×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Formerly Hot Life: Dispatches from Just the Other Side of Young
     

My Formerly Hot Life: Dispatches from Just the Other Side of Young

3.7 33
by Stephanie Dolgoff
 

See All Formats & Editions

When men stop making lecherous catcalls and Spanx get comfortable in your lingerie drawer, when marketers target you for Activia instead of $200 premium denim, when you have to start wearing makeup to get that “I’m not wearing any makeup” glow and are “ma’amed” outside the Deep South, it may dawn on you that somehow you have crossed

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Formerly Hot Life: Dispatches from Just the Other Side of Young 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
KellyAlmost40 More than 1 year ago
Who felt like I wasn't going through a "crisis" per se but a little bump in the road as I approached 40. This book made me realize that, alas, I am not alone! Whew! What a relief! Seriously, this book made me laugh out loud with stories I can definitely relate to. The author is spot-on with how "Formerlies" are feeling and gives the reader a humorous point of view. This is much needed for those of us who are starting to feel our age (or at least close to our age). I recommended this book to all my girlfriends. You WILL NOT be dissapointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. Stephanie Dolgoff is the fun, self-deprecating, intelligent, and witty friend we all hope to have - I felt this just a few pages in. So many parts of this book resonated with me, a 44-year old mom who can laugh at herself but also kind-of-sort-of wouldn't mind having that immediately apparent youthful glow, stamina, freedom, and general appeal like in the "olden days." I get what she's saying. It's not that we're whining about it. We're simply reflecting in a harmless cultural anthropological way. Is that so wrong? I've recommended the book to all my friends, most of whom discuss these very issues and think the same thoughts - but haven't articulated them quite in the same compelling, clever way the author has. She's a teriffic, seasoned writer and I look forward to reading more of her work.
theschwartzspot More than 1 year ago
Dolgoff is one terrific writer with unique, thought provoking and original insights. I love how her prose sizzles and crackles, and she confronts important and sometimes uncomfortable issues with ease and wit. I don't always completely agree with Dolgoff's "formerly" premise -- I prefer to recall the insistence of my adorable Aunt Doris, who likes to say that the best years for a woman are when she's in her 60s. (My Aunt Doris by the way is now a vibrant 82.) So who's right, Dolgoff or Doris? Or does it matter anyway? Sometimes it's the dialogue that counts! And Dolgoff delivers this in a big way, with chapter after chapter that makes a woman look at her friends, marriage, career, and kids in novel and compelling ways. Plus she makes it fun on top of that! So, how great is that! All I can say: So Stephanie, when is the sequel?
rainmerlot More than 1 year ago
Stephanie Dolgoff coined the phrase "Formerly Hot" and uses it on her website and in her new book "Formerly Hot, Dispatches from Just the Other Side of Young", and has shown women (and some men) that we are all going through the same thing when we hit our 40's. We're not 25 anymore and we're being slapped in the face with it in little ways that all add up to one big laugh out loud read. Stephanie deals with the loss of certain things about her life, all the while keeping her sense of humor and by not taking herself too seriously. We should all take these life lessons from her. As "heartbreaking" as it is when you realize you can no longer wear a strapless bra, Stephanie realizes that being a Formerly is not so bad when know you don't need to drink yourself under the table and go to work with a hangover the next day to be cool. Stephanie finds the bright side to being "just" the other side of young and you'll laugh when you realize you've felt or done the exact same thing, which is when you realize that you really are a Formerly. If you're close to or over 40, you'll be amazed at how much this will book parallel your life or at least your thoughts about getting older. Read it, have a good cry, then laugh and just embrace your Formerly.
jamie_sommers More than 1 year ago
It is so wonderful to find someone who writes exactly how you think! I have a feeling Stephanie Dolgoff is used to hearing this. There is not one person I know between the ages of 35 and death who have not felt and experienced most of the things she writes about in this book. The fun part is she helps us laugh about it and feel like we're not alone. I was never a guy magnet in my 20s. Unlike Stephanie Dolgoff, I was never asked the time for any other reason other than guys wanted the time :( I was attractive enough and even at times beautiful, but not in the Sex in the City way that gets you a night out without having to pay for a single drink. I actually get much more attention today as a 43 yr old mother of 3 than I EVER got in my 20s. I attribute that to knowing myself and being ridiculously confident (something I NEVER was) and all of those other things related to being a 'Formerly' that Stephanie talks about in this book. Even though I am far happier with myself now than I ever was when I belonged to that ever so desirable 19-35 demographic, I still went through all of those painful, slow motion at times, "bxxch-slap" realizations that I was no longer the age I felt I was. You know, when you realize that all of the hot new actors (the ones that you respect and can actually act) being touted as the next Pacino or Meryl, could actually be your CHILDREN!!! - NO!!!....yes...sigh. Well, thank you Ms. Dolgoff, for saying it and for helping me laugh about it and for still looking pretty darn hot as a formerly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mediocre. I thought it would be more insightful and longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chris Waychunas More than 1 year ago
Not worth it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Manda2713 More than 1 year ago
It was ok I guess. I am around the same age and have some of the same emotions. But this book just came off as whining. Yes she was formerly hot, now she is old. We get it. Read the sample and then move on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rob_Ballister More than 1 year ago
Stephanie Dolgoff's MY FORMERLY HOT LIFE: DISPATCHES FROM JUST THE OTHER SIDE OF YOUNG is an enjoyable read for either men or women in their late thirties and early forties. While women may be able to relate a bit more to the specifics of what Dolgoff writes about, many men will also recognize the value of the author's message, best summed up by "You are getting older; it's ok. You are still you." The book is not laugh-out loud funny. It is more a mix of genuine emotion and irreverent personal reflection, but Dolgoff does a wonderful job of blending both so that the emotion is heartfelt and the humor doesn't feel forced. There's occasional profanity, but overall the book is entertaining and well written, with a good mix of long and short chapters mixed up so that there is always a decent breaking point. Guys, your wives and girlfriends will enjoy this if they are in the target age group. And when they are done, pick it up and give it a whirl.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Roc572 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It is a hilarious and honest take on this stage of my life. The author cleverly articulates and captures what so many of my friends and I are talking about and rather than feeling badly that I am no longer young I ended up feeling powerful and optimistic. I have already bought two more as gifts for my friends.