×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Own Worst Frenemy
     

My Own Worst Frenemy

3.7 19
by Kimberly Reid
 

See All Formats & Editions

Straight outta the Mile High City, Chanti Evans is an undercover cop's daughter and an exclusive private school's newest student. But Chanti is learning fast that when it comes to con games, the streets have nothing on Langdon Prep.

With barely a foot in the door, fifteen-year-old Chanti gets on the bad side of school queen bee Lissa and snobbish Headmistress

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Own Worst Frenemy 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nancy Drew had nothing on Chanti Evans! "Frenemy" is a fast paced mystery set in a urban area and a smart, likeable teen protagonist who doesn't always make the best decisions. The main character was well developed, secondary characters need more development but I am guessing that we will find out more about them in future books in the series. Chanti is "above the influence", mentions of violence,drugs and teen drinking are part of the story but nothing is overly graphic. A discussion guide is included at the end. I would recommend this book to middle school and high school students.
Yatthelake More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book. I was attracted to the cover,but found the content even more attractive. It is full of suspense and captures readers of all ages and cultures. It is also funny and draws you into the book with incidents you can relate to. I can't wait to the next series is out.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I like these types of books. A good book of keeping your friends close and your enemies closer. What can I say that made me love this book? The plot. I love me a good book with a great plot. The plot in this book really took off from page one. A trouble teen getting shipped off to a new school? A teen with a mom who identity we must keep secret? And the frenemy we love to hate but we can't get enough of. I loved the flow of the book. The feeling that the reader gets when immersed of a world of money than what our main character Chanti is used too. Chanti grew up on the lower side of town and it is good to see Chanti point of view. I like that Chanti had to team up with her frenemy to clear her name. I snickered with the sarcastic comments and risking things. The plot line of the book is simply yet it works. Prejudice against the new girl, thinking she is the one stealing things. I loved the tension in the book between the characters. And the love interest, woohoo! Marco is an amazing guy. I loved how he flirted with Chanti and even helped her. He put himself out there to prove himself to her and he didn't do such a bad job. This is great book of mystery, change and cat fights. Mean girls galore! But it made the book much more fun to read. This is a great series with loads of potential for some major drama I am craving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This mystery solver's observation skills and insticts are so tight that it's got Nancy Drew shaking in her heels. When she's not trying to figure out mysteries or hanging with her crush Chantal is trying make sure that no one in her hood finds out that her mama is an undercover cop a.k.a a snitch. Since she isn't rich like all the kids at her new private school Chantal becomes the prime suspect in a string of robberies and the headmistress is deadset on throwing her out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good for a free book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main character is hilarious, but the mystery aspect was sorely lacking. You'd have to be dense not to figure it out quickly, as I did. Am about to start the 2nd book in the series to see if my complaint has been resolved !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is okay but it isn't even close to the Nancy Drew series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nancy Drew ain't got nothing on Chanti!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dis meh gurl from da otha side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Am gonna read the next books, maybe even pay for them. READ, READ, READ. Totally worth your time. Dis ow we do it on da southside. JK.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was just ok, not great, not moving. The first thing that put me off- the author obviously has never been to CO or even researched it. CO is not a desert and in fact does have grass. Adding a discussion guide to the end of a book does not make it epic, just trying to hard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed By~Molly Review Copy Provided By~Publisher You might think upon starting this book that Charlotte is all innocent and unassuming, but she really knows what she’s doing. It was loyal of her to think of her sisters and to put herself in a situation that could easily spell disaster. I liked that she was determined to “sell” herself – her innocence, her virtue, and her life, basically – just so her sisters could have a better life. It was sort of funny that the entire time she was on stage, being ogled by all these strangers, that she had a running diatribe in her mind of various things, like smiling, what she could do if she felt faint, the doubts she had of whether or not the curtains would hold her up – which she doubted. Morgan was awesome. He had a purpose and was trying to be all selfless and noble. Unfortunately, since Charlotte had other plans, his purpose was immediately thrown out the window. I loved how instead of being all crying and fitful, Charlotte takes charge and decides this is going to work, and doesn’t take no for an answer. In fact, that’s the one thing that runs throughout the entire book. Charlotte doesn’t take no for an answer. She is strong, she will do this, and you are going to do this with her. Period. Even when it turns out that there is a reason why Morgan hates his brother, Charlotte wants to help him figure out exactly what happened while he was gone. Also, it was a nice surprise that the author, Lynne Silver, lets the book take a turn into a mystery, suspense, and romance. It was a great book full of humor, romance, and mystery. My kind of book.