are watching from the shadows to see which path Eller chooses. At stake is the survival of family, friends, and the children he desperately hopes to save. He must make the right choice. Writers David Lambert and William Carmichael take readers on a ride that never seems to end. This tightly written, expertly-crafted novel of espionage and intrigue forces The Missionary to fight for his life as he strives to protect those he loves. Can a caring God stand by while innocent children suffer? Can one man's choice to save these children be wrong? Only time and circumstances will tell. Like in the spy trade, this novel is a sleeper coming at you from directions one never expects. Eller becomes trapped in a nightmare that may mark the end. Who can he trust? Where can he turn? As he races from one scene to the next, he ponders if God will ever make Himself known? Spies, assassins, and greed are the staples that make this novel twist and turn. This thought-provoking novel will not disappoint.
ChristyLockstein More than 1 year ago
The Missionary by William Carmichael & David Lambert is a pulse-pounding thriller about how an innocent man's actions can shake an entire nation. David Eller loves his job as a missionary at the Hope Village in Caracas, Venezuela working alongside his wife Christie and their young son Davy. But he's angered by the children who are devastated by poverty and neglect on the city's streets, and he doesn't always keep his comments quiet in a country run by a megalomaniacal dictator. His political views bring him to the attention of a man who asks David to do just a couple of small, simple tasks, but when the country suddenly faces an attempted coup and David can't contact the mystery man, he and his family are on a race to save their lives. The authors really keep the pages turning through shady alliances and non-stop action. The reader wants to shake David repeatedly as he acts without thinking, but it's an integral part of the character and a vital plot element. My only complaint is with the character of Davy. Early in the story, he is described as having ADHD; David even calls him a hummingbird on steroids, but never once in the story do we see Davy showing any symptoms of ADHD. Not through running for his life, capture for the government, and other traumas does he display any of those characteristics. If the writers had left out that description at the beginning, Davy would be portrayed well. If they had thrown in a few scenes of him acting out to his mother's terror, it would have been powerfully moving, but as it is, that part just doesn't work. Davy is, however, only a minor character, so this small flaw does not detract from the thrilling action.
HJB More than 1 year ago
I have read other books by Carmichael that were very good but I didn't expect his first novel to be GREAT and on the level of a Grisham! The suspense, intrigue and down-to-earth human nature made it very real, believable, exciting and incredibly engaging! I found myself giving up favorite TV programs and other things I enjoy just to read! Which, by the way, is very unusual for me! Unless I miss my guess this will definitely be a best seller! Makes me wonder how many other great novels Carmichael has tucked away in his imagination.
DrGregEverson More than 1 year ago
Nice to read a book with intrigue and suspence that leaves out the gory details. Makes you wonder about our government's actual involvement in other countries. I look forward to book #2 that could continue the storeyline!
Daniel_Darling More than 1 year ago
This is probably one of the best novels I've read in a while. The missionary is soul-stirring, heart-pounding journey thru the messy mix of mission work, espionage, and third-world politics. David Eller is a flawed missionary whose tireless work in Venezuela has him itching to do more to bring justice to the country's poor. His impulsive actions lead him into more trouble than he bargained for, jeaopardizing his marriage and his mission. Will Carmichael and David Lambert really deliver with tight writing, believable plot lines, complex characters, and nonstop drama. They take you inside the sad and sorid world of Venezuela's politics and policies, bleeding out a concern for the forgotten poor in a troubled part of the world.
Jackie-Colorado More than 1 year ago
This novel is a must for men and women alike. The authors tug on the hearts of women and weave in fantastic action for men! At the same time you'll see God behind the scenes working...and working. If your idea of missionary ministry is a safe arena in which to share Christianity, think again! Can't wait for the next book!
lhp More than 1 year ago
Although I'm not typically a suspense-thriller kind of girl, I have to say that I absolutely LOVED this book. It seriously had me hiding in the bathroom from my kids so that I could read on to the next chapter. The characters are intriguing and I longed to hear more about the beautiful setting in Venezuela. I would HIGHLY recommend this book even if, like me, you have little time for reading. Excellent!
RD5 More than 1 year ago
I received this book from a friend that told me it wasn't a typical retread of boxed up Christianity living outside the world. It was, to be sure, a great read. I identified with the lead character's thoughts, struggles and short-comings. It's nice to read a book by a Christian author that combines faith, good intentions with less than perfect decision making. I think we can all relate. Besides that, it was suspenseful, face-paced and unpredictable.
grandmakaren More than 1 year ago
While the title, The Missionary, might lead you to believe this is a sweet story about a crusade for the poor in Venezuela, it is anything but that. This is action packed suspense that builds in intensity until you find yourself unable to put it down. Lambert and Carmichael have taken an ordinary man who feels a call to the mission field, set him down in a poor section of Caracas and then offered him a way to make life better for those he serves. Unfortunately it involves him in a nightmare of life and death decisions and bad choices that threaten to destroy him, his family, and his friends. Don¿t miss this great read. Just be sure you have a block of time to devote to it. It¿s a page turner to the end.
bjcd More than 1 year ago
This book is well worth the read mixing espionage with faith and governmental corruption with altruism. Definitely holds the interest of the reader through to the very end.