×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1)
     

Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1)

3.9 82
by David Wellington
 

See All Formats & Editions

It's one month after a global disaster. The most "developed" nations of the world have fallen to the shambling zombie masses. Only a few pockets of humanity survive — in places rife with high-powered weaponry, such as Somalia. In New York City, the dead walk the streets, driven by an insatiable hunger for all things living. One amongst them is different;

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
Annibebe More than 1 year ago
This book is different from the very beginning - the only countries to avoid the zombie apocalypse are the Third World. One UN worker and a bunch of teenage Somali army girls have to travel to the US in order to gather medicine from the UN building. What happens in New York is horrific, but amusing at the same time. I would've rated this book a five; however, there is an ironic twist that just isn't very believable, even for a zombie book! All in all a good read that kept me turning pages!
harstan More than 1 year ago
The world as we knew it is gone due to the epidemic. Geneva is wiped out and its famous Convention, an inconvenience at times to America sitting as the key to the global economy, obviously meaningless. Manhattan Island known for its eccentric populace from Wall St to the Village to Harlem is now the abode of zombies though the rotting flesh has not changed the average odor of the place. Perhaps the last human on Manhattan, still human with some newly acquired psychic powers, Gary Fleck observes the walking dead who own what is now Monster Island. --- Those still human around the world believe ground zero is on Monster Island. A troop of armed female teenagers arrive from Africa to seek needed medicine while their leader, a former U.N. weapons inspector whose reputation was bushwhacked by lying Americans, seeks WMDs to fight against the zombie masters especially the plague ¿creator¿, who probably is the last human on Manhattan Gary or his female mate. --- MONSTER ISLAND is an exhilarating dark humor zombie thriller that George Romero would enjoy though the director would have preferred Pittsburgh. The battles between the girly militia and the zombies are terrific scenes as Manhattan serves as the perfect milieu with so many recognizable places to host skirmishes. Though at times the impulse to go repulsive overwhelms the story line, the Night of the Living Dead crowd will appreciate David Wellington¿s guided tour of Manhattan Island. --- Harriet Klausner
EAP More than 1 year ago
I have read all of David Wellington's trilogy. Awesome !!!! For all zombie lovers , this is a must read set. It starts in New York City and spans 12 years. I loved that all of the characters connected in the stories. When I finished the last book I felt like I really had closure. Don't get me wrong I would of LOVED for there to be more books. But , I really felt that he ended the story and answered all the readers questions. This is definately a book that will keep you wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was just ok. I read it in a few days, and I was a little disapointed with how it all went. The actual ending was pretty good. It left it where there could be another book, but I'm not sure if I'd read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a gripping novel. It paints a grizzly scene in which zombies now control all of New York and are being led by a dark force. I recommend this to everyone, I couldnt put the book down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm an avid reader and absolutely love apocalyptic novels, but this was so terrible that I didn't even finish it rarely have I ever refused to finish even some of the more dull books out there. Very unrealistic. A guy leaves from Africa to go to Staten Island to get AIDs medication so an African war lord will help him and his daughter out. The only thing interesting was that someone who turned was trying to preserve their body and keep from turning full zombie, which was a bit original, but reminiscent of Blade. Stick with Keene, The Rising and City of the Dead is probably the best in the genre out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zombie now that it amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely not the best zombie book I have ever read but it is still worth reading. A little farfetched but not horrible. Don't think I will read book #2 or #3 since they aren't related to the main characters from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed and hasd a good storyline
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Probably one of the most original zombie books out there. If your looking for the run of the mill Romero type zombie book, this is not for you. But if you want something new with an uncanny level of realism with weapons and combat...look no further. Almost as good as Uprising: Italia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a zombie novel (and series) this first of three books is pretty boring. I picked it up in paperback when it first came out and only made it two chapters in before i put it down out of boredom. A couple years later i purchased it on my nook to try it again and got the same results. I wouldnt waste my time with this series or author if i were you. Stick to the masters like max brooks or brian keene.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not the most original, but definately worth the read. Has a couple of good twists to the zombie story. Fun, flows well and a quick read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this on the internet I just had to grab a copy for my zombie collection.I will have to tell you a smart zombie that could talk did not seem like a book I would want to read, but it is an easy book to get hooked on and I was looking for something a little different. It might just be me, but I had to re-read parts to understand where exactly I was in the story, especially, when I started the next book, Monster Nation.I fell in love with the characters and that next day I went to get Monster Nation, but they only had Planet. With many delicious suspenseful scenes this book is a must for any zombie lover!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book and fun to read. Zombie fans will like it. It has a nice twist on the genre!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
zombies. got to love them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CVHunt More than 1 year ago
Dekalb is a weapons inspector for the UN. He and his young daughter have been captured by a Somalian warlord. He's been offered refuge for his family and a possible new life for his daughter under certain circumstances. His mission is to sail to America to find drugs to treat AIDS, since this is what the warlord is infected with, while most of the world has been infected with the zombie virus. It sounds impossible.it sounds like a suicide mission. Who else is going to be able to take care of him and his daughter when firearms are what you need to survive in this new and devastating world? Gary used to be a doctor. Now he's the smartest dead guy in the world. Or at least that is what he'll tell you when you talk to him. He knew there were two options when New York was swallowed alive by the zombie plague: be eaten or join them. Using his medical theory - that the dead stop breathing, depleting oxygen to the brain, and causing them to be mindless when they reanimate - he hooked himself to the right medical equipment, and then took his own life. He woke up dead. When the dead are able to think, a zombie infested world will become more terrifying. Gary and Dekalb aren't as different as you might think at first glance; the both have the same goal - survival. I first ran into David Wellington's books in a used book store. I picked up his 13 Bullets series, which is about vampires. He does extremely well with the darker side of monsters, and I fell in love with his writing style. A fifth book of his vampire series is coming out soon, and I felt that I need to explore the rest of his work. Monster Island is the first of a zombie trilogy, and I must say, the first book had me captivated again. I look forward to reading the rest of this series, the continuation of his vampire series, and recently, he has started a werewolf series. If you are ready to step away from the cuddly monsters that have been creeping up on us, and get back to the basics of horror, read some of David Wellington's books.
Kelly Higey More than 1 year ago
Mmk first if all this is one of the best books ever! Its fun,gross,entergetic,and a great book for zombo lovers all around.
KittieWolfe More than 1 year ago
Started out pretty interesting- liked the premise of barbarian nations being the only ones to survive.The Gary character had a lot more potential, before they made him "bad" and unredeemable. I think, overall, there just wasn't enough time or detail spent on character development. The whole druid storyline was too vague and the motivations not strong enough. Parts were really exciting, but most of the book was just okay. Disappointing.