×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Russian Family
  • Alternative view 1 of My Russian Family
  • Alternative view 2 of My Russian Family
     

My Russian Family

4.9 14
by Lilia Sariecheva, Robert Osland (With)
 
This three generation family saga about nine family members, involves love, faith, fidelity, and psychic phenomena, as it flows through the mysterious world of Mother Russia. The original motive to preserving family stories, evolved over a six year writing period into My Russian Family.
�With a backdrop of world wars and revolutions, of famines and prosperity

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Russian Family 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This three generation family saga about nine family members, involves love, faith, fidelity, and physic phenomena, as it flow through the mysterious world of Mother Russia. Social, political, and historical events were included as a backdrop to this easy reading "people history" of Russia. The raw reality of life, without the filter of Cold War propaganda, is fascinating as Russian people lived and survived in their everyday life. These stories include Lilia's mother who was a daughter of nobility and Lilia's father who was a peasant that rose in the ranks to Red Army Intelligence and then to the KGB where he retired as a Lieutenant Colonel. There are new perspectives of Stalinism, Soviet Power, the Gulag Archipelago and the KGB, as well as a singular view of historical events, including World War II.
tuckm More than 1 year ago
A rare insider's account of growing up in Russia during the Communist regime. Less political than personal, the author has paid homage to her roots and preserved her family story for generations to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As someone who has not read a great deal about Russian history, it was very interesting to read about Lilia's family through the backdrop of the most important events of the 20th century. I especially enjoyed the stories of her family's life on the farm. The stories of everyday life and survival are very interesting. It was fascinating to learn how the Russian people lived and survived without the filter of Cold War propaganda. At the end of the day people are people and we all want the right to live our lives and make a better future for our children. This is an interesting read and I highly recommend it!
Shirley34 More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading My Russian Family. The blend of history, political climate and family stories made it a fascinating read and a true learning experience. I have grown in my understanding of the Russian people, their history and culture through Lilia and Robert's entertaining weaving of these elements. September 16, 2009 | Shirley34
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My Russian Family is a very interesting tour through a different culture. Dynamic stories of a people that we were suppose to hate. I found it enlightening and informative. My entire family has read and enjoyed this novel. I put this on anyone's must read list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written stories about daily life and customs of a Russian family, spanning three generations. The stories are set in a framework showing the impact of Russian history upon family life. The human condition, Russian style!!
BillGWG More than 1 year ago
"My Russian Family" is an amazing book that gave me a new understanding of the difficult conditions experienced by the average Russian during the reign of the Tsars and in Soviet Russia. Howard Zinn and others have tried to balance the mostly top down history that only chronicled the lives of the elite, with histories of everyday people. To my knowledge, this is the only time this approach has been used to examine recent Russian history. Lilia Sariecheva's stories, along with the historical detail that Robert Osland contributes, create a wide-ranging historical saga that reads as much like a novel as it does a serious historical text. We have been taught that Russians are somehow different from Americans, even though many Americans emigrated from Russia, and this book showed me the shared humanity that is in us all. I was engrossed in this book from start to finish and would recommend it to anyone who wants to really understand the Russian heart and mind. Bill G.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lilia Sariecheva, having grown up as the daughter of a KGB colonel and a mother whose family was not one of Stalinism's favorites, tells a gripping inside story of Russian life under strict 1930s Communism. Beginning with her family's history, she paints a vivid picture of the Russian people that is far deeper than what the media present. The media skim the top. This book gives depth. Since any understanding of Russia must include an understanding of its people, this book gives a rare insight by one of those people who, by chance, was reared in a family seriously affected by Stalinism. Yes, the book is occasionally repetitive but this only shows that the author is not a professional who might change text for readability. No, this book is only a description of the Russian people's life up to and including life under Stalin with all its warts included. Gripping!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lilia's family story is fascinating. Once you start reading this book, you can't put it down. I personally was especially interested in the psychic phenomena described in the book (and Lilia's Russian grandmother was a naturally gifted healer). Lilia tells even more amazing stories about psychic phenomena which happened in real life if you look at her website My Russian family, click on "Psychic Phenomena" link there. I know these stories are true. I've heard "The frozen dancer" story from another reliable source in Russia long before Lilia wrote about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Melinda C. Blair More than 1 year ago
this a five star book. this book is a wonderful true stoty. once you begin to read this story you will not want to put it down. so many interesting people in this extended family.....from long ago up until today. enjoy.
BobBir More than 1 year ago
A wonderful people history of Russia with amazingly true stories and superb editing. The second reading is almost better than the first time around. The psychic phenomena was intriguing and believable. This is a saga that can be enjoyed over and over again.