×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

More Than You Think You Are
     

More Than You Think You Are

4.8 74
by Matchbox Twenty
 

See All Formats & Editions

Their follow-up to 2000's Mad Season, More than You Think You Are was produced by Matchbox Twenty's longtime studio collaborator, Matt Serletic, and features the hit single "Disease." According to Grammy-winning frontman Rob Thomas, "This is probably the most rockin' record we've ever done.... But at the same time, there's a warmness

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

More Than You Think You Are 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was somewhat nervous about what kind of sound they would have on this album since I find there is a significant difference between their first and second. I admit, I had to listen to it a few times before things started to catch with me--but I did the same for their other cd's as well. This is one of the few cd's you can purchase and not only want to listen to every song, but enjoy it as well. I just knew "Unwell" would be the next single. My guess for the next after this one, "Bright Lights" maybe. Can't wait for the tour. This is a band that sounds great live. None of the unnecessary theatrics, just the purity of their music. Love these guys!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The third album from matchbox twenty is going to be a hit. This is one of those CDs you can listen to straight through, over and over no matter what mood you are in. The CD is very dynamic in that each track has a different sound. You really get to know the individual talents of each member of the band from this CD. It will be one of those CDs that everyone has in their collection. Great CD, well worth the money!
Guest More than 1 year ago
heard the song "disease" already from official site. its quite edgy. i'm hoping the rest of the songs are along the same lines.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so impressed by this album that I bought 3 more to give as Christmas gifts! Rob Thomas has done it again! He has an unbeatable gift for melody and rock. Every song is awesome...any one of them could be released as a single! If you're still debating, why not ask yourself if you like good music? Because if you do, what are you waiting for?? Order this album now! It will be playing in your car's CD player all the time...guaranteed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most people usually have a favorite CD that they can listen to over an over again without becoming bored. Most of the time, I take that CD for a "Test Drive" and they never really stick to me. Matchbox Twenty is probably the ONLY band that I can listen to over and over without getting bored. Both, the instrumentals and the vocals pull you right in and don't let go.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every track is great to listen to, not one bad song in the mix.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I pre-ordered the album, then couldn't wait to receive it so I went out to buy it the day it came out! Now I can listen to it at home AND in my car without having to take it back and forth. I LOVE THE NEW ALBUM! My favorite songs are Unwell, Bright Lights and Could I Be You. The Difference reminded me so much of a recent breakup that I sent the song to the guy involved just so he could see exactly how I was feeling, which I found too painful to express to him directly; the song really helped me out. I think matchbox twenty's music and all of the band's writing expresses many emotions that you can't sometimes put into your own words. It's almost like they've tapped directly into the human soul; sometimes making you feel better, sometimes just bringing you understanding - even when you weren't expecting it. I look forward to them coming in concert so I can see them for the 5th time!!! mb20rox! Keep up the good work, Rob, Adam, Kyle, Paul and Brian! And thanks for the great music; like a soundtrack for my life. God bless you all and hope everyone has a wonderful holiday!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love this new CD...Defiently worth the wait...A nice mix of different style songs...Bright Lights and Unwell sure to be hits...Great job guys.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You will like this album. Even the cynic out there who has decided NEVER to succumb to the songwriting of Rob Thomas will have to admit that this is a good album. Smooth was no fluke. Millions can't be wrong. From the get go "More than you think you are" grabs the listener and hangs on to them. These are good pop songs, good rock songs and good love songs. Good songs period. You will have to admit that you like More than you think you are much more than you thought you would.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Own 2 CD's (first cd, this cd, and several MP3's from several tracks off of "Mad Season") from Matchbox 20. The entire MTYTYA cd is great...every song well constructed, sound is full, and lyrically superb. Highly recommended for all listeners -- many sing-alongs, rockers, and love-songs for any age. The harmonics of this music-set should make this 2003 Concert Tour well worth the wait for them to come to town.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it, loved it, loved it... If you are a matchbox 20 fan, or even if you so much just liked a couple of their songs you hear on the radio, this is an absolute must!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like this cd i thinks it's the best of theres. The songs "Disease", "Unwell" and "Handme down" are awsome! but i love the whole cd. It's so nice not to have to skip one of the songs.:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought I would have to write a review bragging about matchbox 20 to get others to try it but I'm thrilled to see that so many have already beat me to it! I have loved Rob Thomas and company since I saw their Push video and their sound is so phenomenol. More than you think you are is very amazing in that it has many songs that highlight the intensity of Rob Thomas' voice. Highly recommended, More than you think you are will hopefully see the same success as Yourself or someone like you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not feeling the first song but the rest of the cd i'm already in love with. From #3 Bright LIghts till the end of the CD, i can listen all the way through. My personal fav is unwell, but who wouldn't love this song?? it's addicting
Guest More than 1 year ago
The boys have done it again. When the album first came out I thought I might not enjoy it as much because everyone had a hand in writing the music with this album. I should have know it would be brilliant. The lyrics catch the soul, and the beat makes you want to dance. I have listened to the entire album at least fifty times and can't get enough of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Love the song bright lights!!!! and the rest of the album too, but bright lights is my favorite song of all time, it touches my soul.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is their best work yet! I haven't listened to the radio since it was released! There are a lot of different sounds on this one, which is a good thing! Variety is the spice of life! If you weren't a fan before, you will be after you hear this! I could go on and on, but then it would sound like I work for them! Congratulations guys - you should be proud of yourselves!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Matchbox Twenty have yet again proven that they are an incredibly talented and in-touch band, with their release of "More Than You Think You Are". They boast powerful songs such as "Disease", meaningful songs with "Unwell" and an amazingly touch your heart kinda song with "The Difference". These guys are amazing, it doesn't matter what kind of song you want to listen to you will find it on this album. Front man Rob Thomas has such a hypnotising voice that mixes perfectly with the haunting sound of the band, you just can't escape. So the name of this album discribes these guys perfectly. A good album always has a good name, a great one says it all in the title, this is a great one. This title sums up every single song on the album if you take the time to listen to the lyrics and really, everyone should give themselves a little more credit because we are more than we think we are. I have listened to this album at least once a day since its release, so really what else is there to say.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love, love, love this CD. Matchbox Twenty continues to meld the lyrics and music with great arrangements. I enjoy all of the songs, but Bright Lights is my favorite.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Matchbox twenty rocks! I've been waiting three years for this album (yes it's been that long since Mad Season folks) and it was well worth the wait. Rob Thomas truly shines as a song writer. Every track has a catchy hook, memorable lyrics, and a few great guitar riffs. Overall i was greatly pleased with their new record. The standout tracks are definitely "Unwell" "Could I be You" "Downfall" and of course my favorite,the best track on the album, "Soul". "Soul" begins rather softly with just a guitar palying an intro, and then you get pianos, drums, more guitars, and then it all erupts with the chorus which is almost heavenly. I definitely reccomend this title to anyone, even if you haven't liked matchbox twenty in the past. this record is alot edgier and louder than their last one. Let's only hope the next one will be as good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not really reviewing the album here, although what I heard from the sound clips it sounds like another smash hit. It's the sound clips I wanted to tell you about. While the audio clips themselves are placed correctly, the titles are mixed up. It should go: 1 Feel, 2 Disease, 3 Bright Lights, 4 Unwell, 5 Cold, 6 All I Need, 7 Hand Me Down, 8 Could I Need You, 9 Downfall, 10 Soul, 11 You're So Real, 12 The Difference. Just thought I would bring that to your attention.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't think that Matchbox Twenty could make an album better than their first two albums, especially Mad Season. But once again they suprised me with this album. This album is flawless. Every song is great and so well produced. Their obvious hit singles "Disease" and "Unwell" prove to us that they still have what it takes to stay with, or should I say surpass, today's society's taste in music. By the way, every song has the potential and quality to be a hit single. And once again Rob Thomas amazes me with his powerful voice. Its so nice to again hear a voice with soul. The last singer that had soul in his voice was Paul McCartney...go listen to "Oh Darling!" by the Beatles. One of the highlights of this album is the bridge in You're So Real..."You always know just who you are/You never needed someone else/to realize yourself." "Hand Me Down," "Cold," "The Difference," I could name all the songs but I won't. Go buy the album now and find out first hand how wonderful this band and the music they produce truly are. If you like good music then you should go get yourself this album. "More Than You Think Are" = BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR. Enough said.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i just got the cd today as it came out. i think that the songs are just as great as the others. it has a different style than the other cds but i think its really good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic cd. You might think you are buying it just to hear disease, and then you find every song on the album is just as great!!! It is different from the 1st two CD's, but Rob Thomas will not let you down. His voice is just amazing!!