×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers Series #4)
     

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers Series #4)

4.4 213
by Rachel Vincent
 

See All Formats & Editions



Trying to work things out with Nash—her maybe boyfriend—is hard enough for Kaylee Cavanaugh. She can't just pretend nothing happened. But "complicated" doesn't even begin to describe their relationship when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school, determined to take Nash back.

See, Sabine isn't just an ordinary girl. She's a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers Series #4) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 213 reviews.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I have never been so pissed off while reading a book. Sometimes I get mad and then get over it. But after reading this book I was mad for days!! Kaylee is struggling with trust. Trust that has been broken takes time to be repaired, but not in Nash's case. Instead his ex-girlfriend comes in to town making it all to easy for him to fall into another arms. Kaylee is pressured with all kinds of circumstances and is now fighting for a guy. Let me just say I love Kaylee. She has always been such a great character that has grown immensely before my eyes. But in this book she is nothing but weak! Instead of putting her foot down and putting Nash in his place she always allows him to control her. She's already giving him a second chance and now he says he whats it this way and she does it! OMG! I was furious. Strong Kaylee is not so strong anymore. And don't get me started on Sabine and Tod! They are both are on my crap list. It is one thing to go after something you want but boy did she fight dirty. And Tod asked Kaylee to do something that I never thought he asked. How could he??? Does everyone want Kaylee to give up everything for everyone? What about her? Does anyone care to ask what she wants? Kaylee has done nothing but rescue everyone no matter the circumstances. Isn't it time someone rescue her? Ok, rant over. This book is one hundred percent so freaking awesome! If you have not read this series, you most definitely should. This is one series that you could not put down. EVER! With every new book, Ms.Vincent writes it even more exciting, more intensity, and much more fun. She knows exactly how to bring her characters to life with zeal and strength. I love every minute of reading it. But be forewarned it will take you on one emotional roller coaster!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book... :D definitly worth reading
kittydanza More than 1 year ago
MY SOUL TO STEAL, by Rachel Vincent, is definitely my favorite of the series so far. Each of these books steps up the action and danger and this one was no different. From the last book we left Kaylee and Nash broken up because of his addiction to the Netherworld drug, frost. This book begins after they have been apart for a few weeks and it had been torture for the both of them. But just as they begin talking again, Sabine steps into the picture. I initially read about Sabine from the short story, Fearless, from the anthology Kiss Me Deadly: 13 Tales of Paranormal Love (Review). She was dating Nash two years prior to My Soul To Take. Sabine gives Kaylee a run for her money and complicates the delicate nature of her and Nash's relationship that is currently in shambles. These two are at each others throats the entire time. It was simultaneously comedic and sometimes sad. Each of these girls appeals to a different part of Nash and I was having a hard time figuring out who he needed more. But that aside, I am and will always be a Kaylee/Nash shipper. Kaylee was definitely the strongest I have ever seen her. She did not give into the pressure that Sabine was dishing out. There were times I wanted her to get over what happened but when I put myself in her position, I could see where the trust issues between her and Nash created a barrier. And Sabine's ability to exploit fears was not helpful at all. While I was distracted with Nash, Kaylee, and Sabine, I was missing out on the disasters that were slowing snowballing during the book. The climactic 'fight' was definitely full of chaos and crazy action. Vincent has definitely done it again with this book. Her ability to create a legitimate love triangle and still keep up the pacing of a story filled with action and suspense is why this series is one of my favorites.
LostinBelieving More than 1 year ago
At first, the Soul Screamers books were not as amazing to me as they are now. My friend had bought the first one and raved about it, so she bought the sequels and persisted that I read them. When I picked up My Soul to Keep, I found the plot interesting but the novel was only okay to me. But as I got through the whole series, I started liking them more and more. The cover of My Soul to Steal is definitely my favorite out of the current four novels in the series (excluding the novellas). I'm assuming the girl on the front is Kaylee and the boy caressing her is Nash. Their body language is really well shown and the colors draw you in. The model for Nash is exactly how I picture him, so that is a plus. If you're familiar with this book, then you know the characters. A new character is Sabine, Nash's past girlfriend. She is gorgeous, threatening and oh yeah, a mara (literally your worst nightmare). Throughout the story, I wanted to punch her for being so self-absorbed and heartless. During certain moments though, I could not help but understand Sabine and not hate her as much. Still, she isn't the person that I would want to talk to. Also, Nash wins back my heart in this one. Even though Nash is supposed to be the heart-throb of the story, I always loved Tod more. Nash was such a butt in the last book and I was almost afraid to read this one knowing what happened in the past. But I have to say that his actions and words make me forgive him. It would be an understatement if I said this book is great. It isn't great; it is phenomenal. On the first page, insane things start to happen that hooks you right from the start. The events in this novel are like a snowball rolling down a mountain getting bigger as it gains momentum. Ounce you expect things to die down a little, Rachel Vincent shocks you by continuing to build up. I swear my anxiety was about to explode along with the climax of the novel. Honestly, when I read the summary I thought the book would be about Kaylee and Sabine 'fighting' for Nash's heart and all. It wasn't. There is so much that happens in under 350 pages that a few times I had to go over the events in my head again so I wouldn't get confused. There is a lot more action in this book that my heart raced even when I wasn't reading. Rachel Vincent crafts the next chapter in Kaylee's life so well that it is hard to believe what I am reading is fiction. Believe me; the fourth novel will not disappoint any Soul Screamers fan. If you have not read this series yet, I urge you to do so! Rating: 5 / 5
vleighwrites More than 1 year ago
5/5 stars
LittleReadRidingHood More than 1 year ago
I am going to start this review with a story of my own … Back when I was in high school I was not popular but not picked on either. It was a pleasant experience overall. BUT (you know there was a but) I had a nemesis. We will call her M. I doubt she reads this, but I don’t want to call her out JUST in case. Anyway, M seemed to go out of her way to steal my boyfriend. Inviting him out, excluding me, showing up at his house, buying him gifts – all under the pretense that ‘they had been friends for years’ – uh huh, not falling for it. It stressed me out and pissed me off and I was glad when I graduated, went to college, said boyfriend and I broke up, and I moved on with my life. I hadn’t thought about M in a really long time. The reason I am telling you this story, is because this book threw me right back to the days where dealing with M was a daily occurrence. This whole book made me anxious and angry and upset. My chest felt tight and while I couldn’t put the book down I was dreading picking it up at the same time. Whoa. That’s never happened to me before. I would call that a win in my opinion. A book that takes you back to a time in life and makes you re-live all those same feelings is well written. Stressful as hell to read – but well written. As I have come to expect from Vincent the whole cast of characters were fleshed out and true to form. There are some character shifts which I am looking forward to seeing fleshed out in the next book or two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarkedByBooks More than 1 year ago
This book has presented me with a bit of a problem. While I loved all of the new elements introduced into the story, namely the world's most determined mara, it frustrated me so much that I almost had to throw the book against the wall a few times. Almost. I could never bring myself to put the book down because I just had to find out what happened next. Of course, I already knew, considering this is a reread, but everyone changes so much in this book that it feels like I'm finally rediscovering the characters that I knew from after If I Die. There are some new things that I was glad to see had slipped through the cracks the first time around. I began to notice the little details that I had missed before, like who is always there for Kaylee when she needs them, and who is definitely… not. Seemingly insignificant changes in the way certain people look at her – insignificant because they never really mattered until later on in the series. That doesn't mean that they weren't noticed, just that there were more important things going on at the moment, so they were overlooked. And there was so much going on in this book. Just because Kaylee was going through a bit of a rough patch in the romance department, doesn't mean that there won't be some world, or at least Texas, threatening dilemma for her to solve. Then there's Sabine. The first time through this book, I hated her for everything she was and everything she did to Kaylee. It just wasn't fair. She had been through so much already and she still felt responsible for saving the world with her own two hands. Now there's a Nightmare with abandonment issues determined to pry her maybe-boyfriend from her cold, dead hands. The universe was tragically out of balance. This time, I looked at it in a whole different way. After reading the short stories from Sabine's point of view, "Neiderwald" and "Fearless," I can completely understand why she's not willing to play fair. She never meant to hurt Kaylee – in fact, on many occasions she called her a friend – it's just that she was the one thing standing in the way of her life. And Nash was her life; he was everything she needed to keep going on, and once he left, she had nothing. It doesn't take a genius to see that Kaylee and Nash are no longer perfect for each other. Kaylee doesn't need Nash like Sabine does, at least not any more. Whether she likes it or not, he has changed, and the Nash that she fell in love with is no more. But she is not alone. To take the place of her fallen hero is another, one that I have been very glad to see. Whether or not he will stay is one question, but without a doubt, he will be causing quite a bit of trouble, which is why we love him oh so very much. Taylor
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good not the best in the series but still very good :).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago