×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Munster's Case (Inspector Van Veeteren Series #6)
     

Munster's Case (Inspector Van Veeteren Series #6)

3.1 11
by Håkan Nesser
 

See All Formats & Editions

Intendent Münster, Inspector Van Veeteren’s right-hand man, and his beguiling colleague Ewa Moreno take center stage in the latest shocking thriller in Håkan Nesser’s internationally bestselling series.
 
The final day of Waldemar Leverkuhn’s life begins auspiciously: With three friends, he wins a modest sum in the lottery.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Munster's Case: An Inspector Van Veeteren Mystery 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
sleuthTR More than 1 year ago
I ordered this book on the title alone only to discover that I had already read it under a different title , THE UNLUCKY LOTTERY ,bought in England few months ago. In future I will be more careful. Maybe if book covers displayed this information the same mistake could be avoided.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Competent, suspenseful, and rich in characterization as ever. Nobody said police procedurals have to treat with human evil to the exclusion of human goodness. This one calmly introduces just enough of both, along with existential angst and some unmistakable sexual energy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
another great book in the series.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Scandinavian authors tend to combine societal questions with dour reasons for crimes to be investigated, and “Munster’s Case” is no exception. Detective Munster has served as a sidekick to the now-sidelined Inspector Van Veeteren, who is on leave, choosing instead to spend his time reading and philosophizing in a bookshop he ostensibly is operating. The novels are an award-winning series in Sweden. This book, as one might expect first published in Sweden, begins with four friends winning some money in the lottery and celebrating their good fortune. However, after a lugubrious dinner, the dead body of one of them is found in his bed, stabbed numerous times, and another seems to be missing. It remains for detective Munster and his team to solve the cases, which become more complicated as the investigation progresses. The murdered man’s wife confesses to the deed, but more questions arise when a neighbor also goes missing and is soon found mutilated in a park. The author seems to concentrate on the psychological aspects of the detective, rather than the perpetrators (at least until the concluding section, which explains it all): the physical toll on the policeman’s life, the effect on his family, and the like. The plot builds very slowly and develops in keeping with the detective’s character and thought processes. While the solution to the murders is somewhat hackneyed, that fact doesn’t detract from the novel’s over-all merit, and it is recommended.
shr More than 1 year ago
Very well written and suspenseful.You will definitely enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SUEHAV More than 1 year ago
I've read Steig larsen, Jo Nesbo & now Hakan Nesser. This will be the first & last of Nesser for me. WAY to slow a read. Almost gave up after 100 pages but went to B&N and read the reviews & kept going. Waste of time. Glad this was a library book & not one I paid for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sawbill More than 1 year ago
I watch too much NCIS. (Or at least I did until this year; I cannot cope with the idea of the show without Ziva.) My favorite television show has rendered me useless in the “waiting game” of crime investigation.  I expect the clues to arrive on time, be duly considered and the murderer dispatched in haste. Not so in Münster’s Case. Perhaps the novel should be re-titled to Münster’s Case; a Study in Torpor. For me the novel was a study in patience. In every-dripping rain, gloomy Sundays and days and days of ennui, Münster and his team struggle to gather the will and energy to solve a murder, then a disappearance, and another murder in the town unfortunate enough to have these folks as their investigative officers. I have the blessing and privilege of having two homicide investigators in my family. If they approached their jobs with as little energy as this pack of public servants they would be without their job post haste. I do appreciate that Münster’s Case did portray the tedium of police work and the problems officers face in the field. But I feel the author did not invest enough in his characters to cause us to care about them, or even about the case. Perhaps it’s because he has a weak protagonist. Münster fights for time with his family, is tempted by lust and ultimately succeeds only with the help of his mentor.  The book’s conclusion left me feeling gloomy and cross. Perhaps I should watch more NCIS after all.