×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

More Like Her: A Novel
     

More Like Her: A Novel

3.7 22
by Liza Palmer
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brilliant, hilarious, and touching story from the author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Liza Palmer’s More Like Her is smart, funny, though-provoking women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, Meg Cabot, and Jane Green. More Like Her is the story of a seemingly perfect woman who’s the envy of her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

More Like Her 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
A chick lit that took a bit to get into, but once the prologue's 911 call is explained, the story picks up and takes off. As the reader finds out in the prologue, there is a shooting involved, but it takes quite a few pages to get into where this fits into the story. I was intrigued by the prospect of a school shooting that is centered around adults instead of the students. It takes a whole new perspective on how adults react to a shooting that takes place among their peers. I wasn't immediately hooked to any of the female characters, but slowly I fell in love with each of the three main girls. Throughout the book there was a lot of internal dialogue that sometimes repeated things that the reader already knew. The boys in the book took a back-burner until the end when they became major players. I would recommend this for chick lit fans, those who enjoy a book that takes a new approach to women interactions through their work environment that spills into their personal lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Throughly enjoyed this book. Each character was relatable and well written. I truly enjoyed Frannie, the reader was able to sympathize with her without her coming off a whiney.  There were enough plot lines, but not too many that they got lost in the shuffle. Overall, well developed and I may consider more books from this author.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Approx 300 pages. Loved this book. So full of emotion, I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, I couldn't put it down. It was a page turner with some twist! Liza Palmer is an excellent writer!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This seemed to be one thing, light & beachy chicklit, and then BOOM it shifted entirely. The shift made it worth my time - til then the shallow whining was grating. The character needed to rise past herself, and did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed all the other Liza Palmer books, particularly the latest release...but I thought this book was all over the place. There was quite a large cast and I think the characterisation was underdeveloped. There was also too much dialogue! I think Liza Palmer really is worth reading if you are looking for chickit with a little 'bite', but wouldn't recommend this one at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was easy to read and I loved the relationship between the main female characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read 60 pgs still waiting for a sign of this character to stop complaining of being dumped
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are parts of this book that were good but it took a while to get into and to connect with the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly related to the main character in this book. Although the ending was wrapped up a little too quickly, I found it to be a compelling read. She has a very unique writing style and her characters are very relatable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be comical at times with a well-rounded story weaving its way thru that which we call life. The biting sarcasm made me an instant fan and crave to immerse myself in her other titles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a book club choice. Ms. Palmer is not anyone I have read but I believe that will change. I so enjoyed this book. The characters were deep and the conversations were real. The first pages cover a 911 call about a shooting. Interest is peaked. The next 100 pages are about relationships - all relationships - and how to find your true self. Sounds boring but it was quite fun. I laughed out loud at the bantering of good friends and the bantering with the lead characters self. Emma - dear Emma who is perfect in every conceivable way - is the new head principal of the elite school where the lead characters work. She is the perfect woman. Or so everyone thinks. When a young boy at school is bullied and she takes the side of the bully, I thought her less than perfect. Frannie - lead character and storyteller - takes the side of the victim and thus begins the true depth of the story. Nothing is what it seams. And - because I did not read the reviews - I didn't know who the shooter was - this went through my mind as I read the book. The aftermath of the tragedy is so well written and so well portrayed I'm feeling it alllll. And I love Ms. Palmer's writing. Did I mention that? Because she can write a book worth reading...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago