×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Monster of Florence
     

The Monster of Florence

3.8 247
by Douglas Preston, Mario Spezi
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the nonfiction tradition of John Berendt ("Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil") and Erik Larson ("The Devil in the White City"), New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston presents a gripping account of crime and punishment in the lush hills surrounding Florence, Italy.
In 2000, Douglas Preston fulfilled a dream to move his family to Italy.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Monster of Florence 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 247 reviews.
TomT4828 More than 1 year ago
Douglas Preston is a great writer of mysteries and brings all his skills to this true story. Such great descriptions of the beauty of Italy and the people involved in this fiasco. A serial killer on the loose and the Italian police go in so many directions that it's crazy. And some of those directions will surprise you. Sure makes you wonder about the Amanda Knox case.....and that is even brought up at the end of the book. I think this a great read.
suzyd More than 1 year ago
I saw someone reading this book for two days poolside on vacation and she could not put it down. After she finished it on the second day, I asked her about it and she recommeded it. I had seen the cover and assumed that it was a novel. The is the most amazing non-fiction book I have read in a long time. The story starts out with elements that bring to mind the David Berkowitz case of the 70's. This serial killer strikes in the Tuscan countryside, so the setting is beautiful, contrasted with the violence of the crimes. The story is spellbinding. There are so many twists and turns and the fact that both authors become involved with the investigation, adds to the intrigue. I think the authors have done an incredible job both researching and writing this book. I will be recommending it to everyone. One look at the cover also intrigues you. I think the cover is probably what hooked me originally as I watched someone devour the book in two days.
KrissyKat More than 1 year ago
Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I like books involving crimes and mysteries and this book incorporated both. I also found myself wanting to look up additional information regarding these serial killings in florence. The only issue I had with the book was that it was a little lengthy in some sections. Nonentheleess, I would recommend this book.
Smiley-in-the-Sunshine More than 1 year ago
read this, initially, due to Douglas Preston's name as co-author-- came to appreciate it at another level as the story behind the story, the cover-up, international intrigue, Italian politics, culture relative to Florence, press involvement, etc. unspiraled in an incredible fashion-- thought it would all be too much detail and I would forget key elements due to the sheer volume of information, but Preston and Spezi presented it artfully-- I found it to be a page-turner I was willing to lose sleep for in order to extend reading opportunities!-- thank you, authors: your expertise and integrity shine
DayDreamer44 More than 1 year ago
INCREDIBLE BOOK!! ONE OF THE BEST IVE READ!
prrple21 More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I didn't even know that there was a Monster of Florence. It was great fun to speculate who could have done it. I wish that I had the time and money to go and investigate it a bit myself! The book was well written and researched. Preston went to one of the greatest sources of the story and was right to include him; Spezi was awesome.
S_L_D More than 1 year ago
I found The Monster to be very interesting reading. The crimes, though horrible, are a small part of the book. The main story is about how the authorities handled it...and it is unbelievable. What a string of events. It shows a lot about human nature.
lovetoreadNJ More than 1 year ago
Great book! Hard to put down.
mandersj More than 1 year ago
When best-selling murder mystery writer Douglas Preston decided to move to Italy to write a book he'd been planning for years, he got far more than he bargained for. The true story of what happened to Preston, his family, and his newfound friend and colleague Italian journalist Mario Spezi is detailed in "The Monster of Florence: A True Story." Preston, his wife and his two small children move to a villa in beautiful Florence so Preston can begin to properly research a book he's had brewing in his head for a long time. He comes across the story of a murder that happened long ago on the land near where he is living, and his mind is suddenly tuned in to this story more than the one he was originally there to write. Italy has had a serial killer named The Monster of Florence, whose identity has never been revealed, whose case is still open. The Monster first struck in the 1960s and last struck in the 1980s, aiming his horrific hatred towards young couples having sex in parked vehicles at night. Apparently most Italians live at home with their parents until they are married, so having sex in parked cars is the Italian national pastime. The Monster kills the male first, then kills the female, drags her body away from the car to a more open locale, then mutilates her body, taking with him a trophy from each female victim­. There is no mistaking his signature. The Italian police, through the years, arrested and imprisoned numerous suspects. The investigation is still ongoing, although the Monster has not been active in a long time. Preston and Spezi offer their opinion on who the real Monster is. Spezi caught the story when the first murder occurred and has covered it for decades, pretty much consuming his life. Spezi spins a tale of the corrupt police system in Italy, the unfair trials, how the police don't seem to care who is really the guilty party, and how they seem to cover up and ignore evidence that points to the real killer. When the police get word that Spezi and Preston are writing a book about the Monster and the investigation into the case, they target both writers to the full extent of Italian law. Spezi suffers much more than Preston, who is allowed to leave the country, but forbidden to ever return. This story is mired down in too many details of a very confusing investigation. The ending is more interesting because it talks about the cover-up and consequences of the writers' actions, but it doesn't make up for the beginning where all the dozens of suspects' lives are explained in too many details to keep track of. This is definitely not a light read, and because there is no resolution to the story, nor in real life, not necessarily worth the time it takes to muddle through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book and thought it was well written. I liked the information got about the murders that were committed and the ideas of who committed these murders. I did not know much about these crimes when I started to read this book and I think it's a good read for people interested in this case.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down it is based off a true story MUST READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just could not get into this book. The basic plot is decent, but it just drags on and on. I had to force myself to finish. I wouldn't even categorize it as true crime really. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not what I thought it would be. It was good, but hard to get into.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the first page, I HAD to keep reading. This was an absolute page-turner and the contrast between the quiet, romantic country side and the demented crimes within was marvelously presented. 
sydneymccoy1 More than 1 year ago
A truly fantastic read! The culture and life of Italy only make this real story of the never-caught serial killer "stalking the Florentine hills." This case remains a mystery to this day, the killer never being brought to justice. The entire book was fascinating, from beginning to end! What a unique way to bring this infamous case to light in the US.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always trust Douglas Preston for his fictional murder mysteries - so, it was not a big leap for me to try this book. I was not disappointed! Very intriguing story, especially with the insight into the Italian legal system and cultural differences. Definitely a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An eye opening expose' on the inherent corruption and incompetence that pervades the Italian justice system.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago