×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Mitten
     

The Mitten

4.1 33
by Jan Brett
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Nicki drops his white mitten in the snow, he goes on without realizing that it is missing.

One by one, woodland animals find it and crawl in; first, a curious mole, then a rabbit, a badger and others, each one larger than the last. Finally, a big brown bear is followed in by a tiny brown mouse and what happens next makes for a wonderfully funny climax.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Mitten 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
SuperMomSMPC More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book for my son right before Christmas last year because he loves Jan Brett stories. I was a little disappointed as the story seemed to keep going on and on and almost seemed a little ridiculous (how could that many animals possibly fit into one mitten). I felt that the story had way too many animal characters and would have been better with about half of what it had. It was a cute story and lesson, though.
pamelaharris More than 1 year ago
This children's book is one of my favorites! Jan Brett's format of illustrating pictures from the previous page and next page is perfect. Children anticipate the next page and reflect on the one before. As a teacher, this is perfect for teaching comprehension and prediction. Kids love it! The detailed illustrations are beautiful. My favorite part about this book was that it is a board book. It is durable and long-lasting. I will enjoy it for years to come.
BRADLEY55 More than 1 year ago
beautiful story and illustrations. I'm buying this for my Granddaughter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"I liked the book because the author made the characters funny and come to life.  I would rate it a 4 star book." "Jan Brett wrote the book to entertain us, and that means make us laugh.  She also wrote the book so we could follow all the things in order and remember the steps.  I think this book gets 5 stars." "The pictures in this book made me see what the words were telling and it was easier to remember who went in the mitten by reading and looking at the pictures.  It is a 5 star book."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember my mom reading this book to me it hold a lot of memories and happy warm nights
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NYCBellabee More than 1 year ago
This book was one of my favorites growing up! I'm going to buy it for my niece and hope that she loves it just as much as I did when I was a kid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seaberg Family Account More than 1 year ago
I didn't read the e-book, but the paper one has AMAZING illustrations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ashley Ansbergs More than 1 year ago
this was a amazing book! i love the pictures and the writing is so lyrical and easy to picture!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MahMah More than 1 year ago
I purchased this charming Ukrainian Folktale book for the purpose of "telling" it to children ages 7 and 8 at a DPS elementary school where I do storytelling once a month to five classes of combined first/second grade students. However, for kids in this age group, I felt it was necessary to enlarge quite a bit upon the basic story line, which was actually quite easy to do with Baba and Nicki's characters, and even more so with each of the unexpected variety of animals who manage to squeeze their way into that verrry stretchy mitten! My young listeners remained happily engaged and responsive throughout the 'telling' and were also delighted with the marvelous illustrations, which I showed afterwards. The clever illustrations on the sides of each page of this book actually could tell the basic story without the use words at all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tinkerbell2 More than 1 year ago
Interesting story that children can relate to and it draws their interest and curiosity. The animal characters and little lessons about there differences are quite good. It creates questions and discussion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
janspirit More than 1 year ago
Two generations of children in my family have enjoyed this immensely. I recently gave copies to each of the great grandchildren. They love the illustrations and ask to be read this, over and over !