×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mother Angelica: The Remarkable Story of a Nun, Her Nerve, and a Network of Miracles
     

Mother Angelica: The Remarkable Story of a Nun, Her Nerve, and a Network of Miracles

4.2 20
by Raymond Arroyo
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
The extraordinary saga of Mother Angelica--who passed away on Easter, 2016--founder of the multimillion-dollar Eternal Word Television Network and “the most influential Catholic woman in America” according to Time magazine

In 1981, the year after Ted Turner founded CNN, a simple nun, using merely her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mother Angelica 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An awesome book. Helped me see the difficulties that nuns experience today. But it also show that a contemplative nun is not obsolete in the world. Being traditional and conservative, you see that there are people like you. But they are also not boring, they are full of God. Mr. Arroyo displays the humanity of the people involved and make them real.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a devout orthodox Catholic and I thought the book was wonderful-I hated for it to end! It really shows how God can use us human beings (flaws and all) to accomplish his mission on earth. The stories of her life and the beginnings of the network are priceless. I've always loved her, but I love and admire her more after reading this book. I'm the first in line to defend the authority of the Church, but it is really quite sad that the USCCB wanted to take Mother down. God Bless Mother Angelica and all she has done for the Church. She did what hundreds of Bishops couldn't do-educate the Faithful in the truths of the Catholic Church. And those Bishops should be singing her praises! The Faithful are strong, committed and loyal. Thanks Mother and thanks Mr. Arroyo for this awesome and enlightening book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
From her cover portrait, she looks like she could very well have been your sympathetic parochial school teacher, though impossible for this cloistered nun, who through faithfully following her heart and her Lord, instead reaches the entire WORLD as her classroom. As a Catholic who doesn't watch much TV, I knew of Mother Angelica, having appreciated listening to the local Catholic radio station in my car. I knew that she had something to do with its existence, but wasn't sure exactly what. Her story reads like a novel, bred with 'Ripley's believe it or not.' We see her backbone forged in the crucible of a potentially tragic childhood and through her tortured teens. When she undergoes a remarkable conversion, off to the convent she goes, to thank God, and to love Jesus with the rest of her life. The problem is, that backbone she has keeps her fighting for her Lord, regardless of her suffering, or of what others think of her, and she makes both friends and enemies along the way. The story of how, with far-flung faith in God she manages to create a media empire, is wrought with twists, turns, peaks, valleys and last-minute miracles, and laced with endearing Italian humor. Raymond Arroyo's craftsmanship, sense of theatrical timing, giftedness with the English language and respect for the subject-matter make this one uplifting read. I appreciate the real-life illustration of what faith looks like in this woman's life. Read it and share it with somone you care about.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A nice read for those who are a fan of Mother Angelica and a wonderful story of faith. It shows much of her life before TV and the faith that helped form EWTN.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first time I saw her and heard her speak on television I couldn't change the channel. Now, a book on her life? I have to admit I always wanted to pick that brain of hers.
ReasonReligionKindness More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down; Raymond Arroyo has a gift for writing. The book is not a hagiography. It is a clear picture of Mother Angelica's life. It includes a  description the challenging family background into which she was born and IMHO, that description  helps the reader understand Mother Angelica. Her life could have gone bad. The personality characteristics that she inherited and the circumstances of her birth could have easily resulted in a very sad life. Through this book, we are instead treated to a story of how her Christian faith harnessed and directed her  into working for the salvation of souls and promulgation of the Christian Catholic Faith. In some ways, it is amusing to read how this gritty contemplative nun was able to outsmart the USCCB and stymie  bishops who promoted or failed to combat heterodoxy. Similarly, it was interesting to read how Pope JPII provided encouragement to her work. God Bless her, EWTN, and the Franciscan Missionaries of the Eternal Word.   
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yeah, that's right. Raymond Arroyo has a tremendous gift for writing (metaphor and imagery abound!)- but let's face it- the subject of this incredible work gives an author MUCH to work with. Yes, Mother Angelica is a modern, living saint who has repeatedly accomplished what was deemed impossible- but she also had very humble beginnings and her own pecadillos (see the knife throwing incident for more details). Through Arroyo's gift we see a more detailed tapestry of this Bride of Christ.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book reads quickly and won't disappoint those readers anticipating spurts of hilarity one comes to expect from Mother Angelica. It begins with her struggling childhood in the tough district of Canton, Ohio but really picks-up when she takes her first vow as a novitiate at twenty-one. It presents the hilarious circumstance the day of her solemn profession her inspiration to start a new convent in Alabama by selling fishing lures dubbed 'St. Peter's Fishing Lures,' including lures named 'St. Raphael's Dry Fly,' 'St. Michael's Wet Fly,' and 'Double Trouble,'--where 'every lure goes a prayer that He will bless your fishing.' It follows the foundation of her as a popular lecturer even among the Protestant crowds, largely due to her personality, which leads to her publishing small books to meet the growing demand and eventually to the founding of EWTN, the now largest religious media conglomerate in the world. It details her absolute fidelity to what she feels is Christ's workings, her financial legal trials as EWTN grows and her many physical ailments and miraculous cures. It chronicles her later triumphs, with petty liberal bishops, lawyers, multi-million dollar businessmen and companies knocked flat on the floor after going toe to toe with the incomparable Mother. She is a tough but loving cookie and this is a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, this book detailed some wonderful things. It also slammed people (Bishop David Foley among others) that didn't have to be portrayed as they were. I think the author was a little too close to his subject to be objective. The level of feelings on the part of the author bears this out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book, most interesting for its history on the Catholic Church in the US.