×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mudwoman: A Novel
     

Mudwoman: A Novel

2.3 31
by Joyce Carol Oates
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Oates is just a fearless writer…with her brave heart and her impossibly lush and dead-on imaginative powers.”
Los Angeles Times
 
“[An] extraordinarily intense, racking, and resonant novel.”
Booklist (starred review)

One of the most acclaimed writers in the world today, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mudwoman 2.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Gram948 More than 1 year ago
What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is sometimes very tenuous. Typical JCO plotting and characterizations. I really wanted to love this book as I have so many others of hers. And I did, except I really hated some of it. This is not one of those "you have to read this" books, but I am really glad that I stuck w/it. Not for every reader, except maybe real fans. (keep a dictionary handy)!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow read. Not as good as other Joyce Carol Oats books.
michMI More than 1 year ago
Couldn't finish this book. Subject too sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave up after trying to follow this for a while Very hard to stay with the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read half way through this book hoping it would get better but it only got even more unintetesting. Dont waste your time reading this book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No rating......I really wanted to like this book. It is really boring....dull, with characters you cannot be drawn to even want to like...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't believe all of the negative reviews.  Amazing story.  The first part was really sad and I almost had to stop reading because it was close triggering an anxiety attack.  That being said, I'm glad I stuck with it.  If you prefer standard plot arcs and like your stories tied up with an unrealistic but satisfying bow, than Oates is not the author for you.  These characters are deep, multi-layered, and real in a way we seldom see in writing.  It's refreshing.  I think a lot of people have come to expect certain archetypes that have been shoved down our throats our whole lives and so don't know what to make of them.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very hard to finish. What started as interesting just got more confusing and boring. The ending was horrible. It's like the author forgot to write the last few chapters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not really worth it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
worst book I ever read - ugh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read as far as page 213 and quit to find something more intelligent. What a waste of money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I admire and appreciate that she shared her opinion of the heinous Bush era wars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago