×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mr. Darcy's Diary
  • Alternative view 1 of Mr. Darcy's Diary
  • Alternative view 2 of Mr. Darcy's Diary
     

Mr. Darcy's Diary

4.0 246
by Amanda Grange
 

See All Formats & Editions

Monday 9th September
"I left London today and met Bingley at Netherfield Park. I had forgotten what good company he is; always ready to be pleased and always cheerful. After my difficult summer, it is good to be with him again. ..."

The only place Darcy could share his innermost feelings was in the private pages of his diary...

Torn

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mr. Darcy's Diary 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 245 reviews.
KarebearKH More than 1 year ago
This an example of Pride and Prejudice retold this time from Darcy's point of view. It does have the appearance of a diary just by the way each entry is done under a different day. He tells of how he came to find out about Wickham and Georgianna and what role Mrs. Younge played in it. By reading his diary you bein to see Darcy in a new light. It is not long after the Meryton assembly that he realizes the his first impressions of Elizabeth were wrong and although "She was still not handsome enought to tempt a man of my worth, but she still has more beauty than I first thought." You also find out Darcy's hopes for his sister and Bingley. You also learn that Bingley is a big flirt and that everyone thought that the thing between Jane and Bingley would not las because he (Bingley) has been in and out of love many times before. With the help of Ms. Grange you find out how Darcy really felt about the loss of his parents, especially his mother. And how close he is with Georgianna. That is only the beginning. As you are reading it, you can almost hear Darcy's voice. It is as if Darcy is telling the reader his story. Amanda Grange made Mr. Darcy come alive, jsut like Jane Austen did and like many writers have tried to do both successfully and unsuccessfully as well. I would recommend this book for any true Jane Austen fan who hates seeing her work messed with. If you like this book I would recommend Darcy's Story as well. It is also written from his point of view. I was sad to see the story come to a close. It is one that I will read over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This books makes you love Darcy even more and leaves you wanting more. I have read and re-read over and over. Love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd be happy to lend this to someone. It's great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutly loved P&P and i was worried that reading something that was a branch off of P&P would change my view of the book itself. I was wrong and right! Wrong because Grange stayed true to the story itself and it was as if Jane Austen wrote it! It was fantastic. But right because it did change my view of P&P.....for the better! It helped me understand P&P much better! I highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an AP student, I am rather critical of the books I read outside of class, especially those based off my favorite book of all time: Pride and Prejudice. I have read many poorly written and simply uninteresting versions of Mr. Darcy's side of the story, but this one is by far my favorite. Amanda Grange makes me love Mr. Darcy even more and leaves me wanting more! I can reread this book again and again without becoming bored. Simply wonderful.
2ndlady More than 1 year ago
This is the first Jane Austen fan fiction that I've ever read (after coming across a short-story by Ms Grange in a collection of P&P fan fic), and I thought it was well done. The author takes bits and pieces from Jane Austen's original text and blends them seamlessly into her writing, so that I felt like I was re-experiencing the pleasure of reading Austen while getting the 'behind the scenes' perspective. It was light fun to read. I'd be interested in reading Ms. Grange's "Colonel Brandon's Diary", if the opportunity presents itself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a terrific little story that gave the back story to Pride & Prejudice. I was very entertained to read Mr. Darcy's side of the story, although I agree that he was "too full of himself" until he was given a tongue-lashing from Elizabeth! And the story also answered the question of what happened to Anne, Darcy's cousin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although the author took a good deal of literary license while writing in diary form, this rendition of the Priide and Prejudice story from Darcy's view is enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I really liked the original Jane Austen book, i was appreciative of the perspective that this book offered. The problem I have is with the basic premise of the book....Mr. Darcy would NEVER write this much detail in his diary!! If you can get past that factm you will like the book.
MacDuffie More than 1 year ago
Of course it doesn't measure up to the great Jane Austin! I would not have expected it to. But it was a very enjoyable read - lovely to revisit Darcy's and Elizabeth's world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a great compaion read to Pride & Prejudice. She did a great job taking on Mr. Darcey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this over this past weekend! It was particularly interesting to have a good sense of what Dracy was going through as the events unfolded!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely one of my favorite alternate point of view re-works of p&p
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy stories told in the male POV. This did not disappoint. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE is still one of my favorite books and MR. DARCY'S DIARY by Amanda Grange, is a nice companion to it. It was fun to relive the memories in the orginal story and more details as to the ending. I recommend this book. S.A.K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and I feel like it gave me such an insight on the different characters that I did not understood before (( from sort of reading the British version of pride and prejudice and the movie)I would recommend this book since its so easy to read and follow along even if it's done at a diary time of style it was great...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my go to book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago