×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Morality for Beautiful Girls (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #3)
     

Morality for Beautiful Girls (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #3)

4.2 74
by Alexander McCall Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, published in 1998, introduced the world to the one and only Precious Ramotswe, the engaging and sassy owner of Botswana's only detective agency. Tears of the Giraffe took us further into this world and now, continuing the adventures of Mma. Ramotswe, Morality for Beautiful Girls finds her expanding her business to take in the world

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Morality for Beautiful Girls (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
Jay-Fer More than 1 year ago
This series entertains while giving the reader a look into the very different life lived in Africa. We become acquainted with some of the traditions of the African people while getting to know and admire the strong-willed and clever Mma Ramotswe, proprietress of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. Mma Ramotswe is deeply dedicated to her clients, her employees, and her friends. She strives to do what is right, and does not always have the heart to put herself and her business ahead of others, though she really needs to. As with all the books in this series, her cases are varied and many, and range from amusing -which beauty contestant is the shallowest? - to implausible -is the mysterious un-talking boy who smells of lion really a feral child? - to plausible -is someone slowly poisoning a young husband? - Mma Ramotswe values integrity and reliability above all else, and treats each case -and every person- with serious and careful consideration.
grandmapenny More than 1 year ago
Not nearly as wonderful as the first in the series, (hard to top) but another nice read that follows the life of Precious. Delightful.....and as my friends who lived in Lesotho and Botswana say, McCall is pitch perfect in every detail of life there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While these are not the mystery thrillers that crowd our market, it doesn't change my interest in them. I took this book on a plane to read while in flight and at my destination. I ended up bringing it home with me which I seldom do. It was not for the mystery, but for the life messages contained in the book. I find myself reading them to my family. Too bad the ladies weren't vampires so our younger readers would dig into the books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this series and can't wait for the next book. They bring to life an African country I know little about and a value system that is gone from our world (USA). The characters are real and warm, people you would like to sit down with and have a cup of tea. Her detective work is serious and sometimes sad, but also funny and helpful to those with problems large or small. A great summer read but do start with book #1.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am reading this series in order and I love Precious and her story. The chapters are short and the stories are simple - but the message is profound.
Kid_Oh More than 1 year ago
I read all the books in this series and really enjoyed them all including this one. I want to read more of Alexander McCall Smith's other writings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book as well as the others in this series is a good read. Great book for women everywhere. Message: smarts are more important then looks and it will get you further. An unusual plot for the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency but an important morality for women to learn. Mma Ramotswe's assistant (Mma Makutsi) needed just this kind of case to boost her confidence in making up for (according to her) her own lack of beauty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago