×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding
  • Alternative view 1 of My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding
  • Alternative view 2 of My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding
     

My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding

3.6 104
by P. N. Elrod, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Charlaine Harris, L. A. Banks, Jim Butcher
 

See All Formats & Editions

Werewolves, vampires, witches, voodoo, Elvis---and weddings

An "ordinary" wedding can get crazy enough, so can you imagine what happens when otherworldly creatures are involved? Nine of the hottest authors of paranormal fiction answer that question in this delightful collection of supernatural wedding stories. What's the seating plan when rival clans of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 104 reviews.
MrsBirdman More than 1 year ago
I picked this up to read in between releases by some of my favorite authors I liked the variety of stories and it was cool to get some little side stories about characters from these author's main series. A good group of short, fun(funny) stories.I'd recommend to anyone who has either dealt with a wedding/bride/groom and needs a laugh.
EmTeeS More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book mostly because a few of the authors listed--Jim Butcher, Lori Handeland, Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon--are well-known. I was a little reluctant, only because with a title including the word "weddings" I was expecting a lot of romantic fluff. Nothing wrong with that, but not my thing. Instead, I was surprised to find a light, funny, and very creative collection ruminating on all the problems, mishaps and outright disasters associated with weddings even before the supernatural gets involved. Only a few of the stories feature brides and grooms as the main characters; most revolve around the antics of the bridesmaids, best men, caterers, guests and random interlopers, all of whom get into plenty of trouble and most of whom find romance at the end, if rarely with the person you would expect. The best stories in the group are LA Banks' Spellbound, about a couple desperate to marry despite their voodoo-practicings, feuding families; Rachel Caine's Dead Man's Chest, a Pirates of the Carribean-style high-seas adventure; and Esther M Friesner's The Wedding of Wylda Serene, an upper-class comedy of manners that only gets its supernatural twist in the ends. More so than any other paranormal/urban fantasy collection out there, this book features a huge range of styles, plots and mythical and supernatural creatures.
-Katerina- More than 1 year ago
I stumbled upon this while looking for more from my favorite author Charlaine Harris - what I stumbled upon was a great book that made me laugh. The different scenarios are funny and the different takes on supernatural weddings is nice. I especially liked "Dead Man's Chest" by Rachel Cane, "Tacky" by Charlaine Harris an "The Wedding of Wylda Serene" by Esther M. Friesner. You get pirates, magicians, vampires, werewolves + the craziness that goes along with a lot of weddings even without supernatural forces. Hope others find it as funny as I did it was definately worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When you don't like one story in an anthology, you can just skip to the next. However, in this one, you won't want to miss a word anywhere! There's vampires, werewolves, Elvis, pirates, Greek gods and so much more. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of each and every story. P.N. Elrod has pulled together a 'spook-tacular' variety of stories from some of the top paranormal authors (including herself). It's very hard to pick a favorite, but I think I have to go with Rachel Caine's 'Dead Man's Chest' - ARRRRGH, that's some fine story-tellin', matey! Elrod's own 'All Shook Up' isn't far behind (and I'm not an Elvis fan). But how can I forget the unique and funny 'The Wedding of Wylda Serene' by Esther M. Friesner? There's also well done tales by L.A. Banks, Jim Butcher, Lori Handeland, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Susan Krinard. Although some of the stories are based in the writer's popular 'universes,' I had no trouble following any of the stories even when I wasn't familiar with the settings. In fact, I was so intrigued, I'll be placing their books on my 'must read' list. I'm really missing out on some good ones... Bravo! I wish all anthologies were this well done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i loved all the stories in this book!!!!! it was an easy read and other peaple can relate to some of the stories as well...... all in all great book to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was an easy read, humerous and so much fun. I bought it because I'm a huge Charlaine Harris fan but the other authors in the book have now piqued my interest. I truly recommend this book.
harstan More than 1 year ago
These nine short stories are amusing romantic fantasies that lampoons the sub-genre with chaotic weddings from hell. Star crossed lovers, wizards and enchantresses, vampires, ghosts, shapeshifters are either part of the wedding party or friends of the bride or groom. There is no telling who might show up as this anthology takes a lighthearted approach to nuptials amidst the paranormal. Sub-genre fans will appreciate this fun collection in which nothing is sacred. Accept the invitation to the weddings of the millennium, but don¿t complain about the seating as there is no telling what species from beyond will be at your table. This is a humorous compilation written by top authors worth reading by sub-genre fans.---------- Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nine bestselling authors come together and blend their talents to create a magical brew just for you, the reader. This novel is a collection of nine short stories. They are perfect for October reading, of course. The titles and authors are as follows: ........... 1)Spellbound by L.A. Banks == 2)Something Borrowed by Jim Butcher == 3)Dead Man's Chest by Rachel Cain == 4)All Shook Up by P. N. Elrod == 5)The Wedding of Wylda Serene by Esther M. Friesner == 6)Cursed by the Moon by Lori Handeland == 7)Tacky by Charlaine Harris == 8)A Hard Day's Night Searcher by Sherrilyn Kenyon == 9)...Or Forever Hold Your Peace by Susan Krinard == ................ **** This book has something for everyone, be it voodoo, shapeshifters, curses, magic, vampires, or even Greek mythology. And that is only a sample of the things found within these pages. I found myself laughing at parts, as well as, sitting on the edge of my seat during some very suspense filled moments. Wonderful Autumn reading! ****
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago