×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Murder in Murray Hill (Gaslight Mystery Series #16)
     

Murder in Murray Hill (Gaslight Mystery Series #16)

4.4 32
by Victoria Thompson
 

See All Formats & Editions

When facing injustice, the residents of nineteenth-century New York City’s tenements turn to midwife Sarah Brandt and Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy to protect their rights. Now, as the Edgar® and Agatha Award–nominated series continues, the two must track down a cruel criminal preying on the hopes and dreams of innocent women…

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Murder in Murray Hill 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has been my favorite. I would suggest you start with the first book in the series. Each book leads up to this book. Sarah and malloy are great together. Dont want to give anything away. But read the first book and then the next ones in the series. You will be hooked just like I was.
NUmom More than 1 year ago
In early April I got the ad for this book's upcoming May release and I decided I would read all the prior 15 books before I bought this one! I am so glad I did! I really enjoy the mysterious who-done-its, but the secondary stories about the main characters and the social issues from 1897 NYC (many still problems today) add so much! I love historical fiction and like that Thompson adds touches here and there to remind us about different markers in time or even inventions that came to be at the turn of the century. There is obviously much research done to make the books accurate and place the reader right in the moment! The books are always fast paced and real page turners. You can read any one and enjoy each of them alone, but do yourself a favor and read the entire series! This one was most compelling and timely although set over a 100 years ago. I'm only sad it took me two days to read and now I have to wait another year for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hope the next one is when they move into their new home and get married please.......
Kathlingram More than 1 year ago
One of the best so far, but then I always say that about these Gaslight Mysteries, having read every one! We are getting into a different mode for the next one I suspect, Frank will be a private investigator and Sarah will help him, possibly with Maeve as assistant. We should look for a wedding in the next mystery, with a newly combined family. It is just like visiting old friends, with a mystery thrown in. The period detail is always excellent, with believable characters and a fast moving story. Get your copy now..4.5 Stars!
Samplin More than 1 year ago
It was an enjoyable read. I think the subject matter of women being criminally abused both physically and psychologically did and still does happen made this story more believable. I love the window into a different era that the series provides.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very good. It is nice that time moves forward with each book. Can't wait for the nest one.
bakpen More than 1 year ago
Victoria Thompson's Gaslight Series is not only very good storytelling but an accurate portrayal of women's lives. In telling her stories, Thompson does not drive the reader crazy reviewing every twist and turn in each relationship or old case, but moves on in the moment. (That said, I had to skim back through Murder in Chelsea to remember exactly how Malloy came by money!) Two men are murdered after having used and abused a number of women. The depth of their depravity is ugly. Frank Malloy is no longer a police detective and the detective in charge of the case is just looking for an easy answer. I thought I "knew" Sarah and Frank, but I didn't expect the solution. Sarah and Frank, in the meantime, have to reshape their lives. And it all comes together in a great story.
Vicki_o More than 1 year ago
I have read every book in this series and they are always a pleasure. In this entry the mystery is timeless. This is based on love lorn letters i n the paper but it could happen today with the singles sights in the internet. The change in Malloy's life and the relationship between him and Sarah has been a long time coming and a good reward for a faithful reader like me. I have enjoyed every one of these books and look forward to more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. I can hardly wait for the next book. I am glad that they will stay in the neighborhood.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
The Gaslight series by Victoria Thompson shows New York at the turn of the century with the vivid gamut between the rich and the poor.  In this mystery, a young, unmarried woman disappears and her father wants to find her.  The case involves the "lonely hearts" advertising in the newspaper, and what can happen.  Mallory no longer needs to work as a policeman, due to a beneficial twist of fate, but he continues to aid the police department as a private investigator.  Mallory and Susan are planning to marry and combine their families into one group.  Thompson does an excellent job in depicting both the good and the bad characters.  I missed having Susan's mother involved in the story, but not all the characters can appear in every book.  The story moves quickly and the book finishes easily.  
Andypandy More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, was not disappointed at all, she is still at her best in writing mysteries. A little more graphic but not too bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Victoria Thompson creates a story that holds your attention from page 1 to the end.
winnie90 More than 1 year ago
Victorian mystery at its best and finally we get to see Sarah and Malloy make plans together. I have read all this series and can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe this is my favorite of the series. From the first page I was hooked & couldn't put it down until I had finished. You won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the gaslight series...history along with murder. You can't beat it,
chefdt More than 1 year ago
Murder in Murray Hill is the eighteenth book in the A Gaslight Mystery series. Add computers and social networks and this story could have easily been told in the present time. Instead, it is the turn of 20th century New York City and Frank Malloy is interviewing Mr. Livingston, who daughter has gone missing. Malloy goes with Livingston to his residence to see if he might find anything that might provide a clue as to where Grace might have gone. While there he finds some Lonely Hearts advertisements. With the help of his fiancee, Sarah Brandt and her nursemaid, Maeve, they devise a plan to flush out the man. Before they are able to implement it, the police department learns that Malloy will be inheriting a large amount of money and he is let go. This is such a despicable situation, Malloy and Brandt continue with their plan, in hopes of finding Livingston's daughter and returning her to security of her home. Grace is found, but also found is the body of Milo Pendergast, who has been luring these girls into degrading physical abuse. Soon the body of Andy, Pendergast's servant is also found. Brandt and Malloy aren't sure who is responsible for the deaths of Pendergast and Andy, but are going to pursue the investigation until they learn the identity. Due to the subject matter, I would classify it as a darker cozy. This sensitive subject is handle with compassion and it is skillfully handled with out going to great detail. Now that the case is handled, maybe Brandt and Malloy will be able to move on with their personal lives. Will definitely be watching for the next book.
Lindamysteries More than 1 year ago
Luring young women with a promise of romance is not new. Lonely Hearts newspaper columns conned women into disaster. Can Frank and Sarah help them?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spoiler alert for the review posted by KRingelCA
KRingelCA More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next one. I hope Sarah can continue her work after she's married.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ME-Mom More than 1 year ago
I think it would help to have read the preceding books in the series to appreciate what happens in this one. The story is a combination of nasty and nice. Nice includes the advancing relationship between Frank and Sarah and their families; nasty involves the cruelty and degradation endured by the kidnapped women.