×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Murder on the Rocks (Mack's Bar Series #1)
     

Murder on the Rocks (Mack's Bar Series #1)

4.6 37
by Allyson K. Abbott
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mack's Bar is one of those nice, friendly places where everybody knows your name. That's great when someone's buying you a round, but not so hot when you find yourself atop a list of murder suspects--with your fingerprints on the bloody knife!

Mackenzie "Mack" Dalton is a Milwaukee bar owner with a nose for trouble--literally. A neurological glitch has left her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Murder on the Rocks 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. Good characters and fast reading. Can't wait for the next one. I will be buying that one too.
52chickadees More than 1 year ago
“Drinks, Deception and Demise” In this first of a new series, we travel to Milwaukee and are introduced to Mackenzie “Little Mack” Dalton, who was raised in, and has inherited “Mack’s Bar” from her late Father, “Big Mack”. “Mack’s Bar” is a cozy neighborhood gathering place that has its own long list of regulars. “Little Mack” is still reeling from her beloved Father’s unsolved murder, which occurred 10 months ago, when she is thrown “Into the lion’s den” once more as she discovers a lifeless body out by her building’s dumpster! The discovery is compounded by the fact that it is found in almost the same area where her Father’s bullet-torn body was found. The shock has stirred up Mack’s neurological disorder, Synesthesia”, that she has battled since birth, and was a result of her late Mother’s fatal car accident. It is a condition that affects the senses—for examplr, Mack tastes or sees sounds, hears or feels smells, and tastes or feels things she sees. Will this be a help or a hinderance to the case? Especially to hunky Detective Duncan Albright, who goes undercover to try to solve the puzzlement, and makes “In-roads” on more than just the murder. When the deceased is identified as Realtor /Big Mack’s girlfriend Ginny Rifkin, accusatory fingers fly in all different directions—some toward names on her client’s list and even one long finger pointing in Mack’s direction with jealousy and mistrust as motives. Why would anyone want to kill Ginny? Moreover, who would want likable, all-around good guy “Big Mack” dead? Could these two murders be linked in some way—maybe in a way “Little Mack “ isn’t even aware of? Should she be worried about her own safety as well as keeping the bar going on a fraying shoestring? What an intriguing character the Author has created! I’m looking forward to more stories centered around “Mack’s Bar”. The Author has also included some of “Little Mack’s” signature drink recipes and snippets from the Mattie Winston Murder Mystery series, of which you’ll enjoy and crave for more as well. This new series is one I will keep an eye out for—and I bet you cozy lovers will too! Nancy Narma
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a fun fast paced read. The characters were developed & I liked the twists & turns along the way.
mysteriesformeCA More than 1 year ago
The first in a new series, great writing and wonderful cast of characters, especially Cora, the regular at the bar always on the lookout for a man. Funny, good mystery. Hope we see a lot more in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyed this very much. figured out guilty one early but that did not take away from my enjoyment of reading it. look forward to a follow up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In all.honesty, I hadn't intended on reading this one when it first came out, there are so many cozys and only so much time. But I picked it up on sale, and boy am I glad I did or I would have missed out!!  Great first in series with charming characters, Will definitely be reading the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book, good pace and character detail. Would like to read more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good characterizations. Good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this one down. It was a fast moving story and I couldn't wait to see how it would end.
whatKreads More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of this book!!! Definitely one of the best cozy mysteries I've read in awhile. The mystery caught my attention right away. There were quite a few suspects to work through and even though I pegged the culprit fairly early on, it still didn't take anything away from the remainder of the story. Mack is a fantastic protagonist!!! She is smart, snarky, incredibly likeable and her neurological condition was extremely interesting to read about. Before this book, I was unfamiliar with synesthesia, but have enjoyed looking up more info on it. Very interesting that several musicians and well known people have the same diagnoses. I think that it puts a fun, unusual twist on a mystery and really I loved how Mack used it to help the investigation out. The cast of supporting characters really made this a fun read too. The local bar patrons are a great assortment of quirky people. Then there is Duncan. I love Duncan and there is no denying the chemistry that radiates between him and Mack. I love how the author set up future books by making the bar a relaxing hangout for cops and using Mack as a special consultant. The author did a great job of making the scenes continuously flow. Looking forward to starting book number two!
whatKreads More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of this book!!! Definitely one of the best cozy mysteries I've read in awhile. The mystery caught my attention right away. There were quite a few suspects to work through and even though I pegged the culprit fairly early on, it still didn't take anything away from the remainder of the story. Mack is a fantastic protagonist!!! She is smart, snarky, incredibly likeable and her neurological condition was extremely interesting to read about. Before this book, I was unfamiliar with synesthesia, but have enjoyed looking up more info on it. Very interesting that several musicians and well known people have the same diagnoses. I think that it puts a fun, unusual twist on a mystery and really I loved how Mack used it to help the investigation out. The cast of supporting characters really made this a fun read too. The local bar patrons are a great assortment of quirky people. Then there is Duncan. I love Duncan and there is no denying the chemistry that radiates between him and Mack. I love how the author set up future books by making the bar a relaxing hangout for cops and using Mack as a special consultant. The author did a great job of making the scenes continuously flow. Looking forward to starting book number two!
Kelli2 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The story made you feel like you were actually there at the bar. I really liked the characters. Mack's special ability added something different to the story. Great mystery and I was guessing who did it to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Allyson Abbott is a new writer for me. Her story drew me in from the first page. Her characters were well developed and kept you guessing until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great rainy day read. A "cozy" murder mystery with a cocktail of Al Capone and quirky quirk stirred in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just did not care enough about the characters. Too predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
naher More than 1 year ago
A Milwaukee bar is the place where a lot takes place. If you know your drinks or would like to learn new ones, this one has that too. You will find it a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, it didn't go the way I expected to. but that is what makes a good mystery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago