×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Muchacho
     

Muchacho

4.4 20
by LouAnne Johnson
 

See All Formats & Editions

An inspiring YA debut from the author of Dangerous Minds.

Eddie Corazon is angry. He’s also very smart. But he’s working pretty hard at being a juvenile delinquent. He blows off school, even though he’s a secret reader. He hangs with his cousins, who will always back him up—when they aren’t in jail.

Then along comes Lupe

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Muchacho 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Eddie Corazon is a character who you won't soon forget. He lives in a world where being a bad boy is the cool thing to do. He hangs out with his cousins in a bad neighborhood, and the boys are just on the edge of being juvenile delinquents. He skips school and gets poor grades as a matter of choice, but he is a secret reader, and poet. He has promised his Mami that he won't drop out of school, but he's pretty sure he will fail. Then he meets Lupe, and his world changes. She brings out the best in Eddie, and sees things in him that he doesn't. Her father is none too happy about their relationship; he wants more for his smart, energetic daughter. Eddie doesn't seem to have a very bright future the way he is going, but then he begins to think like Lupe. Maybe he could make the future work for him, too. It's hard to make changes in his behavior with his cousins and friends encouraging him to follow their lead...but Eddie really wants to be able to hang out with the beautiful, smart Lupe. Eddie's transition is a very moving story with complex characters in a tough world. It shows that positive changes can be made through hard work and perseverance, and that the bad choices are tempting, but conquerable. The story is narrated by Eddie with straight-forward language and a viewpoint all his own, by turns funny and serious. Eddie is a boy who girls will fall in love with, and a guy boys will be able to relate to. Highly recommended for even reluctant readers.
SilviaSays More than 1 year ago
Eddie rocks. He's funny. He's smart. He's cool. And he's a little bit of a badass which is my favorite kind of guy. My father would probally hate him but I think my mother would like him as much as I do. I liked that he threw in some words in espanol to show his pride. He makes a good example for those kids who are thinking they shouldn't have to go to school so much. I got this book from my nextdoor nieghbor who works at the library. At first I was like Eddie and I wasn't going to read it but then I did and I'm glad I did. In fact I didn't want this book to end. I wanted it to keep on going. I wanted to keep reading about Eddie, his girlfriend Lupe, his Primo Enrique, his intellectual neighbor Harvey Castro, his way cool Tio Antonio. The most of all I wanted to read more of his thinking on school and teachers and sex and love. If Eddie didn't already have a girl I'd be knocking on his door right now. Ay te watcho, Eddie!
Leola46 More than 1 year ago
How I wish there had been a Louanne Johnson/Miss Beecher around to be in my learning disadvantaged son's life when he was in school! I recognize so much of Eddie's way of thinking as that of my son's. Eddie's insecurities about himself and his hiding of his own thoughts and abilities so he would fit in with his "friends" are all too familiar to me. I love the way people came into Eddie's life at just the right time, and how one by one they each planted the seeds of change and growth in his mind, each one adding to and reinforcing the others. Also so important were the changes in Mr. McElroy's teaching methods after being gone a couple of weeks. (Most likely to attend a seminar where he learned new ways to reach and motivate his students.) The usually bored and disinterested students became involved, and in spite of it being painful at times, they learned about feeling good about what they accomplished! They also gained respect for their fellow classmates. This book is not only entertaining and unforgettable, but also one that I hope all teachers, parents, and young people will read! I think it has keys to changing lives. I believe it is very important that Louanne keeps writing, and I eagerly look forward to her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Living in a neighborhood of drug dealers and gangs in New Mexico, high school junior Eddie Corazon, a juvenile delinquent-in-training, falls in love with a girl who inspires him to rethink his life and his choices. Eddies life can go on two distinctive paths: down the road to juvenile delinquency, or towards graduation and a “better life”. Most of his friends get into a lot of trouble such as (Primo who is rapidly becoming a criminal). Eddies parents push him to get his high school diploma. Eddie begins to change after he meets Lupe, a smart girl who is in Bright Horizons for something she didn’t do. She pushes Eddie to be a writer and enjoys reading his secret poems. Simultaneously Eddie gets into trouble with the cops (I’m not going to tell you what it was). But that situation leads him to live with his uncle for the rest of the school year. He and Lupe write letters to each other every day. His grades go up. He finds a book store with poetry readings. His uncle trusts him. His teacher even writes a letter of recommendation stating that he is one of those students who make the sometimes difficult task of teaching high school worthwhile. Well after I read this story I was amazed out of it and was thinking a lot. I personally loved this book. It's great to see someone took the time to actually write a book about true life styles. Not everyone has all the money and everyone's respect and Eddie grows up in a town full of violence and drugs. That's something real which is what I find amazing. I personally recommend it. I don’t really read a lot of books but this one drew me in within the first few chapters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi what is da question?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is strawberries from the meadow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Me too &#9786 )) Yay!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Idk...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sighns up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here is where I will answer any questions about my book, Life with Poppy. (Btw, it is at poppy second third and fourth results!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I work with many male teens who are a lot like Eddie. I plan to put this on everyone's reading list. I know it will reach some of them and I pray that it will reach them all!
OV1 More than 1 year ago
This book is really good because it goes from a teenager who pretty much has a hopeless future and no one to really support him in what he does to a guy that really has a bright future ahead of him. Thanks to Eddie Corazon's dad kicking him out of the house and sending him with his uncle to do better and also to get a reality check. I also think his girlfriend Lupe give him a new reason to go on in life not thinking he is a complete failure and she also keeps him off trouble. I would recommend this book to any teenager because it is a really interesting book, its not like other boring books you will fall asleep trying to read because they are so boring you cant stay awake. In my opinion this was one of the best books i ever read because it keeps you very interested in what will happen next and any person can use this book in comparison with there daily life. That's why I thought this book was really good because it really shows you how you can get your life back on track no matter how bad your life may seem.
lolzskittles_ More than 1 year ago
Great book about stereotypes and pushing thought them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a very unique book. It's was really one of a kind. A good read!
Jose diaz More than 1 year ago
i was a trouble maker in school but i grew out of it just like eddie when hemives in with his tio and leaves his past behind him so i think u will like this book just as much as i did
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
literacygal More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my 8th grade classroom and read it. I assumed it was okay for 13-14 year-olds because the age rating said 12 and up. This is not a book for 12-14 year-olds, but for mature teens who understand the point of the "realistic" (and offensive) street voice of the narrator. The story itself is good, but for high school.