×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker
     

Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker

3.7 166
by Jennifer Chiaverini
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini illuminates the extraordinary friendship between Mary Todd Lincoln and Elizabeth Hobbs Keckley, a former slave who won her freedom by the skill of her needle, and the friendship of the First Lady by her devotion.

In Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, novelist Jennifer Chiaverini presents a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 166 reviews.
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Keckley is no stranger to suffering. Born into slavery, forced to submit to her white master and giving birth to her son George, bearing years of the indignities of slavery and finally painstakingly saving enough to buy her own freedom, she has gradually developed into a skillful dressmaker. Initially, she develops a reputation by sewing the dresses of Mrs. Davis, whose husband will later leave Washington, D.C. to become the Confederate President during the Civil War. Her obvious skill earns her enough clientele of the well-to-do that she immediately comes to the attention of Mrs. Lincoln, an enigmatic personality who nonetheless comes to cherish Elizabeth as a dear friend! This then is the story of Abraham Lincoln’s presidential years observed by Ms. Keckley who spends most of her time at first sewing and dressing the extravagant Mrs. Lincoln and then soothing and encouraging her during her nervous and anxious moments. Elizabeth’s goodness and kindness in this story is credible but also highlights a bit of naivety as Elizabeth fails to see that Mrs. Lincoln’s caustic tongue has repeatedly offended so many political families so that attention of her peers and the press are constantly focused on reporting innuendos and rumors of scandal. Elizabeth, however, fails to understand how others can be so cruel to this woman who lost a son years ago, loses another child during the Presidential years, and would be a lonely soul with Elizabeth’s constant encouragement and comfort. The President, meanwhile, is portrayed as terribly burdened by the disappointing progress for the Union in the interminable defeats of the War, which are carefully and minutely described in detail herein and well worth the read. However, there are wonderful pages describing Elizabeth’s more than noble efforts to help former slaves adapt to their new freedom after the President gradually frees them, first in certain states, and then later after the Emancipation Proclamation. The President and his wife, it seems, had premonitions of his death in the year before his assassination, and poignant are the scenes following his untimely death. Mrs. Lincoln up to that point has been shopping for herself and the White House to the point where her debt is absolutely outrageous whether one considers the value of our current money or the value of money in the 1860s. Elizabeth spends the rest of her life trying to help save Mrs. Lincoln from the embarrassment that would be sure to fall if the public were to learn about her impecunious situation. Not to provide a spoiler, suffice to say that all fails, and the closing chapters surround Elizabeth’s coming to terms with the reality of what she can realistically do and the harm she has inadvertently done in her well-intentioned efforts. Mrs. Lincoln’s dressmaker is well-researched and crafted carefully, never failing to intrigue, fascinate and inform the reader about these tumultuous years when history forced dramatic changes on the nation and on individuals living during those precarious years! Characters are depicted with all of their strengths and weaknesses, adding to the emotional ups and downs that touch the reader on every page. Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker is superb historical fiction that should become a best seller very, very soon! Congratulations, Jennifer Chiaverini!
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
This story tells of the friendship between Mary Todd Lincoln and her seamstress, Elizabeth “Lizzie” Keckley. Lizzie, a slave who bought the way out of slavery for both herself and her son did so using her sewing talents. She went on to sew for some of the elite woman in Washington D.C. When Mrs. Lincoln moved to The White House she chose Lizzie over many applicants to be her her personal “modiste,” responsible not only for creating the First Lady’s gowns, but also for dressing Mrs. Lincoln in the beautiful attire she created for the first lady. Their friendship quickly evolved and she became part of the fabric of the Lincoln White House. She was there to see Mary through the loss of her son and the assassination of her husband. Chiaverini has written an in depth look at an important time in history from the women’s point of view as only she can. It is well researched and flows smoothly into the reader’s heart and mind. This being her first novel away from her characters in the Elm Creek Series there were a bit of growing pains in places. She is writing about real people and tries to keep all the facts straight even though the book is fiction which can be extremely difficult. Readers should know this is not a quilting or a quilter’s story but Lizzie does create a quilt from the scraps leftover from her creations for Mrs. Lincoln. This is a very small part of this novel. The author has a reputation of writing strong woman and Elizabeth Keckley is one strong woman. She definitely went above and beyond for Mrs. Lincoln. Chiaverini has captured her excellently and it is easy to forget Lizzie was a real person. Her insight into Mary Todd Lincoln was enlightening as well. Reading stories like this one are superb ways to learn more about the people the history texts forget about or only mention in passing.  This book is everything I expect a Jennifer Chiaverini novel. Wonderful characters in a fascinating time and exciting places.  Fans of historical fiction will absolutely love this book. I sure did!! I can’t wait to read her next novel due out in October. The Spymistress features Elizabeth Van Lew, a Union loyalist who was a spy for General Grant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so well written I had to remind myself several times it was fiction.  I love historical novels.  This one had a great blend of historical fact, conversation and emotion that I couldn't put it down.  
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
This is a fascinating subject as Elizabeth Keckley is one of those little known historical figures who automatcially intrigues--especially if you have seen the film "Lincoln" where she is depicted. However, I find this novel wooden and rather unengaging. As this seems to be the first historical fiction by this author, the style is forced and rather stilted. I never found Keckey to be fully "fleshed out." There are other terrific books on this subject; this is not a bad introduction, but I find the whole novel disappointing.
moonshell127 More than 1 year ago
I'm trying to get through this book because there is so much information regarding the battles and people and very little about the relationship between the two women! I'll try reading the book a little bit more but am disappointed in it so far compared to Ms. Chiaverini's Elm Creek Quilt series which I LOVE! I thought it was just me, but apparently after reading most reviews here others share the same concerns....
PDW48 More than 1 year ago
A fan of Chiaverini's Elm Creek Quilt series, I was very disappointed in this book and did not finish reading it. Jennifer's wonderful character development and exploration of interpersonal relationships, especially between women, is missing from this book. I found it endlessly tiring o read through descriptions of Civil War battles and strategy. As a Yankee who has lived in the south for close to 20 years, I've read about and talked about and visited many of the battle sights. I didn't want or expect this from a book that purports to be about the relationship between Mary Todd Lincoln's relationship with her dressmaker. Even the dressmaker's learning about the death of her son early in the war was told at an notional remove I found dissatisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uuggg! This is written in a style suitable for a middle school reader. Very rarely do I find a book so poorly written that I can't finish it-especially one I paid $12 for.. I was expecting a historical fiction with a lot of interesting historical information-this book is heavy on the fiction and light on the history. The style of writing is sophomoric and unsophisticated. Save your time and money-
LJHotch More than 1 year ago
Jenn did a really great job on this book. The story line was engaging and she did a fantastic job of researching the subject. I learned a lot about the Lincolns and Elizabeth Keckley - what an amazing story. So much to discuss for book clubs. So much interesting history. What a fascinating story. A++
CMKmom More than 1 year ago
I love historical fiction, and this was a good one. Finished reading this book and a couple of nights later went to see Lincoln, the movie. Great one-two punch.
CricketJD More than 1 year ago
I found this book a litle slow reading. I hve read Jennifer's quilt books and loved them, but this one was not her best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I found this book interesting and fascinating, I also found it extremely sad the way things turned out. I wish I had borrowed it or taken it out of the library as it is something I won't read again. For historical fiction it is an easy read. I am at a point in life that I have enough sadness without adding anymore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like many others, I enjoyed learning about life in the White House during the time of Lincoln, and I enjoyed the pictures in my head of the characters in the story. However, I had to skim over the parts telling what battle was fought when. Not a bad read, but a little long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jennifer chiaverini is an amazing author. She paints pictures with words.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because I love historical fiction. I've read stories about Lincoln that always painted his wife as a dark character, but they were extremely one-sided. I was hoping to get a better view of Mrs. Lincoln as told by someone who was sympathetic to her. The book does develop Mary Lincoln as a somewhat more sympathetic character, but I felt like the author's development of both Mary Lincoln and Elizabeth Keckley was really lacking. She reports the facts, but I didn't come away from the story feeling like I really understood either one of them. The characters just weren't as well developed as I hoped.The book isn't terrible, it just isn't great. If you have the chance and like historical fiction, I recommend Sandra Gulland's trilogy on Josephine Bonaparte. That is the kind of story I was hoping for here, but didn't get it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoying it very much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can understand that some people would mark down the stars awarded for this book if they started it and didn't see it through. This outstanding presentation of an historical person starts out a little dry as Ms. Chiaverini tries to master the flow of telling a fact-based story as opposed to her usual easily freeflowing fiction. A reader's persistence in getting through the early part of the book is richly rewarded as Chiverini hits her stride about halfway through, and her literary efforts are not so strained in the second half. On the balance, the book is VERY good and a fair portrayal of the personages, from what I know. As a textile person myself, I fully appreciated the references to Ms. Keckley's skill and how much pride and pleasure she took in her craft.
chelsea597 More than 1 year ago
With the recent movie, Lincoln, plus a trip to Springfield, IL, my interest grew about Mary Lincoln's dressmaker. In the wondeful Springfield museum I read and saw a model of her dressmaker which inspired me to learn more about her. This book was a great read about the time period,slavery/free blacks, and life with Mrs.Lincoln throu her trusted seamstress. I highly recommend this book! Very informative and based on facts with wonderful writing, will hold your interest as well as give you lots of new information about Mrs. Lincoln from the woman who dressed her.
msmeisel More than 1 year ago
Great perspective from which to present this story! There were a couple of slow spots in the book but much of it is a page turner and worth muddling through the slower parts. Bear with the beginning, the author steps up though she relapses at another point... leaving the reader to ponder if they should really give it another chance. Do. Strengths will, in the end, win the day. The character development of both the dressmaker and Mrs. Lincoln are vivid, and believable. The reader can more clearly see the times through the eyes of these two ladies; though friends, from very different backgrounds, values and expectations. More importantly, their friendship finds common bounds -- based on shared hopes and loves.
AVIDREADER78ML More than 1 year ago
I ENJOYED THIS HISTORY OF THE LINCOLN YEARS COMING FROM A DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE. I HAVE SPENT MY LIFETIME READING EVERYTHING I CAN FIND ABOUT ABE LINCOLN SO I HAVE ALWAYS FOUND THAT HISTORY HAS CONSISTENTLY PORTRAYED MARY TODD LINCOLN IN VERY NEGATIVE WAYS. IT'S REFRESHING TO SEE HER ROLE AS WIFE, MOTHER AND FRIEND IN MUCH KINDER WORDS. I FOUND MYSELF UNDERSTANDING HER FOR THE FIRST TIME.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a wonderful read! So good that I couldn't get my hands on her next book "The Spymistress", which I'm almost through reading! Both books are wonderful, as I love reading about the Civil War period, and both books tell history from a far more interesting angle! Great books! I can't wait to buy her latest one!!
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
Historical fiction novels are in vogue lately, with books recreating the lives of such relatively unknown people as Edgar Allen Poe's wife in Mrs. Poe, Anne Franks' sister in Margot, and Elizabeth Keckley, better known as Mary Todd Lincoln's modiste and confidante in  Jennifer Chiaverini's Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker. Anyone who saw Steven Spielberg's movie Lincoln last year may remember the character of Mrs. Keckley in a few scenes in the movie, played by actress Gloria Reuben. I had known of Mrs. Keckley, but not of her story, which is fascinatingly brought to life in this new novel. Keckley was born a slave, and purchased her and her young son's freedom through her earnings as a seamstress. Her son was born of a rape by a white man, an acquaintance of her owner who failed to protect her from the man. Elizabeth loved her son George, and was thrilled when he went to college. She became a modiste to many famous women in Washington DC, most notably Mrs. Jefferson Davis, of whom she was very fond. As the succession of the Southern states portended the Civil War, Mrs. Davis wanted Elizabeth to come with her to Alabama, but Elizabeth was wary of going further South. Her reputation led her to be summoned to the White House to meet with Mrs. Lincoln and she became the modiste (dressmaker) for the First Lady. Through Mrs. Keckley, the reader is privy to private and public moments in the White House. Mr. Lincoln is portrayed as a humble, honorable man, one who dearly loved his wife and children. Mary Lincoln is lonely, shunned by many of the society people in Washington as an unsophisticated outsider. Elizabeth became Mrs. Lincoln's confidante, the one to whom she turned to when she was troubled. Mrs. Lincoln was wary of the men in Mr. Lincoln's cabinet and she freely shared her opinions with her husband, who may have agreed with her, but was more reticent to do anything about it. When her son Willie died, Mrs. Lincoln was inconsolable, and Elizabeth stayed by her side. When Mr. Lincoln was assassinated, again it was Elizabeth who stayed with her, even leaving her own successful seamstress business behind to accompany Mrs. Lincoln on her move to Chicago. I didn't know much of Mary Lincoln's life after she left Washington, and so this part of the novel truly captured me. Elizabeth assisted Mrs. Lincoln in trying to sell her dresses off to cover her over $70,000  debt, mostly from her shopping trips to New York City. They journeyed to New York and became involved with brokers who took advantage of them. Congress had yet to fund any pension for Mrs. Lincoln, so she had no income. Elizabeth came upon the idea of writing a memoir about her life as a way to earn money she could share with Mrs. Lincoln, but that became a disaster which haunted her the rest of her life. Chiaverini, who has written many novels about quilting, came to this story after hearing about a quilt that Elizabeth made for Mrs. Lincoln from pieces of material she used in various dresses made for Mrs. Lincoln. That led her to the book that Mrs. Keckley wrote, Behind the Scenes. I enjoyed getting to know these two disparate women who became unlikely friends. Chiaverini cleverly uses Elizabeth's story to bring us right into the inner sanctum of the White House during the most turbulent time in our history. She brings the Lincoln family to vivid life and yet in the end, it is Elizabeth Keckley's story that is truly amazing. I will be looking for more information about her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, interesting and enjoyed reading about daily activity during war years and the survival of people in its day. The cost of textiles to make Mrs. Lincoln's dresses. GIves us a glimps into the lives of Mr. and Mrs. Lincoln and their children, how her clothing was made and by whom.
pointerbd More than 1 year ago
Very revealing and interesting look at women, society,fashions and politics in an era where women were not written about too frequently. The middle dragged a bit for me(with details of Civil War battles and political squabbles) but overall a most engaging look at life inside the White House during and after Lincoln's presidency.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not wait to read this book. I was so disappointed in how dull and slow it was. I actually started it and tried so hard to find it interesting, I did not get to far and had to put it down. I am glad I got it from the library and did not pay for it.
KatieB99 More than 1 year ago
For the most part this was an interesting read. At times it got slow.. I think for lack of detail. In stories about slavery there was a failure to go into real explanation of the life of Ms Keckley as a slave. Stories of Mrs Lincoln were also devoid of real detail. It made the book an interesting read that was more like an abbreviated biography of each woman with few anecdotes. The history was there, the descriptions of places was detailed enough to be vivid but not so much in descriptions of the characters. Again, what was there was interesting much of the time but was a struggle to read at other times. This would probably be a good book for discussion for clubs... with such questions of the nature of Keckley's friendship (?) with Mary Todd Lincoln; the differences between the slaves who purchased their freedom and those who escaped vs those freed by the Emancipation Proc. and subsequent passage of Amendment to the Constitution, etc. I am not sure I would read more from this author.