×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Steadfast Heart (The Thorne Brothers Trilogy, Book 1)
     

My Steadfast Heart (The Thorne Brothers Trilogy, Book 1)

3.9 38
by Jo Goodman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Colin Thorne finds his way out of a London workhouse but at the cost of losing his two younger brothers. With an uncertain future ahead of him, Colin makes seafaring his life until the inexorable pull of revenge draws him back to London. The debt owed to him by the Earl of Weybourne will be paid.

Weybourne Park has been Mercedes Leydon's home her entire life.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Steadfast Heart 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't get me wrong. I really did like this book and before it was done I bought the second book. It had deep emotions and the plot was great too. What I didnt like was the fact that I couldnt connect with Colin. I know that he had a brooding character but the author didnt give as much insight about him as she did with Mercades. It was obviouse that she was a self sacreficing character with a soft heart. I could connect with her emotions on how she tried to protect the kids. What I couldnt understand was the way Colin treated her. Iy is not the fact that his actions were not okay. It was the fact that she gives no clue on what he is thinking. Most of the book he wasnt mean he was just indeferent. I had no idea if he really didnt care or he acted that way. He didnt care that she had bruises all over her body and later even after he go to know her he didnt ask why she needed the money as long as he used the money to sleep with her which to tell the truth turned my stomach since it wasnt rape but between a rock and hard place she decided to become his mistress. He didnt care about her emotions and until he told her in one breath that he thaught she was a murderer and the next breath that he loved her I didnt know what was going on in his mind. It was hard to get connected to the love story when the hero even thogh he has come to understand the heroine's character still treats her bad. There was no remorse and no clue over the fact that he felt any thing but distrust for her untill more than half way in the book when all of a sudden out of the blue he tells her he loves her and after that he was a different character but still we dont know what is going on in his head. I still think that if the author gave him a little more voice, the book would have been. amazing. It is still a very good book and worth every penny. You wont be disappointed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was ok. I thought the storyline was a good concept, but a little forced. I liked Colin's character, and yet I didn't like Meresades character. She was a little bland. It was hard to relate to the character. Also the plot was a little jumbled and made it hard to believe the conflict among the main characters. Great concept, but poorly developed.
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
My Steadfast Heart by Jo Goodman is a fantastic read! Ms Goodman has crafted an action filled story that kept me turning pages way past my normal bedtime. The characters are awesome, add in the drama, humor and sizzle and this well written book left me wanting to read more from this talented author. My Steadfast Heart is book one of The Thorne Brothers Trilogy. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot understand the vitriol ?? The book was free! It was intended to give one a taste of what this author has to offer. One may choose to buy her other books or not.its a business strategy employed by most - big and small businesses. The suggestion is that this book is written by an for a lower strata of intelligence is patently false! It is insulting and demeaning to those of us who would give this author a 5 star review. I have read the entire series and I highly recommend it!
Creme-Brulee More than 1 year ago
Unbelievable Plot with Unlikable Characters I read romance novels when my own world suddenly becomes random and I cannot control the clutter.  The progress toward the inevitable happy ending satisfies my need for order and predictability in a world that frequently has neither.  I prefer witty, well-written books such as those written by Julia Quinn, Karen Hawkins and Lisa Kleypas. Having stated my personal prejudices, let me say that this book is neither well-written nor enjoyable.  The central characters are unlikable and, frankly, made me uncomfortable.  Although the author works very hard to create background stories that explain the emotional and intellectual dilemmas of the central characters, those stories are stereotypic and unconvincing.  They appear to be derived from second-rate self-help books.  The female lead seems to enjoy her victimization and nothing from her past adequately explains her decision to enter into a sexual relationship with Colin,the  male lead who seems to enjoy being a victimizer.  Their relationship made my flesh crawl. The plot depends on several coincidences that boggle the imagination.  Using coincidences to move the action forward is, to me, an indication of a writer who is too lazy to work out a coherent plot or who is cursed with little imagination.  Either possibility leaves the reader with a story that is difficult to accept. I will file this book in my Nook archive and never look at it again.  I am, however, grateful that I did not have to pay for it.  I do not wonder why the book was free.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits down. Yoy promised me a dance?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining plot with characters that were engaging
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A really good read. A bit annoying how many times the'heroine' falls for trickery but keeps the story moving a little longer.
alinefromabook More than 1 year ago
“My Steadfast Heart” is the first book in the Thorne Brothers Trilogy and I found it to be a thoroughly well-written romance story. The story opens with Colin Thorne and his two younger brothers, Decker and Grey, finding themselves in a workhouse after their parents are murdered during a roadside robbery. Colin is taken in by the captain of a ship and ends up in Boston where he eventually becomes a ship’s captain himself. The story pauses here and picks up again some years later when Colin has arrived, with his ship, back in London. One night he is challenged to a duel by a local aristocrat, the Earl of Weybourne, who has lost money gambling with Colin. The night before the duel he is confronted by Mercedes Leyden whose uncle, the local aristocrat Weybourne, has sent her to Colin’s boarding house to stop him, by any means necessary, from showing up for the duel. What follows will throw Mercedes and Colin together through a complicated series of events involving robbery, trickery and murder. Will they fall in love and make a life together or will Colin catch the next ship and return to the states where another eligible young lady waits? You’ll have to read to find out. I really enjoyed this story even though romance is not my usual cup of tea. Jo Goodman has created some wonderful characters who were truly likable and believable. Of course, there is a bad guy among them who will do anything in his power to thwart Colin and Mercedes. The author has done a great job of balancing descriptions of the surroundings with interactions between characters in a way that keeps you interested in the story from beginning to end. If you enjoy historical romances than you should definitely try this one out. Happy Reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Joycew604 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, the characters are charming and the story was captivating. I went on and purchased books 2 & 3, and enjoyed them also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Riley2015 More than 1 year ago
This book is a page turner! Kept me going with all the suspenseful twists and turns! Read book in one sitting...lived it!!!
bklvr16 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed My Steadfast Heart. I loved Colin and Mercedes. I loved their interaction with the twins and Chloe and Sylvia. I wasn't too happy with the way Mercedes was so trusting of certain people and so distrusting of the ones she should trust. This is my first (and not my last) Jo Goodman book. I am looking forward to starting My Reckless Heart and With All My Heart the books about Colin's brothers, Decker and Grey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Decent story line but too drawn out overall for me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this romantic historical. The characters were likeable & intrigueing. I will read the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book at one setting. I plan to buy and read the rest of the series soon. Well developed characters and the story line was true to the time frame. A fun read with a twist or two