×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Ishmael
     

My Ishmael

4.7 31
by Daniel Quinn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the Turner Tomorrow Fellowship, Daniel Quinn's Ishmael is a bestseller and a testament for a burgeoning spiritual movement.  Now Quinn presents an extraordinary sequel, a companion novel so startlingly original that even Ishmael's most faithful readers will not predict its outcome....

When Ishmael places an advertisement for pupils

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Ishmael: A Sequel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The most boring book i have ever read in my life! It takes forever for the exicetment to start, and half the time julie is just sitting around talking to ishmael in his little office. If i could i would'nt give it any stars at all but you need to give it at least one star. All of the other reviews made the book sound like it's so great, but i warn you, it's not. If you are thinking about reading this, don't. You will want to put the book down and never finish it. Sadly, i was reading it for school so i had to finish it. I love reading but there are just some books (like this one) that I just hate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just...really good. That's all, it's really good. 
Mayberrytree More than 1 year ago
A great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for english and it was by far the most confusing book ever. But thats just my opinion. It took me a while to fully understand it, but toward the end it all came together and made a little more since. I havent read the first book and i dont know if reading that will make the second book a little easier to understand but you just have to read carefully. Also if you think about it, ishmael is daniel quinn and julie plays us in a way. Her questions are similar to questions we would ask. Daniel quinn also uses weird tribe names like the awks bawks and cawks (a,b,c) its very creative though. Anf a very good view changing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hardly had I finished reading Ishmael that I badly craved the sequel - which turned out to be greater and more accomplished. Naturally, I can't say I would have reached the same level of enthrallment had I not read Ishmael. This time, through the mind of an adolescent, the world IS fathomable and redeemable. I'm recommending the book to everyone I know, as I've never done before!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book brings Daniel's message into a new light. Taken from a young girls view it gives us hope for the future, as well as answering those questions that have been plagueing human kind for a long time. Why do I feel so disconnected, unhappy and bored with life? Why do I yearn to just walk away from it all? Read this book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this new book, Quinn explores the ideas in ISHMAEL through a child's eyes, helping to explain much of the behavior we see in kids today without demonizing it. Compassionate and original, it presents important ideas in a way I havn't seen done before. Read it---then pass it on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My Ishmael is a logical, unique, (and correct!?!) understanding of the social ills that plague the western world. A great read, mostly because it doesn't patronize the reader with easy answers, but instead reveals the problem so the reader can hopefully be inspired to apply themselves to this paradigm. Worthy reading for visionaries!