×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Moonflower Vine
  • Alternative view 1 of The Moonflower Vine
  • Alternative view 2 of The Moonflower Vine
     

The Moonflower Vine

4.1 60
by Jane Smiley
 

See All Formats & Editions

A timeless American classic rediscovered—an unforgettable saga of a heartland family

On a farm in western Missouri during the first half of the twentieth century, Matthew and Callie Soames create a life for themselves and raise four headstrong daughters. Jessica will break their hearts. Leonie will fall in love with the wrong

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Moonflower Vine 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Dylan111 More than 1 year ago
As an English teacher I received several Barnes and Noble gift cards, so I used one of them to take chance on a novel I knew nothing about: "The Moonflower Vine." And am I glad that I did!! I just finished reading it about two hours ago, and I already miss the characters, the members of the Soames family that form the core of this wonderful story. This is a rare book in that you cannot put it down because the story is so interesting (and often surprising), told from the points of view of six family members, but it is also so beautifully written. The language is just lovely; in fact, I think you could take many of Jetta Carleton paragraphs and make them into a stanza of poetry. If you love great fiction, I highly recommend this book. You will love it.
KatSNY More than 1 year ago
In the 1950's in rural mid-west landscape, a story unfolds of a seemingly simple and idylic family. The backstory however, is anything but simple or idylic. The characters are complex. Some are even difficult to like. But some will totally captivate you. This book is well written and engaging. It is a shame that it was the only novel that Jetta Carleton wrote.
su-z-q More than 1 year ago
I accidentally happened upon this book and the cover captured my interest. Behind that beautiful cover I found a story of a simple country family as the travel through their lives. Different individuals with different dreams and hopes but their commonality was their love and respect for each other. !This was a terrific book which was so pleasant to read.The dialect is quirky and fun and the story is well developed. It was fascinating and thought provoking to view a family's journey through each of their different eyes.Time well invested!
RaeStar More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful family saga with twists and turns and many secrets. I found myself living in the book and becoming part of the family's daily living and story. The author captures the time in which the story is set beautifully. The stories of the individual members of the family help pull the tale together and create understanding for the reader. I found myself asking for more after each character's chapter, but the author gives us just enough of a glimpse into their hearts to carry us on to the next one. I enjoyed this book tremendously and experienced laughter and tears in the journey from the first page to the last. I believe this would be a good choice for book clubs as well as the recreational reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read love one man
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That prophecy sounds like a poem...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book five? Book 7
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book started out to be a slow, ho-hum read, it quickly picked up steam and became very engrossing. I found myself reading until midnight---just one more chapter!!!! There were quite a few similarities between the book's family and mine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the story of this family is told byeach member, but throughout the different stages of their lives. The characters were easy to like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
byrdlover More than 1 year ago
Not as good as I expected. I was disapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No crime to solve, no mystery to unravel, no villains to defeat - just an enjoyable "slice of [real] life" novel where the characters are the story. Engrossing, hard to put down. Well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A satisfying and well written novel that proves no one is perfect. It was recommended to me by a friend...I would definitely recommend it to my other friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago