×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow Series #1)
     

Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow Series #1)

4.1 87
by Donna Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

Three Weddings...And a Murder

So far Meg Langslow's summer is not going swimmingly. Down in her small Virginia hometown, she's maid of honor at the nuptials of three loved ones--each of whom has dumped the planning in her capable hands. One bride is set on including a Native American herbal purification ceremony, while another wants live peacocks on the lawn.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
SFL More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters and the author's way of writing. A very pleasant read from cover to cover. My only complaint is that the second in the series is not available for Nook. In fact I think the next available book in the series for Nook is about book 8 or 10. So disappointing to get started in a series only to find you either have to wait until they come out on Nook, which should have been established already, or read them in paperback version. This defeats the purpose of having a Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the first six Meg Langslow novels so far. Excellent. Now I am on a reading binge throughthe rest if them. All women authors apparently must be compared to the Evanovitch Standard. Sorry, Stephanie Plum is a klutzy flake who loses handcuffs and misplaces bullets - repeatedly - and never learns. She survives because her mystery man, the bounty hunter answer to James Bond x Daddy Warbucks, has trouble keeping his eyes, hands, and other body parts off her. Meg Langslow is a smart, capable, foxy lady who holds her own as a protagonist. She brings fun and excitement to the woman detective genre. Maybe it is time for a new standard. Ladies, it may be nice to think about being 38-24-38; some of us male chavinist porkers have our own gender specific version of the dream But PLEASE think about protagonists whose IQs are equal to the sum of those measurements, like Meg, Nicki Heat, V.I. Warshawski, et alia; not their average.
BNreader56SC More than 1 year ago
First time I have read any of her books. I really enjoyed it. There is a cast of quirky characters that keep the humor flowing. This light reading and pure fun and escapism. Enjoy
jmoon74 More than 1 year ago
Really liked the story. Meg definatley has her hands full with her relatives and her friends. I can honestly say I did not want to put this book down.
melouria More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the dysfunctional and quirky characters and once the accidents and bodies began dropping the dark comedy was appreciated as well. I plan on reading more from this author.
Artistic_Fish More than 1 year ago
Gave me a whole new appreciation for peacocks! LOL Great characters, made me want to read the next one in the series immediately! Funny and intriguing page after page!
ElizabethPA More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading this kind of book when I am falling asleep at night. It is fun and quirky. The whole book was inviting and appealing but it held together as a story and I never lost interest in the outcome.
JulieOhio More than 1 year ago
The quirky characters and odd-ball antics were just fabulous and made me laugh out loud many times. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Happy dance. Loved it.
cjmaine More than 1 year ago
Love all her books, they are fun and keep you guessing till the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Favorite book of all time! Perfect plot!
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
This murder series is set on the coast of Virginia, and follows the cozy mystery format. The series centers on Meg Langslow, a blacksmith artist, who visits her family hometown for the summer to plan and coordinate three weddings. The whole town seems to be related to Meg's family and the various characters provide much comic release. Meg's father is a retired doctor who loves gardening and his ex-wife. Meg's mother prepares for her wedding to a recent widower, and this will be the final of the three summer weddings. Not to spoil the story, the weddings do not go smoothly. After just reading the latest Elizabeth George, this novel provided laughter and very speedy reading, but no character vividly remains etched in my memory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holy crap I wish my life was like Meg's. This is a fantastic book (and series) that kept me laughing the entire time. Murder with Peacocks is the beginning to a fantasic series of mystery, crazy family, and overall insanity. A must read for any mystery enthusiast!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kathleen Mann More than 1 year ago
Loved the irony!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moshie More than 1 year ago
Nice and light mystery in the same line as the Nancy Drew series. Nice for a rainy afternoon read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago