×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mistress of Pleasure (School of Gallantry, #1)
     

Mistress of Pleasure (School of Gallantry, #1)

4.2 75
by Delilah Marvelle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Granddaughter of a renowned courtesan, Maybelle Maitenon has no interest in her grandmother's school in London where gentlemen receive instruction—in the art of seduction. Her only desire in life is to remain independent and free from men and their overbearing expectations. But when Maybelle lays eyes on the Duke of Rutherford, who is well-known for his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mistress of Pleasure 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly wonder where all those five star reviews came from...and the high sales on this book. Why is it that books full of sex sell better than clean books? Are people starving to read about sex so much they have forgotten the value of a clean good book? Read it if you like. At least it was free and it did not cost me anything.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and read it...I was not disappointed. For her debut book --- Delilah had me in stitches I never laughed so hard in all my life when reading some of the scenes. The sexual tension between Edmund and Maybelle was so well written you could just feel it. The sex scenes were well written. Edmund's mother the Duchess was so down to earth and ruled her son with a firm but loving hand....I loved the way Edmund listen to his mother. Maybelle's grandmere was a woman before her time. Get comfy on your couch or favorite reading chair and kick back and enjoy a light-hearted funny read. I can't wait to read Hawksford story next. I'm looking forward to reading more books by her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a good story mot great but good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had a very intriguing storyline. I had to finish it in one sitting. It was romantic and funny in parts as well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
Mistress of Pleasure is fun. It's delightfully, intriguingly, authentically, historically, fascinatingly sexy. And it's wonderfully well-researched and totally convincing. Maybelle, brought up by her French courtesan grandmother, is really more into smuggling intellectual tomes under the bed-sheets than hiding porn. But she loves her grandmother and somehow ends up giving lessons in the School of Gallantry, where young men are taught, rather explicitly, how to win the undying devotion of their dear young women. Chapters start with delightful quotes from the school's guide book, then continue to both illustrate the quote and carry the story forwards. Meanwhile Maybelle, who thought perhaps losing her virginity would free her from the romantic indignities of society, finds herself falling and fallen for in the most entertaining way. The story had me laughing out loud, smiling in satisfaction, and generally feeling like the cat that had got at the cream. I had no idea I was going to enjoy it so much, but enjoy it I did, and I'm sure I'll enjoy meeting the characters again in the sequel. A thoroughly entertaining read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is only on occasion that I read a book in its entirety, but I read MISTRESS OF PLEASURE in one sitting. This book offeres a unique premise where the head-mistress of the School of Gallantry teaches men the art of seduction. I was surprised by how emotionally connected I became to Edmund and Maybelle as well as the other characters in the story. This was a fun, witty read, laced with tons of sexual tension and wicked play.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Not sure what the fuss is over. Mediocre story and side characters seem more interesting than main characters. Totally impossible and that was more distracting than the lackluster sex scenes.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I truly LOVED this book!!! It's different then most historical romance novels. Usually these stories are about & told from the point of view of people who are a part/member of the ton. But THIS story is about a women who's shuuned, looked down upon & absolutely NOT accepted by the ton, all because her grandmother was a French courtesan. Without wanting to & fighting it all the way, she meets & falls in love with the tons most sought after eligible bachelor, the Duke. All the while, her & her grandmother have opened a school, TEACHING some men of the ton gallantry/the art of seduction. The women of the ton do what they always do, look down their noses & spit on anyone who doesn't follow their rules. No matter what though, her & her grandmother walk with their heads held high. In the end, they both find & marry the love of their lives. It didn't hurt that they are both Duke.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of stupid at times & a strange mix of writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont understand all the glowing reviews. This was terrible. It wasnt a romance story. It was glorified porn and not even well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go on and read the rest. You will not be disapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed every minute of this book! Will definitely consider reading more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great freaking book! Must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the characters. They had some depth, good interactions and witty sense of humor. The story was ok. The sex scene didn't add anything to the story...maybe even detracted a bit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good, hot and steamy read that was well don and hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was truly entertained. I was surprised. Maybelle & edmund characters are tongue & cheek delightful, willing to break all the rules even while fighting themsevles & each other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found my new favorite author and am on track to read each one of her books! Loved the Characters and how it made me feel lol. My husband is enjoyed the pleasure this book gave me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite a romantic and humorous story!