×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)
     

Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)

4.3 115
by Emmy Laybourne
 

See All Formats & Editions

Your mother hollers that you're going to miss the bus. She can see it coming down the street. You don't stop and hug her and tell her you love her. You don't thank her for being a good, kind, patient mother. Of course not—you launch yourself down the stairs and make a run for the corner.

Only, if it's the last time you'll ever

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Monument 14 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 115 reviews.
sockerstr77 More than 1 year ago
Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn't let up until the last page. I could not put it down! Its a real page turner. As a teen, I found the characters really relatable. I would love to see her write a sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book several times. It is very captivating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gripping up until the ended when you are left with more to wonder about then the start of the book itself. Read but only if you are will to be left on the edge of your seat wondering "What now?"
booksatruestory More than 1 year ago
At the beginning, there wasn’t much going on. The book starts off with some very graphic and disturbing disasters and I was worried that it was going to be overly realistic and not at all entertaining. That was thankfully not true. The point when I got to know all the characters was when I really started to fall in love with this book. There was such a colorful cast of characters that clashed together in fun ways. It made me laugh out loud even though there were truly terrifying things going on. Seriously. Like, the world is ending and I’m laughing me head off. I even read a few passages to my husband between laughs because he wanted to know what was so dang funny. But don’t get me wrong – even though there are some very funny moments, there were also some very touching moments that really got to me, especially the ones with the little kids. The plot took some turns and surprises that I really enjoyed. The realism was one of the very best parts of the book. Her attention to the details had me so invested in the story and made it hard for me to stop thinking about the book when I was done. She did an amazing job of balancing humor, fear, and empathy while making all of the characters amazingly realistic. I’m absolutely convinced that Max is in existence somewhere on this earth. The writing was so enjoyable. It was succinct, visual, fast-paced and a lot of fun to read. Grab this book. I flew right through it in a day. I absolutely couldn’t put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really good, but the age rating I would say 14+.
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
Monument 14 is a dystopian book about a group of 14 school children who survive a natural disaster that wipes out part of the world. There are parts of the book that mimic The Lord of the Flies, but there are so many parts that stand on their own. The disaters sound like something from a Hollywood blockbuster, but the story of the kids is really the best part. Through all the issues they faced, they learned to first trust each other, and work together to survive. The ending leaves you with way more questions than answers, but its still a darkly moving novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is interesting but at some parts really scary!! It also contains some swears. But it is an interesting read!
EverAfterEsther More than 1 year ago
It sounds like working in the film industry really gives Emmy a different perspective to write from - and I think that comes through in her writing in Monument 14! If you're looking for that next action-packed, exciting summer read then this is one you'll want to check out! Reasons to Read: 1.A story that draws you in from the first page: The first thing I noticed while reading Monument 14 is that the story picks up during the first chapters; I had barely even started reading and I couldn't put it down! I thought the pacing was very well done for the length of the book, and it really doesn't slow down whatsoever- even while trapped in a superstore. 2.Excellent, evocative writing: Similarly, Emmy's not only able to write exciting scenes but I thought she did a great job penning the story as a whole. The writing wasn't awkward and it was just descriptive enough to help you imagine the events as they were taking place. It seems like her background in film gave her a good idea of exciting writing, and how to keep a story moving along nicely. 3.A new sort of post-apocalyptic book: There are a large number of post-apocalyptic books out now, and even more coming out in the next few months or so, but it was a pretty interesting idea to set a group of high school & elementary kids in a superstore; cut off from the rest of the world. It's a convenient setting for them, but one that works well for the book and really draws you in. With the way the book ended, I'm really curious to see how the sequel will follow the events which took place in Monument 14! I did, however, have a few problems with the characters. I found them largely to be caricatures, and mostly lacked any real depth. I think the reason I felt them to be this way was because we didn't get any real sense of their motivations or reasons for acting the way they do, and especially for keeping the secrets they keep. I can understand that from the younger kids, but it's harder to look the other way in the case of the teens in the group. Some people are suspicious, some choose to isolate themselves, some act out and cause trouble. But we never find out WHY, and I wonder if part of th ereason for this is because there's just too many characters to follow. But aside from that, I found Monument 14 to be a rather gripping read- definitely one that will be a quick read for a lot of readers this summer! E-galley received from publisher via Net Galley.
Anonymous 7 months ago
My 13 year old sister told me to read this book (I'm 26), and I was so pleasantly surprised! I loved it so much- I couldn't put it down and finished it in two days. It's riveting, and it takes you on a serious journey! Thanks Cayley!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im not done with the book yet, but i have to say this. The charecters are extremly unrealistic. The high schoolers act like seventh graders. The eighth graders act like firstgraders, and the elementary school kids act like infants. Charecters personalties change randomly and do things tat they normally wouldnt. Its quit annoying. Also it has that extremly cliche plot where a guy has a huge chrush on some girl who doesnt knowvhe exists, then they are put into some unusual circumstances and they fall in love for bo reason vother then plot devolopment. Like i said, i havent finished the book yet, but i just wanted to point thi out in case anyone wants to know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's amazing!!
TheLovelyDreams More than 1 year ago
The storyline was captivating and I couldn't help but read it quickly.  Although, I wish the writing would be less frusterating to read. All thought her ideas and storyline is smooth and interesting,  her writing may cause a headache. 
Anonymous 6 months ago
I read this book and it was great the storyline with all the plot twists always kept me on the edge of my seat through the whole book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazin
mollyreads More than 1 year ago
Overall, this is a great read, especially for any dystopian/post-apocalyptic fan. There are moments that are heartbreaking and others that will make you laugh or go “aww” (plus side to having 5-year-olds in a story). While this book is set at a more steady pace, it’s the first in a trilogy and the ending definitely set up the chance for a fantastic sequel! My one complaint is the odd airborne chemical compound. It took center stage to everything else happening at times, and (because they are kids trapped in a store) there wasn’t much detail regarding it. Hopefully in future books it will be something that is addressed further (Kind of like The Maze Runner). Also, there are some more “mature” scenes, not overly graphic, but they are there.
Wolfsong87 More than 1 year ago
Amazing book! Narration is great! All of the characters are very real and Dean is very likable. Didn't hurt that I had just moved to Monument when I read this either!
Gabby3902 More than 1 year ago
I have read this book so many times! The book is full of action and adrenaline! I'm same age of some of the characters so, I always wondered if I was it their shoes! I recommend this book to teens and young adults!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read them all! Can't watch to see if they get made into movies!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was actually better than I expected
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is amazing! Couldn't put the book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw this book in the libery as soon as it came out. I read it and saw how amazinng and action-packed book this is. This book combines what two people would most like, dystopian and romance. And you have to read all of them to find out if the main character gets the girl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im not done with it yet but the way the author gives the suspence is fenomenal!!! And the way the author discribes the scenes...gives a picture that you can actually see every detail is AMAZING! I love this book so far and I am only on page 19. And this is the type of book no one wil forget...it just that amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!