×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Louisiana Sky
     

My Louisiana Sky

4.6 69
by Kimberly Willis Holt
 

See All Formats & Editions

My Louisiana Sky is a 1998 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award Honor Book for Fiction.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Louisiana Sky 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My Louisiana Sky is a book about a tomboy named Tigar. She lives with her parents and her grandma. Her parents are mentally slow. So Tigar's grandma lives with them. She gets teased about her parents a lot at school. Sometimes she wishes her parents were normal. Her grandma is very strict and she doesn't mess around. Her mom is playful and doesn't do a lot around the house. Her dad works at Mr. Thompson's plant nursery and he's only home at night. They are very close to each other. Tigar does chores with her grandma and likes to play baseball. Tigar wants to fit in with the other girls at school. She can't because they don't have a lot of money and because of her mom and dad. Tigar hangs out with boys most of the time. One of the boys Jesse wanted to be more then friends. So he kissed her but, she didn't want to be more then friends. That ruined the friendship. In the middle of all of this Tigar's grandma dies of a heart attack, because she saw a snake in her garden. Then her aunt comes to town to help with the funeral. While she's there she asks Tigar to come live with her. Tigar goes down to her aunt's house for a week to how she would like it. She is faced with a decision that will change her life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eariler in 4th grade this year and I could imagine the book like it was a movie.They need to make a movie if not I need to see the movie so I just got it on my nook.AND WHOEVER SAID IT WAS BORING IF YOU don't like realistic fiction dont get the book.I think it's an awesome book.Read it if you don't belive me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg this is so good so far
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is about a girl that has a hard life. It is recommended from any one from 9 to 99. I have been forced to read many books in my life and this one was probably the most heart warming I have ever read. I liked it because I love reading stories about people and their life. It is good for teenagers because it shows them that nobodys life is perfect and they are very fortunate to have parents like they have. Also it is a good book for any adult to read because they can just sit back and relax while reading it. So everybody out there go to your local library and check this book out today. You'll love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The role of parent and child were reversed at one point in this unusual story. I really enjoyed it and was proud of the child's role. She was brought up with love and compassion which helped her cope with her situation, under adverse circumstances.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My lousiana sky is the most greatist book ever it's very sad but i like it alot it's a book that takes you some where that you'll always want too be there it the most greatist book i ever read in my life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was a great read but it was kind of sad also. I recommend this book to whomever is into books that can be true and likes to read about older times. I loved to read My Louisana Sky so much I read it in about two days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this as a child in fourth grade, and now entering into 10, I am still in love with this book. It was a story i will never forget of a girl who was strong, and a family that had more love in it than anyone could imagine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My Lousiana Sky is sad, but great!!! It's great for girls of all ages!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read this book four times and I loved it each time. This is a great book and the author did a wonderful job. I could realy relate to Tiger in many ways.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Authors Name: Kimberly Willis Holt Title ¿ My Louisiana Sky Genre- Fiction Tiger¿s mother is different, she plays hide and seek with the children on Sundays and acts like she is younger then Tiger. Tiger is confused because she doesn¿t understand why the other girls laugh when her mother is around. ¿Why is my mother different?¿ She always wonders. Tiger Ann is a very independent girl. She has a mother who is physically grown up but mentally she acts like she is six years old. She has a father who is mentally retarded. I liked this book because it seemed like the author of the book actually lived in Tiger Ann¿s shoes. For example, when Tiger was in Baton Rouge the author writes it as if she was actually in Baton Rouge walking down the street with her. While I read this book I made connections to the outside world. When Tiger¿s Granny died it reminded me of the time when Princess Diana died. I made that connection because Granny¿s death occurred so fast no one could help it and almost the same thing happened when Diana died. When Granny died, Tiger didn¿t know how to deal with the death of her grandmother. I think it was the same with Princess Diana¿s death. From the beginning of this book I used two main strategies. The first one was visualizing. This strategy helped me get the big picture about the story. Visualizing also helped me understand the book better.. Another strategy I used was asking questions. To answer some questions I had to make inferences if I could not find the answer in the text. The other questions I was able to find the answer directly from the text. Those are the two strategies I used, while reading the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My Louisana Sky is a great book. Tiger Ann Parker is a pre-teen with 'slow' parents. That live in a rural area in Louisiana called Saitter. She deeply loves her parents and would do anything for them. As she enters middle school her peers look down on her and make fun of her because of her parents. While the children are making fun of her, their parents are baffeled about how Tiger managed to win the spelling bee 5 years in a row and how she has straight A's, they don't know where she gets it. She has the usual girl teenager problems with boys, even though she is living in the 1950's. She is a tomboy but thrives for the attention of the popular girls. Her grandmother is the one she goes to for help and when suddenly her grandmother, the backbone of the family the one who runs the house-hold entirely, has a heart attack, she is lost and confused. Her fancy, sophisticated Aunt Dorie Kay from Baton Rouge comes to the rescue and gives Tiger the chance to live with her in Baton Rouge. After Tiger gets to Baton Rouge she has a few changes made and gets her hair cut so that she looks like Audrey Hepburn and she goes shopping with her aunt for more sophisticated clothes. While living the life of her dreams as just Ann Parker she can't help wondering why her mother can't be like her Aunt Doreen.After she discovers some secrets she realizes how important her family really is to her. She is willing to take the bantering to live with her real parents that deeply love her and care for her. This book is entertaining and at times tear jerking.
toniFMAMTC More than 1 year ago
This story is told from the point of view of a girl with two mentally handicapped parents. It’s very touching, sincere and sweet. It makes the reader take time to think about the important things in life. My Louisiana Sky is probably best geared toward a middle grade audience but is great for all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book that teaches many lessons!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can somebody pls tell me if a girl who likes realistic fiction and kinda historical and hates fantasy would like this book? Looks good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This vook is about tiger who has parents who everyon calls retarted but she perfers slow tiger loves to playbaseball and gets strait a's wich leaves the other parents scratching there heads with the odds i have people think i should be dummer then a box Of nails tiger her aunt gives her an opertunity to live a better life tiger soon has to decide whats more inportant to her family or a life with no worries a moving book great for a mother and daughter to read together
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The movie is really inaproriate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing it was very upsetting that her grandmother died and i got real mad when it was the end of the book i wish she made this a series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book in 3rd grade and since then i've read it at least 20 times! I'm 22 now and i still enjoy rereading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book