×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Moby Clique (Bard Academy Series #3)
     

Moby Clique (Bard Academy Series #3)

4.5 15
by Cara Lockwood
 

See All Formats & Editions

Some literary classics have been around for centuries. Miranda Tate's just hoping to survive junior year....

Her summer reading assignment is Moby-Dick, but Miranda's vacation hasn't exactly been smooth sailing. Between working at her stepmother's hideous all-pink boutique, and having broken up with her basketball champ boyfriend Ryan, not to mention

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Moby Clique (Bard Academy Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst book eva
sassypantsTM More than 1 year ago
me and my friend have read this book 36 times it never gets old i love all the characters and its just a awsome book read this and you will love it trust me and you should read all the books they are just as awsome!!!!!!!! have fun if you dont like this book you might need to see a docter. just kidding if u dont like it try some of the books that i recommend.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
In WUTHERING HIGH, Miranda Tate gets sent to the remote boarding school, Bard Academy, on Shipwreck Island off the coast of Maine, because she smashed her dad's Beemer. Throughout WUTHERING HIGH and its sequel, THE SCARLET LETTERMAN, Miranda discovers that Bard has interesting secrets, and slowly adapts to the strange ways of the school. Now, after a summer at home, she's actually looking forward to returning to school.

Things have changed this time, though. Now, her younger, popularity-seeking sister, Lindsay, decides that Bard is the cool place to be. After their father has another car destroyed, Lindsay is beside Miranda on the boat that takes them to the remote island school. Waiting alone at the dock is the mysterious Heathcliff. Readers of the previous novels have come to know that Heathcliff is really the fictional character from the book WUTHERING HEIGHTS, who has been released from the pages of the book for a three year reprieve with the promise that he won't leave the island nor become involved with Miranda.

This is easier said than done. There have been electrical sparks between Miranda and Heathcliff from the first day they encountered each other. Throw in an ex-boyfriend, Ryan, that Lindsay is crushing on. Add a motley group of friends: Blade, the Wiccan ex-roommate; Samir, sent to Bard for refusing to an arranged marriage when he turns 19; and Hana, Miranda's new roommate. And last but not least, don't forget Parker, the popular girl that is out to destroy Lindsay and Miranda for trespassing on her turf.

Now, back at school for her junior year, Miranda hears stories of pirates and buried treasure. Her sister has gone missing to prove to Parker that she deserves Ryan. Instead of settling in to be a good girl this new semester, Miranda and her friends journey into the forbidden forest on the fringe of campus in search of her sister. There, the group of students encounter all sorts of events and try to keep their wits about them.

You will get drawn into the ghost stories that surround Shipwreck Island. The speed of the events that unwind in the forest will keep you engrossed and your heart racing. From pirates, to ancient burial grounds, to the legendary ship Pequod, there is never a dull moment in the story. You will be left feeling winded but wanting more.

Cara Lockwood writes a fascinating story intertwining literary works with a current tale. For those that are not fans of old works of literature, Ms. Lockwood is able to bring some of that knowledge to you without you even realizing you are learning about them anyway. Even for those that have never read the classic MOBY DICK by Herman Melville, references are made to parts of the story that everyone will recognize. You do not have to have read the previous two books in THE BARD ACADEMY series to enjoy this one. Details are much clearer with the background of WUTHERING HIGH and THE SCARLET LETTERMAN, but they are certainly not necessary.

For fans of both modern teen stories and classic works of literature, this will not disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book keep me on my toes i loved this book this is a most read
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was wary when I first started reading this series, but I quickly became immersed in the world that cara lockwood has created. The books are so engaging and the characters are so lovable. These books are so good that now I actually feel a desire to read the novels that this series alludes to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cara Lockwood NEEDS to make more of this series, or i'll be classic lit. deprived! these books were the only thing that inspired me to read classic lit. like Jane Eyre, but this series has a whole new twist on things! it rocks, and is highly unusual, but that's why i love itt!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this series! I can't wait for Moby Clique to be available!