×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1)
     

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1)

4.3 483
by Rachel Vincent
 

See All Formats & Editions

She doesn't see dead people, but…

She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 483 reviews.
bookworm_95 More than 1 year ago
One of the first things that caught my eye about the book My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent was that it was about banshees, or bean sidhes as they're referred to in the book. In a time when ya literature is swarmed with vampire novels (which I do love)and other paranormal activity, it was nice to find a novel that brought a new subject into the light. Never before had I read a book about Banshees. And I was amazed by this one (I'm a new banshee fan!). This story is about Kaylee Cavanaugh, who is slowly discovering that she is a Banshee. The story continues as she catches the attention of Nash Hudson, a very popular (though surprisingly sensitive) jock. Nash seems to know a lot about what's wrong with Kaylee. He helps her (along with Kaylee's best friend Emma) as they discover that something terrible is happening to teenage girls in their area. And all signs point to the Netherworld, a frightening place that is like an alternate reality where demons roam. As the tension goes on the stakes get higher. Any girl could be next...including Kaylee or Emma. This book was packed with action, romance and thrills and I couldn't put it down! I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good paranormal romance (but perhaps is looking for something fresh).
CatholicKittie More than 1 year ago
OHMYFREAKINGGOSH! I mean wowza. I have not read a story this original since uh hmm? I want to say ever, but that is untrue and unfair. So I will say its been awhile. Generally I have a problem with characters harping on how plain jane they are, unremarkably unattractive they are and/or how so amazing they are but since this is teenage girls, I find it acceptable. And even if I say I don't remember being as hot under the collar as Kaylee, I would be lying if I said I never was. It's just been so long. That said, the only real problem I had with the book was how fast and uneventful Kaylee and Nash established coupledom. And why? There was no time for us to see What they liked about each other, besides the fizzle business in the parts below. But that can be chalked up to my age. I need the substance that builds lasting love not the tingling neither parts that feeds luurve. But again hello, high schoolers. Now to everything else which I love. I loove it wasn't the overdone vampires, werewolves, shape shifters ect. Which even when done right and unique is still sort of like old hat. So kudos right off for that. The characters were believable teens. The loyalty, the cliques, the stereotypes groups. I am a firm believer that cliches are based in facts. Cheer/dance squads are mainly (b)witchy, girls within the same age range in same family have that competition for attention, girls do try to screw each other over when it comes to a high school hottie. So it was all believable. Now the imagery and consistency of it. Now with me I get bored with the scenery and backdrop descriptions. But other than that I sorta skim until I get past it and back to the substance. But that's just me. The netherworld description was well done. Okay, maybe I was a bad kid but if my parents pulled the crap her family pulled, they would not get off the hook that easily. I would be highly P-O'd. Honestly, you chose to have me believe I am crazy rather than tell me what was up? Heck no would they live that down. Kaylee was mad, which I loved but not mad enough. Kaylee was snarky but not nearly enough. Best of all it left me begging for more in the series. And unlike house of night Kaylee is not near the whore of the heart Zoey is. Which is hard to do in a YA novel. YA Girls love boys boys boys! And Vincent adds that hmm nice 3 point dimension to the story. catholickittie.blogspot.com
ChelseaW More than 1 year ago
Kaylee Cavanaugh she is not your average teenager. When someone around her is about to die, she gets an uncontrollable urge to scream. After getting information from her Uncle and new boyfriend Nash, she realizes there is a lot more to learn about who she is and what she can do. The story takes place over a short period of time, but the plot is chock full of twists and turns, with a climactic ending that sneaks up and punches you in the gut. MY SOUL TO TAKE is a great paranormal romance story for teen girls. Kaylee deals with the usual paranormal issues ("Where did I come from and how do I learn to control my powers?") along with the more normal teenage issues ("Does he like me and am I pretty enough for him?") Together with some uncommon paranormal myths, readers will delight in the Soul Screamers series. This book is a great start to the new Harlequin Teen line-up. Vincent has written an engrossing and spooky tale that will leave new readers begging for more action and answers! (While waiting for more, readers can check out the prequel, MY SOUL TO LOSE, available for free download on the eHarlequin site.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the novellas first... then dive right into the five books in the "Soul Screamers" series! I hope there will be a # 6!!!
LadyJ-NY More than 1 year ago
It has been a long time since a book has forced me to stay up reading, let alone finish in a day. I could not put this book down. I have been trying to find a new series to captivate me the way Twilight has and this has definately done it. Now don't misunderstand me, this is nothing like Twilight. So far no vampire or werewolves, but it does deal with another kind of supernatural being that I haven't seen to often in stories, Banshees or (Bean Sidhes) as it's written in the story. I am a vampire/paranormal romance reader and I am so glad I decided to buy this book, along with the 2nd in it's series, My Soul to Keep, which I will start reading tonight. I love the characters, I like the originality of the story, and I love Rachel Vincent's style of writing which made it easier for me to rlate to the story. Especially when at one point she writes, "Whatever I'd glimpsed was too big to be a rodent-unless we'd stepped into Buttercup's fire swamp-..." Only people who have seen the Princess Bride as many times as I have will understand that line, and I absolutely loved it. Definately will read more from her!!!
ShezWickedBabii More than 1 year ago
When I first got this book about three weeks ago, I was definitly kinda stepping away from the Vampire werewolf theme...But Rachel Vincent is one of my favorite authors...After actually reading this book I couldn't put it down and I finished it in one day...It was that good...Its something different but still in the paranormal section...It reminds me of that show "Dead Like me" But ten times better...I loved the whole Banshee and grim Reaper thing! I just wished it was more thicker...But other than that it was worth the money and time!
Asmita More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. And i m craving for the second one to come. It is now in my top list of books.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Kaylee Cavanaugh is not your average teenage girl. There's something a bit off about her. Whenever she's near someone who is about to die, she can sense it. When that happens, she feels the urge to scream loud enough for everyone to hear. Kaylee wants to be a normal girl. Being a normal girl to Kaylee is going out on a date with her crush, Nash, who also happens to be the hottest guy in school. But going out on that date has to take a backseat when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason. Nash doesn't seem as in the dark as Kaylee feels, and she needs to know why. Who will die next? Only Kaylee knows for sure. Wonderfully written characters that are portrayed as typical teenagers that possess extraordinary powers. A fast-paced, engrossing read that you won't want to put down. A story that I wouldn't mind sharing with my preteen, although she'll have to wait until I am done. MY SOUL TO TAKE is a wonderful beginning to a series that fans of Ms. Vincent's adult SHIFTERS series will definitely be rushing out to buy. A book like this is one of the reasons that I add authors to my auto-buy list. This is definitely a keeper.
Archaeolibrarian 11 months ago
My Soul to Take tells the story of Kaylee, a girl with more to her than she realises. Her history comes straight out of Ireland, and with Nash by her side, she is more than capable of dealing with whatever gets thrown her way. She lives with her aunt, uncle, and cousin, due to her father leaving for Ireland upon the death of her mother. Nash is the 'hot' boy at school, and hasn't shown any interest in Kaylee until one evening when he sees her at a night club. There is back story to this, and things are explained; at the same time, there is plenty left open for future stories. This is well written, with no editing or grammatical errors to disrupt my reading flow. The characters were enjoyable, and I particularly liked Nash's support for Kaylee. An excellent start to the series, and I look forward to reading more by this author. Definitely recommended. * Verified Purchase - March 2013 * Merissa Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story development and characters. I enjoy reading paranormal stories and young adult fiction. Kaylee sounds like a wonderful girl, smart, good basic principle sand insight. I followed Kayleediscovery of who and what she is becoming. Strong cast of support characters in Nash and Emma. Too late in Kaylee's life, her father tells her the truth about her family. While Kaylee is angry and hurt but accepts him as part.of her life. The next book of this series will be the deciding factor whether or not I read the series.
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
Over all, I enjoyed the book very much. Interesting story line and characters for the most part. However, I think Kaylee is walking a thin line between getting on my nerves, and being likable. I am very much looking forward to learning more about the dynamic between Tod and Nash, and Kaylee getting to know her father more.
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a fan of Rachel’s Shifter series and was interested to read her YA series. I wasn’t overly sure what to expect other than the fact that Kaylee can sense when people are about to die. However, the story was more than that, more mythology than supernatural. It isn’t revealed what’s really going on with Kaylee until about a quarter through the book after Kaylee predicts a teenage girls death. Until that point, Kaylee is certain she’s crazy. After all, the last time she sensed anothers impending doom, she fell off her rocker and started screaming bloody murder. Her aunt and uncle had her sedated in the hospital after that until she could regain control. So when she starts seeing death again, she tries to hide it for as long as she can. However, Nash knows what’s going on with Kaylee and it’s not that she’s crazy. Pretty soon, Kaylie finds herself in a whole new world. I could have done without the “romance” in this one. Nash literally comes out of nowhere. I don’t know if it’s ever fully hashed out on why Mr. Popular randomly drops his life to chase after Kaylee, a girl who he showed no interest in previously. The fact that they went from strangers to dating in the blink of an eye after spending years co-existing around each other, just seemed odd. I wish the author spent a little more time building their relationship instead of just throwing it into the mix and moving on with the story. The mythology of this was fun though. I’ve never read a story that dealt with this particular folklore. I don’t want to say anything about it and give away what happens with Kaylee but I like that the author thought outside the box and brought a whole new world for YA paranormal books. Plus, there are reapers in this one with all the death taking place, and I find reapers to be a fascinating character in books. However, I had quite a bit of problems with this book too. There were a lot of things that didn’t make sense. Like Kaylee’s father abandoning her to her uncle and aunt while he took off to Ireland to live his life. All because her mother died when she was a baby and he couldn’t deal being around her. Then later when he comes back, he gives a “better” explanation as to why he left, but even still, it was really weak. You have the issue with the aunt that seems to be brushed over like no big deal. Then the innocent girl’s death with no remorse from Kaylee and Nash for their involvement. There were just a lot of things that didn’t work for me. It’s a little early to judge the series but the author definitely has left some things open. I don’t think we know fully what Kaylee’s heritage means for her, her family, or her relationship with Nash. I have a feeling Kaylee has more powers up her sleeve than she’s unaware of. I will have to grab the sequel and see if anything happens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss ur jand three times and post this on three other books then look under you pillow.
vleighwrites More than 1 year ago
5/5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vampire-Love More than 1 year ago
This book is full of suspense and teenage angst. At times you will find yourself on edge waiting to see what happens, and others your thinking to yourself, seriously are you THANT dense?! Kaylee and Nash make a great couple, but I'm hoping in future books the author will bring into play that socially they are on opposite sides of the school and see what kind of drama that can stir up. I'm acutely interested to find out more about Todd as well, I think a love triangle would be a great twist in the future! Overall it's a really good book and I'm excited to read the next one. I was actually surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did being that there are no vampires... Audible was having a sale and I found this book among the titles, my deciding factor was the narrator - I've listened to several of her books in the past and enjoyed them so I figured, why not give it a try.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 3 days. I enjoyed this book, especially since I understood the nevernever and what a bean sidth is, I can thank the Iron Fey series for that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago