×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Cat Spit McGee
     

My Cat Spit McGee

4.4 17
by Willie Morris
 

See All Formats & Editions

With endearing humor and unabashed compassion, Willie Morris—a self-declared dog man and author of the classic paean to canine kind, My Dog Skip—reveals the irresistible story of his unlikely friendship with a cat. Forced to confront a lifetime of kitty-phobia when he marries a cat woman, Willie discovers that Spit McGee, a feisty kitten with one

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Cat Spit McGee 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
petecrn More than 1 year ago
Just a fast comment here. I really liked this little book. It follows a confirmed dog man's journey into the wonderful adventure that comes from having a special cat in your life. Spit is a great cat of course. Just like many cats sitting in shelters now awaiting a forever home. A great book for confirmed cat lovers, and, those who for whatever reason, have chosen to stay away from these enriching, loving, partners on this planet. As fall approaches I say get this book and sit reading as cold nights fall, hopefully with a cat in your lap.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Spit McGee changes an all-time dog-lover-cat-hater into a dog-lover-cat-lover.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful book! I highly recommend it for all animal lovers and potential animal lovers. It is a wonderful story about how a man did a complete turn about for love. This is a warm and affectionate story. So cuddle up with your little bundle of fur and settle in for a wonderful, transforming read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A former Cat Hater myself, this book is delightful and a real page-turner. I read it in 4 hours and it reminded me of my old cats!
Anonymous 11 months ago
He walks in. (Whats our relationship.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Made me laugh and cry A die hard dog person learns to respect a cat. Who is in charge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rogue: Hey! *Chases a cream spot on the end of her tail.* Storm: Hello. *Licks her paw delicately.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very old shecat with orange, chestnut, mahogany, and black swirled long fur pads in. She is a Lynx Birman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book very much. The reader is lead to believe that we're going to learn about how a avowed "dog man" learns to love a cat over time, but there's no transition whatsoever. He just goes from disliking cats because they aren't dogs, to loving cats. Although I will admit that the circumstance of his first experience with the title character is quite touching. But then, he goes quite rapidly to the other extreme, to having multiple cats, 9 altogether, as a result of never getting any of them spayed or neutered. The book is just not very well-written. He tries to write in a very matter-of-fact way, but his choices of words and references are quite pretentious, choosing little-used, archaic adjectives and nouns, when plain and simple ones would have worked much better. He also vacillates in references to his wife, usually calling her "The Cat Woman" and only rarely by her name Joanne or by "my wife." What's more his obsession with naming all of his cats for deceased relatives, complete with first and last names, which he almost always uses to reference them, is a bit much. Besides, encouraging breeding, he lets them roam free outside, in spite of the fact that sometimes they disappear for days on end, and Spit is even injured at one point. What's more, he seems to have not a clue with how the other cats will take to newcomers. As a result, some of the his cats just disappear because they are not getting the love they once got, since there's so less of it go around with 9 cats in the household. He claims to love these cats, but has little regard for what his actions do to these animals emotionally. Even in his reminiscences about his childhood dog, Skip, he relates that Skip also was allowed to roam about outside unleashed and he also disappeared for days on end. Has this man learned nothing about responsible pet-ownership? He also mentions that he wishes Spit could have been a father. As far as I know, male cats have nothing to do with their offspring after they've mated, except maybe to harm or kill them in some cases. And how does he know Spit didn't impregnate a female cat somewhere out there? It's not like Spit would have shown any evidence of it. Morris is forever giving human emotions and attributes to his cat, but any experienced cat lover knows that in spite of all the pleasure they provide us, cats are not really thinking much about what's on your mind. Chapter 10, the second to last chapter in which he dragged this poor cat on a leash all over the state of Mississippi to share his old haunts with the animal, is just so self-indulgent, maudlin and seemed endless, although it was only 26 pages. It was a chore to finish this book and had it not been such a short one of 141 pages, I probably wouldn't have bothered.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her fur bristled slifhtly. Its grayce to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Otis looked around and licked the grass. <br> Rikku padded around and looked for somebody to pet her. <br> Zan-Zan hid and slept.