×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Moving Target (Ali Reynolds Series #9)
     

Moving Target (Ali Reynolds Series #9)

3.8 38
by J. A. Jance
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this “engrossing” (Publishers Weekly) thriller from New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance, journalist- turned-investigator Ali Reynolds unearths a cold case that puts her in danger from a deadly arsonist.

Lance Tucker, an incarcerated juvenile offender and talented hacker in his own right, is set on fire one night and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Moving Target: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
The usual setting of an Arizona mystery is not enough to keep Ali Reynolds and B. Simpson busy, so in this entry in the long-standing series, they have to solve two murder/mysteries on both sides of the Atlantic. And on this side, it isn’t even in Arizona, but in Texas, where a brainy young geek is held in a juvenile detention facility because he hacked into his high school’s computer system, incapacitating it, in protest for what the school board planned to do, i.e., make students and faculty wear bracelets so their whereabouts could be determined remotely at all times. It seems Simpson’s company specializes in computer security and identified the youth as the culprit. In doing so, Simpson discovers how the boy accomplished it: by using a program he developed which allows hacking without a trace (except it wasn’t fully developed). While in detention, the youth is severely burned and ends up in the hospital near death. Simpson is interested in obtaining rights to the program, and there are competing forces, one, presumably from a competitor, the other, possibly, from someone determined to destroy or steal it. Thereby hangs one tale. Meanwhile, Ali travels to England with her major domo, Leland Brooks, Simpson treating him to the trip as a prelude to meeting with his family after decades of estrangement. While there, he asks Ali if they can somehow find out how his father died, some 60 years before. She undertakes the task, proving nothing stops Ali Reynolds when she sets her mind to the task (and proved time and again in eight previous novels in the series). The plotting and narrative, as usual, are superb, and the pacing keeps the reader turning pages. While there is little to surprise the reader in the results of either plot line, the book is still an interesting read, and is recommended.
hbmari More than 1 year ago
I love Jance's books. In this one, she incorporates situations with the characters using modern technology. Very current!!!
Proudmom508 More than 1 year ago
J.A. Jance does a great job of writing series of books (J. P. Beaumont, Joanna Brady, and Ali Reynolds) that can be read as a stand alone or as part of the series. You probably lose a little understanding of why characters interact the way they do without reading previous books in the series but not much. Moving Target had two mysteries - what happened to Leland Brooks' father in England and who's trying to kill a teenage hacker in Texas. Going back and forth between England and Texas can be hard to read but she keeps the chapters in one location. There is some spillover when people with US connections track down Ali in England. Once everyone gets to Texas the story moves faster and I couldn't put the book down until I finished. Great ending with all the storylines completed. Looking forward to Ali and B's wedding in the next book. It was good to read more about Leland and his family. Glad the Sister Anslem character continues to be a part of the series. Hope to know more about her in the future. It was good to have B more active in this book to give readers a chance to get to know him better before the wedding. Hope to learn more about Stuart in a future book too. It seems that this series may have more to do with High Noon (B's company) in the future given how much a part of this book it was. Looking forward to seeing if Lance Tucker will appear in future books. As I said this can be the first book you read in the Ali Reynolds series but I recommend starting at the beginning to understand the characters better. They too are worth the read and there are only a few (6 maybe?). Moving Target is a great read! Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all JA Jance's books and characters. The hardest part is waiting for the next one to hit the book shelves. Moving Target was impossible to put down, especially with more than one plot twist to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not your best J.A. Jance. I love Ali but this was not one of your better ones. I enjoyed it but wasn't sitting on the edge of my seat. The group of characters was great to know how all of them where doing that was the best part of all.
DeanC More than 1 year ago
Ali Reynolds is great. Fun to follow her working through all the clues to find the answers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the description of Moving Target, I really didn't expect to like it. I just read it because I have read all the books leading up to it. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is a very interesting book. It fits right in with the previous books in that it is interesting in its plotline and very well-written. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of J.A. Jance books are great. You become best friends with her characters and always look forward to their next adventure. Because they are series books you really should start at the beginning of each series of books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan but this particular book is not up to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cas45 More than 1 year ago
I just read this book. It is very good! She is an excellent writer. I would recommend this to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zack?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
roseNYC More than 1 year ago
My least favorite of anything she has written. Overkill with Cyberspace & overdone with technicalities & not for those who just want a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best Ali book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YOU WILL WANT TO READ THIS FAST MOVING BOOK. IT WILL KEEP YOUR ATTENTION.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Live this series