×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My First Five Husbands...and the Ones Who Got Away
     

My First Five Husbands...and the Ones Who Got Away

4.2 34
by Rue McClanahan
 

See All Formats & Editions

“This book is about men I have known, in both the Platonic and Biblical senses. Some I knew only slightly, some quite well. Some I’ll love always, some I no longer like very much, and there are a few I’d like to strip naked, tie to a Maypole, smear with sweet syrup near a beehive, then stand back and watch. I’ll describe a goodly number of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My First Five Husbands...and the Ones Who Got Away 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a HUGE fan of the Golden Girls, I was very excited to hear about this book and went out and bought it right away. I went to the autograph signing and met her and she was just the sweetest lady. But during the Q & A portion, she mentions that while she loved playing Blanche Devereaux on TV, one of the reasons she wrote this book was so that people could get to know the real Rue and not just see her as 'Blanche.' Reading this book does just that: it is a comical, witty take on her life from birth to present day and keeps you at the edge of your seat with her 'don't-leave-me-hanging-like-that!' chapter endings. You feel like you are just hanging out with an old friend you haven't seen in a while and catching up on old times. She tells of her childhood, growing up in OK, her struggles to make it in Hollywood with and without her son, and the many men she 'fell in love with' before she met her true soulmate. It's a very heart-warming, comforting book that makes me no longer see her as 'Blanche' but as Rue McClanahan.
jeff092981 More than 1 year ago
I laughed I cried and took it in slowly so not to finish in a hurry Rue has lived and struggled and then came the "Golden Girls".
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of the Golden Girls since I was 13 and I was so excited to read about the real Blanche's life. She's a hoot. Rue is not exactly like Blanche, nor is she a 'slut' like the character, but Rue never lacked attention and affection of men. And there's nothing wrong with that. She is a beautiful woman and always has been. She seems like a truly wonderful person, and she has had an eventful life. Love you Rue!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finsished reading this book and would recommend it to anyone that is a fan of Rue or not! This one captured me at the start and kept me until the end. Kudos to Rue and her determination.
DivineMsMReader More than 1 year ago
Quick and fun read if you like Rue & the Golden Girls. Not challenging and not deep...perfect fun though!
Reviewqueen More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of celebrity autobiographies, mostly because I'm amused at how into themselves they can be. Rue masks her centric-focus, but it still spills forth, especially when her son is having rabie shots and she doesn't run to his side. Really! Overall, a candid look at the celebrity and the famous and not-so-famous people in her life. She tries not to reveal her dislike for certain directors and actors by excusing their behavior, but her dislike is evident. If you like autobiographies that are, if nothing else, honest - this will work for you.
Cozeck More than 1 year ago
A great read with lots of personal information about the life and loves of Rue McClanahan. There are so many little interesting stories and tid-bit's that grab your attention and keep you reading. This book left me wanting more from Rue. I would love to see an update or part two of what has happened in her life since she completed this book. Rue is not only an A++++ actress but a skillful writer as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rue was a great lady, whom I, unfortunately, never had the opportunity to know. This book is a great read for any Rue or Golden Girls fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Very entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
yellowroseNC More than 1 year ago
Its a delight to give my "take" on this book; I read slowly as not to get finished too quick and have to say goodbye once again to Ms Rue. I laughed, and even cried, but enjoyed the book to the very end. Its so refreshing to read an autobiography of someone who can be honest..a bit irreverent..and funny all at the same time. The book gave me insight on how Rue/Blanche became one. Loved it!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago