×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mist
  • Alternative view 1 of Mist
  • Alternative view 2 of Mist
     

Mist

3.7 17
by Susan Krinard
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author SUSAN KRINARD launches her first urban fantasy series with MIST.

Mist lives a normal life. She has a normal job, a normal boyfriend, and a normal apartment in San Francisco. She never thinks about her past if she can help it.

She survived. That's the end of it.

But then a snowy winter descends upon San Francisco. In

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mist 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Gnu More than 1 year ago
Good start on a series. Kind of a short read but good.
Bonnie_W More than 1 year ago
If you're a fan of Norse mythology and looking for something to read, the first book in Susan Krinard's new urban fantasy series may be just what you need. MIST is an adult novel, so I wouldn't recommend it to a kid looking for a Percy Jackson-esque story (And for that, we have Rick Riordan's own Norse mythology series due out in 2015 anyway!). Mist was one of three Valkyrie to escape her dying world during Ragnarok. She escaped to our world and no longer holds the same beliefs she once did. She never ages, and has lived through unspeakable horrors such as the Holocaust. One day on her way home from working out, she stumbles into an angry Jotunar (frost giant) and Alfar (elf). She realizes that Ragnarok never happened. Loki is back, seeking Odin's Gungnir, which is in Mist's possession. The only problem? Loki was also disguising himself as Mist's boyfriend of the last six months. The jig up, Loki steals Gungnir and runs. It's up to Mist and the all-knowing Alfar Dainn to follow Freja's will from beyond and save Midgard before Loki brings the real Ragnarok down and destroys our world. There's a lot of Norse mythology going on here. I'm not as familiar with Norse as I am other mythologies, though I wish I knew more. The book was rich with this information, and brought in many types of creatures and gods. There's so much more to Mist than what meets the eye, and she learns a lot about herself that was kept hidden from her over the centuries, information that changes everything. Her love interest, Dainn, knows more than he shares with her, and at first, he's dislikable, but once readers get a glimpse through his eyes, he becomes more endearing. I also sort of envisioned him as Legolas. Sorry, Orlando Bloom. There's so much world-building going on in MIST, and at times, I question the rhyme and reason of things, but I'm hoping these matters become more fleshed out in future books. MIST is still a great fantasy novel for fans of Norse mythology or those looking to learn more about it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There was no sex and not a lot of romance. Leaves too much to the imagination. That was a lot of reading with limited excitement. I hope ..#2 is better.
LITERALADDICTION_MLO More than 1 year ago
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson: *eARC received from Netgalley via Tor in exchange for an honest review    -Actual rating - 3.5 Skulls This review is going to be a bit hard for me to write, because while there were things that I loved about this book, there were things that are stopping me from giving it a higher rating as well. I'll try to break it down the best I can though... Overall, Mist was a really cool concept - Valkyrie sent to earth with her sisters and several powerful & mystical artifacts during Ragnarok (the battle of good vs. evil between the Norse Gods), then forced into living a 'normal' life after she loses her sisters and assumes Ragnarok was lost by her side and everyone but she and a few others were locked away in another dimension. The problem... Ragnarok really never ended, the end is still coming, and Mist's 'normal' life is completely turned upside down when she finds this out the hard way by being attacked by a creature she never thought she'd see again, and learning that everything she believed in recently had been a lie. Unfortunately, to properly set all of that up in a debut novel, there was a significant amount of set up involved, so it started a bit slow for me honestly. The book also requires a decent amount of Norse Mythology knowledge and/or research for pronunciation and proper understanding of several things, so that slowed me down a little as well and didn't allow me to get lost in the story as I wanted to.  The characters and story were strongly developed though, and like any good series debut, their introductions were both positive and negative allowing for further growth and development and the building of the reader/character relationship. The action also had major potential - Mist is a strong heroine, her newfound allies are also strong and interesting, and the action sequences both grabbed your attention and surprised with secrets being revealed in the middle of a battle and then later established upon. Basically, I feel that this series has a lot of potential once readers establish themselves in the mythology that the book is based on, develop relationships with the characters, and obtain a better grasp on where things are headed. I'm personally excited to see where Susan can take things because I think it could be a real treat to follow Mist and her crew through a few books in their struggles, triumphs, etc.  I definitely recommend this book to Urban Fantasy readers who have a love for Norse mythology; the book is steeped in it, and it's quite fascinating. Overall, I'm looking forward to future books of the series now that the baseline is established. :) 
Anonymous 7 days ago
Gryblin More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book. It has a strong heroine based on Norse mythology. However, the book has some major flaws. The first flaw is that most of the book goes like this: Mist meets Dain, Mist felt like this, now feels that, wonders if she will feel different later; Dain felt like this, now feels that, wonders if he will feel different later. Then some action happens. Review all characters feelings again. The second flaw is copying an overused scene. Here's how it works. Loki needs access to power and for that he needs a government official. Since everyone knows Christians only pretend to be good Loki finds a Christian Governor/Senator/Representative and only has to tempt them with liquor and bedroom promises whereupon the Christian commits sins putting them under Loki's control. It's cool to bash Christians but couldn't anybody come up with something original? Another flaw is predictability. There is no mystery as to what is going to happen. There are so many obvious clues that thanks to the first flaw the ending is no surprise. The author has twenty-seven published stories as of this date. I don't know if all her books carry these flaws. Maybe this is her most recent book and she was just tired of writing and had nothing new to say. Maybe there are enough readers who see these flaws as wonderful. I won't spend any more of my money on this author's works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What clan is this? And can i join? Age; 4 moons. Pelt color; tanish-white. Gender;female. Eye color;pale blue. Rank; kit. Personality; VERY creative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RES OND: map RES TWO: Bios. RES THREE: main camp. RES FOUR: medicine den RES FIVE: warriors den. RES SIX: apprentices den RES SEVEN: nursery RES EIGHT: Foret. RES NINE: river RES TEN: training
ToManyBooksNotEnoughTime More than 1 year ago
History Collides with Modern Day Fantasy I would have rated this book about 3.7 stars, but due to a mixture of typographical errors that shouldn't have made it into the final publication, and the overwhelming amount of Norse mythology without a reference guide anywhere in the book, I am forced to rate it 3 stars on almost all public review sites <blockquote><em>New York Times</em> bestselling author Susan Krinard launches her first urban fantasy series. Centuries ago, all was lost in the Last Battle when the Norse gods and goddesses went to war. The elves, the giants, and the gods and goddesses themselves were all destroyed, leaving the Valkyrie Mist one of the only survivors. Or so she thought. When a snowy winter descends upon modern-day San Francisco in June, Mist&rsquo;s quiet existence starts to feel all too familiar. In quick succession, Mist is attacked by a frost giant in a public park and runs into an elf disguised as a homeless person on the streets&hellip;and then the man Mist believed was her mortal boyfriend reveals himself to be the trickster god, Loki, alive and well after all these years. Loki has big plans for the modern world, and he&rsquo;s been hanging around Mist for access to a staff that once belonged to the great god Odin. Mist is certain of one thing: Loki must be stopped if there is to be any hope for Earth. But the fight is even bigger than she knows&hellip;. Because Loki wasn&rsquo;t the only god to survive.</blockquote> Ms. Krinard is certainly not tentatively testing the waters of urban fantasy with this book - she is diving in head-first. And what a dive it is, leading us into a book full of interesting characters, rollicking fights, mind-blowing magic (sometimes literally), all led by a take-no-prisoners style heroine. If you don't know your Norse mythology, be prepared for a crash course, as you'll need it when the groundwork is being laid and when the story moves forward.  Mist is a complicated character, a Valkyrie stuck walking the earth longer than can be imagined, bearing guilt over a choice she made, which influenced some of her Sister Valkyries, only to later learn just how widespread the ramifications of her choice were. She even lost some beloved Sisters because they followed her lead, or so she believes. She has seen the best and worst of mankind, but still she feels attached to  Midgard, the realm she and her Sisters had been banished to at the start of the Last Battle. Once mortal, she still longs for love, sex, companionship. However this is mostly denied to her as she appears to never age, and most of the men of Midgard (Earth) don't appreciate a strong woman. So when she learns she's been played by Loki she is enraged. But even that takes a second seat to her shock, for she learns of the betrayal from an Alfar (elf). But they were supposed to have all died in the Last Battle, the one which killed Odin and all the Aesir, the one that left the Valkyrie stranded, alone, and guarding weapons for Gods that would never rise again. Thus begins Mist's education about what really happened. Well, at least as much the Alfar Dainn can recall. He is working for one of the Gods on their side, which is one reason he was attacked by a frost giant, one that Mist ended up scaring away. Though she later learns the frost giant was simply a distraction to allow Loki to circle back to Mist's loft to steal Gungnir. Gungnir, Odin's magical spear that never misses its target, the spear that had entrusted to Mist to guard with her life. The very same spear that Loki now had in his possession. Thus begins of the real Last Battle, the battle for the ownership of Midgard. Mist is one heck of a resilient character. But it seems her downfall may be her feelings for the people of Midgard. Even after witnessing all the atrocities they put each other through, she still has faith in their innate goodness. One of the more recent atrocities was the Nazi invasion, a event which left a lasting impression on Mist and her Sisters. So much so that it was the last time Mist saw any of her Sisters. And that means the race is on, for both Loki and Mist want to reach all the Valkyrie first, in order to gain possession of, or safeguard, the weapons entrusted to each of the Sisters. Mist knows it is crucial to gather and protect those weapons until Odin and the others can find more bridges into Midgard, bridges like those Loki used. For if Loki gets his hands on those weapons before the Aesir get to Midgard the game is over, this time forever. In addition to all this Dainn is teaching Mist to access her inner abilities, for she is no mere mortal as she'd always been told. Yet she's smart enough to initially understand that she isn't being taught out of love. But with all the truth and lies she's being bombarded with, will she be able to separate fact from fiction before it's too late? And will she catch on to the fact that her role in this war is likely to be far larger that she anticipates? Who is really her friend, and who is her foe? Will her Sisters ever forgive her for her prior error, or will they string her along and then drop her just when she needs them most? So many questions, and this is only the end of the first book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seriously?!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
&bull;Name Goldenpaw &bull;Age 7 moons &bull;Look light golden fur with darker golden stripes dark gree eyes &bull;Crush None (yet) &bull;Mate None, Obviously &bull;Rank Apprentice (will be a warrior on december 13) &bull;Life Story I was an outcast in my clan because they found me at their border. When I was six moons, they warily made me an apprentice. They had an elder teaching me. It was supposed to be a punishment for me, but it was like a punishment for the elder. My original name was Uglypaw, and his name was Goldenfeather. When he died, I ran away because I knew the clan was about to turn around and blame me. I changed my name to Goldenpaw. I lived a moon trekking over various clans territories. Then I came here because I though I would try again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ginger tabby shecat with blue eyes. An older warrior, at 32 moons ( well not that old really) never has had a mate. Feirce, corageous, fast and clever, she is a amazeing warrior. ~ #TIGerFrosT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nods back smiling
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drkmoo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
G