×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Model Home
  • Alternative view 1 of Model Home
  • Alternative view 2 of Model Home
  • Alternative view 3 of Model Home
<Previous >Next
     

Model Home

3.5 41
by Eric Puchner
 

See All Formats & Editions

Warren Ziller moved his family to Southern California in search of a charmed life, and to all appearances, he found it: a gated community not far from the beach, amid the affluent splendor of the 1980s. But the Zillers’ American dream is about to be rudely interrupted. Warren has squandered their savings on a bad real estate investment, which he conceals

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Model Home 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters will draw you in, also loved the writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down. Each page tapped too closely to many lines that are all too painfully familiar. From the squeamish teenage parties to detailed descriptions of sibling angst this read left me recognizing too much that placed me off kilter long after the last page. I could not decide if i was cheering on the characters because they were all too familiar or because they broke my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic. The characters are well-developed and captivating. They type of characters you miss when the book ends. Puchner's thoughtful insights are there for the taking -- not forced down your throat. (And they are great). I loved Puchner's writing style. He uses more good metaphors than a... than... well, there are a lot of good metaphors. And you will cry. You'll laugh for sure, but you'll cry. If you don't, then write a countervailing review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
Dreaming of untold riches in the real estate market, Warren Ziller moves his family to a gated community in (Rancho) Palos Verdes, California. There, they live the American dream. Nice house, nice neighborhood. But Warren has a secret. The real estate development that he's invested in has tanked, and his family has no idea what looms ahead. Once in a while a book comes up out of nowhere and just slaps you in the face. I first heard about Model Home when it was featured in this year's Tournament of Books. Simply put, it sounded like my kind of book. It was set in Southern California, it had all the family dynamics that I seem to crave, and dysfunction. lots of it. I expected to enjoy it, but I did not expect to love it as much as I did. This book will break your heart. You will re-read passages over and over again because Puchner's writing is so exquisite. His writing is both beautiful and raw, which doesn't even sound right when put together in one sentence. "You've got your whole life ahead of you, people liked to say. In truth. there was not much time, a blip, and most of what you did was a mistake. You were lucky to find a safe and proper home. In the end, even the world cast you out, withdrawing its welcome." The characters are so well-developed, that I cried for them. Their predicament is so dire at one point, so delicate and precarious that I had to pace my reading or be overwhelmed by grief. If you search for reviews on this book, you'll see that many found this book to be depressing. I didn't. It's an honest account of a family falling apart, but in many ways it's hopeful too. I want everyone to read this book. It's my fave of the year (so far) and if you happen upon the interview with Eric Puchner, discussing the book, hold off on it until you've read it because it gives a huge plot point away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alicea Acevedo More than 1 year ago
great read, i reccommend it to everyone. the story moves really fast and i felt very invested in the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When you read a book and you find yourself wondering about the characters after you have finished to me this is the best recommendation you can give and this is the case with this book. The characters were well formed and interesting and as one reviewer said the ending is anticlimatic but I wonder if this is why I find myself thinking about them. Will there be a sequal?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago