×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mr. Monster (John Cleaver Series #2)
     

Mr. Monster (John Cleaver Series #2)

4.6 58
by Dan Wells
 

See All Formats & Editions

I killed a demon. I don't know if it was really, technically a demon, but I do know that he was some kind of monster, with fangs and claws and the whole bit, and he killed a lot of people. So I killed him. I think it was the right thing to do. At least the killing stopped.

Well, it stopped for a while.

In I

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mr. Monster (John Cleaver Series #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a strange coincidence that son of sams alleged first killing was a girl named michelle forman? And son of sam is who john names his dark side after
TMBreck More than 1 year ago
This story, in my opinion, has all the best of the first story while strengthening some of the weaknesses in the first. As much as I loved the confrontation scenes in the book, my favorite scene has to be where John goes through the embalming process. On the surface that scene should be useless filler, however I think it really helps get into John's head and helps the reader understand why (usually) the embalming process calms him and helps keep him from doing what he shouldn't. Another thing I loved about this book was all the interaction between Brooke and John. Part of me was rooting for them to get together, while the sane and sensible part of me was wanting her to stay as far away from him as possible. All told, a wonderful book I would more than likely read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You would think by the title of this book, that it would be about a sociopath. The book is about a sociopath, but in a more intriguing way. Dan Wells does a spectacular job of describing the thoughts of a sociopath, but he twists things to a certain degree to not make him a serial killer; adding in demons and the supernatural. This is a series well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There were many surprises in this book that I never thought were coming so be prepared!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was hard to put down. I was introduced to the series with the third book, and went back to read the first two. The way Wells develops the depth of his characters, the depth of his research and the richness of his scenes, makes this a entertaining and slightly disturbing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. Dan Wells is talented and an author who fully researches the subject matter of his stories. I have never been disappointed by his talent. There is mystery in life. In all things. I believe in evil. Do I believe in demons? I haven't decided yet. I hope that I never find out for sure. I am confused about the readers who find a conflict with the genre of these novels. I'm not confused and I don't believe Dan Wells is confused either. There is a touch of fantasy in his stories. Why is that a problem? These are fictional novels. I know they may at first glance look like psycho murder mysteries but wonderfully enough they are s much more than that. They can make you question reality. His other series is full of science technology dealing with robot humans. Nanotechnology I think is the term. Those novels are just as much sci-fi as these are. I have loved every novel he has written. He writes fiction. In a fictional story anything can happen. I was taken by surprise by the demon in the first novel of this series. Pleasantly so. ;) I love fantasy. I was reading this series because Dan Wells is a great writer and I had just finished his other series "Partials" and loved it. I found his style and talent for telling a story that captivates the reader wonderful. His character developement flawless. I wanted to be entertained by someone who wouldn't disappoint. So I did what anyone who reads a lot would do. I spent my money on a sure thing. More books by Dan Wells. Thank you Mr. Wells. Please keep writing. I have been reading for years and I loved it that you took me by surprise with the demon angle. Seldom are there those kind of surprises for me. Keep writing. Thank you again for all the entertainment you have given me. Sanna7125
grc1976 More than 1 year ago
Mr. Monster/John Cleaver is well written by Dan Wells. While the series has more than a little genre confusion, the main character is interesting enough that it almost doesn't matter. This book was a fun, suspenseful and easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Monster is the second of three books about John Cleaver. The first book reminded me a bit of the Dexter books in an off-handed way. (Not the TV show.) This book shows that it can hold its own with adult readers. I dont usually read YA books. This one was worth it. Very well written. Good pace. Intense in the right places. The character constantly struggles with his inner demons while fighting real ones in human guise. Complex storyline without being overly complicated. John Cleaver is a fascinating character. I would love to read an ongoing series featuring him. The subject matter in this book is not for children. Mature teens and adults may enjoy it. Highly recommeded. I thought it was a great and intense book. Keep it up, Mr. Wells! -AvidReader
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun little read about a teen who is saddled with dealing with demons and other things that go "bump in the night." A little intense during the embalming scenes. I would recommend reading this three-book series in order just to keep the chronology and teen romance thread straight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago