×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mister Pip
     

Mister Pip

3.5 32
by Lloyd Jones
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Booker finalist and beloved novel that has taken the world by storm is now a major motion picture starring Hugh Laurie.

Thirteen-year-old Matilda lives on a copper-rich tropical island that has been shattered by war, from which the teachers have fled along with everyone else. Only one white man chooses to stay behind, the eccentric Mr. Watts, object of much

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mister Pip 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
katknit More than 1 year ago
"Everyone called him Popeye." Thus begins Mister Pip, an eloquently written story about how profoundly literature can influence lives. As Popeye evolves into Mr. Pip, the personalities and character traits of the islanders also emerge. Mother and daughter, war and resistance, husband and wife, civilization and nature, life and death, black and white, nurturance and abandonment - these are dichotomies around which this novel plays out. Mister Pip is narrated by a young woman looking back upon her teen years on a remote Pacific island, who begins to come of age under the tutelage of the substitute school master. His true name is Mr. Watts, and he is the only white person on the island, having married one of its inhabitants. Every day, he reads part of Great Expectations to his mixed-age pupils, and the world opens up to each of them in a different way.

Dramatic, evocative, and filled with hope, sorrow, and a touch of mystery, Mister Pip has deservedly won numerous literary prizes. This is an important book with a timeless, unforgettable message.
Allison_K More than 1 year ago
"This book was shortlisted for the 2007 Man Booker Prize. Excellent novel, beautifully written. The story is narrated through the eyes of a 13-year-old girl, Matilda. After a war breaks out, driving away the real teachers on island, Mr. Watts, the only white resident left, begins classes for the children by reading from the Dicken's novel, Great Expectations. Matilda's telling of her story of living through the violence of the war brings out the culture of the island and the special stories of its people. There's humor and there's deep sadness. I couldn't put the book down once I got halfway through it, and I highly recommend it. "
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mister pip was a very interesting story. Lloyd Jones did a great job of going into detail about the killings of the people. I felt as if i were there seeing it happen. Some parts of the story really got my attention and some parts didnt interest me at all. But overall the story was a touching and yet gruesome story.
p20014215 More than 1 year ago
Lloyd Jone brought a spectacular relm of suspense throughout the book. It was a book about passion, reality and a fight for survival to keep what is most important in life. While I read the book, each paragraph took back to a person, place or thing in my life. It made appreiciate what I had, and for that I am tankful. Mr.Pip is a truly a book of reality fiction that will give someone a different perspective on life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mister Pip is a deceptively simple tale which celebrates the power of storytelling - the book is heartbreaking and beautiful because of its insights into human nature and the human spirit. I heard the author read an excerpt from 'Mister Pip' at a literary festival in Jamaica 'Calabash' and although 'Great Expectations' was never a favourite of mine (blasphemy I know), I was intigued by the author's use of it in what appeared to be a charming, if improbable, story. The book stayed with me and I was prompted to buy it after circling it for a month at my local bookstore - I wasn't dissapointed. Operating primarily as allegory, the story also suceeds as a uniquley personal tale. Jones invites readers into a very intimate world and has the patience to let his story unfold in such away as to make the incredible story of his characters and their forgotton island accessible and real to his readers. 'Mister Pip' is not a fairy tale. It doesn't shy away from the harsh realities of war, or the general vagaries of life. But Jone's treatment of these issues, however, is deft and refreshing - lacking in either cyncism or sensationalism, which just adds to the books credibility and makes it all the more enjoyable. To put it simply, I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K continue
LashFB More than 1 year ago
Hilgly recommend this book. Am fortunate that a good friend and an avid as I am told me about it. I certainly would read other books by Lloyd Jones and intend to recommend it to my Book Group. Learned that a movie is in the works. I hope it will be as good as this book. Even teenagers would find it fascinating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am glad I read this book because it talks about New Guinea, a country I knew almost next to nothing about, but since it is about war and poverty there, it's not exactly 'fun' to read. The teacher is a great character, and it is just about life. I would recommend to someone who is interested in broadening their world view, Don't pick it up if you want to laugh or be lightly entertained.
kasi More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most unusual and brilliant novels I have ever read. I was engaged from the first page when the young narrator talks about Popeye. The characters are so unique and we care so much about all the island people. The writing style is beautiful and really draws you in as if you are there on the island. I love the idea of the great,important impact that literature has on our lives and the impact it had on our young narrator. I recommend this novel to everyone I know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting story line. Worth reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago