×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Sweetest Escape
     

My Sweetest Escape

3.5 21
by Chelsea M. Cameron
 

See All Formats & Editions

The past will always find you

Jos Archer was the girl with the perfect life—until the night it all came crashing down around her. Now, nine months later, she still hasn't begun to pick up the pieces. Even transferring to a new college and living under the watchful eye of her older sister, Renee, isn't enough to help her feel normal again.

And then she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Sweetest Escape 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
thebookwormNJ More than 1 year ago
My Sweetest Escape is second in the My Favorite Mistake series but can be read as a stand alone. In this story, Joscelyn Archer suffers a traumatic event which had her spiraling downhill, drinking and using drugs and doing poorly in school. Her older sister Renee has Jos transfer to a college near her and live at her house, Yellowfield House, which she shares with close friends. Renee plans on looking after Jos and making sure she stays on the right path. Renee is super watchful of Jos, almost mother-like and sometimes she’s really too much. She was just one the characters in this book that was over dramatic. As Jos goes to classes, she makes a best friend, a girl named Hannah whose face is severely scarred from burns. Hannah was a favorite character, her outlook was sassy and she didn’t hide her face and shy away from people because she was scarred. I think Hannah needs her own book in this series. It was interesting how a supporting character really stole the show here. Jos also meets a guy named Dusty Sharp. Dusty is funny, charismatic, dark and handsome with light eyes. He also beat boxes. Now this is when I came to realize that I am way to old for this book, but I digress. Dusty beat boxes. He is very good at it and even assists during a wedding proposal scene by adding beat box effects in the background. Don’t ask, I will get back to Dusty in a moment. Against her will Jos begins to fall for him of course, but the two resist the attraction. Jos and Dusty each have a secret they are keeping. When these secrets were revealed, they seemed over rated and the melodrama was too much, especially with Jos’s behavior. It became almost soap opera-like. Aside from the melodrama, I liked that Jos was into music and starts a music review blog. Her blogging and listening to music are nicely woven into the storyline. I have a bone to pick now. I was insulted by the way the author wrote Dusty’s character by giving him some really stereotypical traits. It is obvious by the cover that he is African-American or ethnic, as it is by her descriptions of him. I noticed the stereotyping right away. So, what does Dusty do? As I mentioned, he beat boxes. He also wears baggy, slouchy pants that are falling down and Jo even asks at one point how he keeps them up. He also wears baggy hooded sweatshirts. There is no mention of the other characters dressing this way in this book, which takes place in Maine. So, aside from the stereotyping of the one single dark-skinned male character, author Chelsea M. Cameron did a nice job at intertwining a group of characters and making them seem like real friends. I’ll give her that. If only she would have written Dusty differently, made him like the rest of the guys in the group. He is a regular guy after all. This one was not full of sex scenes, which was nice. Jos and Hannah are saving themselves for marriage and I liked seeing that in new adult romance, or anywhere really. I cannot remember the last time I read a character doing so. While I had qualms with Dusty’s character, the rest of the story was alright. Sweet, fluffy romance, but some characters did annoy me. Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I received my free review copy of My Sweetest Escape (My Favorite Mistake Book 2) by Chelsea M. Cameron via Amazon Vine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book made me laugh and cry.
chucha_13 More than 1 year ago
She used to be a straight-A student who wanted to change the world, but one night changed it all. Suddenly, she was all party and her grades plummet dramatically. Nine months later – she was still broken, and partying. When her family couldn’t take it anymore, she was ordered to transfer to a new college, under the supervision of her older sister, Renee.  It was a fresh start, but it didn’t make her feel normal… Then here comes Dusty Sharp – he was always present everywhere she went. Stalker-ish? You might say it. But he’s determined to break the walls that surround her. If he’s patient enough, he MIGHT just probably do it, but Jos didn’t really think she deserves a happily ever after. Both have secrets of their own – secrets that might make or break whatever it is that is brewing between the two of them. Will both of them give in to their emotions? As the past finds its way back to Jos and Dusty - will the truth ruin it all for the both of them? THE DRIVING FORCE OF THE STORY - I wondered what happened to the perfect Jos Archer. What made her change her persona in an instant? What happened that night that had her world crumbled down in pieces? It had me reading, reading, loving each character along the way, not just Jos and Dusty- but the friend Jos meets unexpectedly: Hannah and everyone in the Yellowfield house. Renee may start out as a guard-dog-slash-jailer-slash-mom, but she only wants what was best for her. It may have took a long time before she opened up to anyone, most especially to her sister, but the scene was worth it (had me in near-tears). She is a great sister. Hannah was something else. She might have experienced tragedy and had marks to prove it- but her positive vibes will make you fall in love with her, and thankful enough Jos had her. She needed every positive thing she could get, Hannah (besides Dusty) provides the light in her dark world. I like Dusty and his perseverance to get into Jos nerves… ummm… or get her to open up to him. He didn’t give up, even when she pushed him away. TO END – I love the cover – it’s quite sexy and very much alluring. It makes me want to grab the book as soon as I have it on my reader, but since I had too many books lined up on my TBR list… Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading My Sweetest Escape. My heart went out to Jos and Dusty, and Hannah along the way. This is not just about love – it’s also about trust, friendship and family.  It was a great ride, with a few bumps: the secrets, the past, the strain in relationships, and finally, the truth. No matter how much it hurts, the past will always remain where it is – THE PAST. So, live a little, seize the day and enjoy everything every day.  ¿ARC Copy was given in exchange for an honest review.¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the story but wasn't impressed ....I had high hopes after reading My Favorite Mistake, but this was just so so.  Not worth the $8.99
miztrebor More than 1 year ago
For those who follow my reviews closely, you’ll know that I’m a fan of Chelsea M. Cameron’s work. I’ve read a few of her other books, like My Favorite Mistake (the first in this two book “series”), and seem latch onto many of Cameron’s strengths when reading. One of my favorite things about this book was the main character, Jos Archer. I think the author did a great job writing all of her characters, both main and secondary, for this book, but Jos was one of my favorites. I guess that’s normal since she’s the narrator too. I really felt for her throughout everything that went on. I also liked her love of music, writing, and her other characteristics. Since this is a companion to My Favorite Mistake, we also get many of the characters introduced in that book. It was great get reacquainted with them and the college setting in Maine. One of Cameron’s strengths is setting, in my opinion. I’ll admit that I wasn’t too sold or charmed by Dusty, but I wasn’t totally turned off from him either. In a few key parts he irked me with his actions, but he’s also a great guy at the heart of it all. I can’t fault him too much. I’d be happy if Cameron were to revisit this series with another book. I think I know what character could take the lead, as well. I’d definitely be one of the first to grab that book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Daydream-Books More than 1 year ago
My Sweetest Escape has some of the characters of the first book in the series, but this one focuses around a totally new couple, Jos Archer and her potential love interest, Dusty. I came in blind to this book as I hadn't read My Favorite Mistake, but I was not left feeling at a disadvantage for doing this. It is a strong standalone story. I am currently reading another Chelsea M Cameron book from a separate series that is equally as emotionally charged as My Sweetest Escape revealed itself to be although I found this book to slower at showing the character's dark secrets. The other book is Deeper We Fall. Both fully display the author's talent for spinning a heart wrenching yarn that doesn't have the same old tired new adult feel that some books have. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To much like the first book.
13gpb28 More than 1 year ago
Not as Good as the first book in this series "My Favorite Mistake". I don't know where these two characters came from? Jos, Renee's little sister, and Dusty, friend of Hunter, were not even in the first book. Jos and Dusty are connected by a person but you don't find out until much later in the story. Supposedly, both characters were very different 9 months ago and would never have gotten together. But now they are great for each other. I liked that you got to see how Hunter and Taylor are doing now. I hope, if there is a next book, it will be about Hannah because her story needs to be told and she needs a HEA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kimberlyfaye More than 1 year ago
My Sweetest Escape is the second book in Chelsea M. Cameron's My Favorite Mistake series. It's a standalone series, but there's character overlap. I happened upon My Favorite Mistake, the first book, last year before I started blogging. It was a fantastic read, and the start of my love affair with Chelsea's books. Hunter and Taylor were such vibrant characters and their chemistry was fantastic. I hoped for more of the same with My Sweetest Mistake, but unfortunately it fell just a wee bit short for me. That's not to say that I didn't enjoy the book. I did. I just didn't connect with the characters in the same way as I did the first.  Jos Archer was the girl who had it all, but she's fallen apart, and been sent to live with her older sister, Renee so she can go to school and pull herself together. We never really get to know "perfect Jos," since the story begins after the night everything fell apart. It takes quite a bit of time before we find out exactly what happened that night and, when we do, it's understandable why she would be broken and feeling guilty. I felt sympathy for Jos, but I just didn't like her that much. Something about her really rubbed me the wrong way and I've been unable to figure out just what it was.  She meets Dusty Sharp through her sister and her friends. He's a giant puzzle, but a yummy one (to me, at least). It took awhile until I got a read on him, he played everything pretty close, so it was difficult to figure him out. But once I did, I adored him. He and Jos have an immediate attraction and, in the end, have more in common than I originally thought. They worked well together.  What I truly loved about the book was that we truly got to know a lot of characters. Taylor and Hunter are back, as are Renee, Paul, Darah and Mase. And my new favorite secondary character ever: Hannah. Hannah needs her own book. She was amazing. Sassy, spunky and real... and a fantastic friend to Jos. I'm so sick of bad girlfriend behavior in books, so Hannah truly was a breath of fresh air. I love how the dynamics of these characters was explored. The relationships and friendships felt real. The dialogue was great. The only thing was, I felt like sometimes all these characters overshadowed Jos and Hunter, but I don't know that it's a bad thing. As I've come to expect from Chelsea, My Sweetest Escape was well-written, with well-developed and interesting characters. It was a fair bit angsty, a little sexy and had a surprising twist that connected the characters and truly shocked me. It was a good, quick, read. I hope there's more to this series (cough, Hannah, cough) because I do find it enjoyable.  I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tenika_Johnson More than 1 year ago
Heart wrenching, beautiful, and enjoyable. This book was an enjoyable and quick read. I really enjoyed My Favorite Mistake and knew that this one would be just as good. I did find myself a little perplexed as to why the author picked these two characters and not two of the others that ended up living in the house or being friends with Hunter and Taylor but it still was an enjoyable read. I enjoyed the story because frankly I am a little bit tired of all these tortured soul books and these bad boys that have no reason to be douche bags. I enjoyed reading the banter between Jos and Dusty it was light and refreshing. I loved Hannah she was a fierce friend and a even better side character that added something so different to this story. The relationship was believable and the way they found romance was great it didn’t seem like something that could have never happened in life. The sex wasn’t in your face and it wasn’t unbelievable. I love the romantic aspect of this book more than anything in this world and was so happy that it wasn’t just all in your face orgasm after unbelievable orgasm. This book was a sweet little romance where the story was in the forefront and the sex took a back seat. This story was a good one but what stopped me from giving it a perfect score was that sometimes things seemed so long that I was reading and saying it’s only 20% left in the book will these two ever reveal their secrets and when they did and the relationship plateaued it seemed like it all happened so fast that I reached the end of the book and was wondering what happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
csingh More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book but wasn't very impressed with it. I had higher expectations for this book. It's very well written though. I'd love to see Hannah get her own book/novella.
leslie west More than 1 year ago
Disappointing follow up to her previous book, "My Favorite Mistake." There was little interaction between Dusty and Jos. I really wanted to like this book, but it fell way short of my expectations. The only thing that kept me reading this book, was the secondary character Hannah. She really gave the book heart.
A-slickKkkkk More than 1 year ago
4 Stars! Like always Chelsea did a bang up job. I absolutely loved My Favorite Mistake, the first book in this series and this wasn't any different. I fell in love with Dusty. He was like the bad boy, but not exactly the bad boy, bad boy who doesn't do anything really bad in the present, but has done somewhat bad things in the past. He seemed extremely hot, I'm not one for extremely baggy pants, like his in the book, it's not really my thing, but other than that everything about him was hot. He was nice, protective, and swoon-worthy. Jos was not what I thought should would be. When I found out there was going to be a second book and it was going to be Renee's sister, I thought she was going to be like Taylor and Renee's friends, as in dress like them and their personalities would be somewhat the same, but I was wrong. Jos was a guarded, snappy, dark thoughts along with alternative dress ware. As I read though, she wasn't always who she was in the present during this book. She used to dress differently and live a different lifestyle. Truthfully I like the person she was in the book than who she was in her past, the person we didn't get to see. I didn't quite like her past self. I really liked the characters in this book and how we get to see more about Taylor and the rest of the bunch in this book. The only reason I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5 stars is because I wish we would've seen more of a relationship between Jos and Dusty. They had a very explosive chemistry that they both fought for most of the book, But in my opinion they fought it too much and didn't get to see them together as much as I would have liked. I like being able to see the two main characters together in a relationship and see them get to know each other and banter. It makes books capture my attention more when they're like that. I loved this book, I just wish they didn't fight what they felt for so long. Otherwise, I love this book and hope to see more in this series and more books produced in the future from Chelsea. I will always be a follower of her books, they're that good. So congrats Chelsea, you did a wonderful job, continue to make writing magic! *I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review
RipeForReader More than 1 year ago
My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿ First off I have to note that the characters were younger than I had anticipated, but I didn't find that a deterrent, surprisingly.  The issues facing Jos are very vague and do not become fully clear until the final few chapters, so be prepared to be guessing a lot of different scenarios in her history..... I did. I have to admit I did not read the first book in this series and therefore don't know if I would have come away a bit wiser regarding her plight, but I don't think it would have made much of a difference to me.  She has obviously has gone through a massive transformation and gone from a 'by the rules' kinda girl, to a 'live and let loose' attitude, which concerns her parents and sister. She is delegated to the care of her older sister since her parents apparently are too busy with spouse number whatever, and seem happy enough passing her off. Sister dear takes on the tough parent role, which is a bit hard to swallow, since she can't be much more than a few years older, alienating Jos and not really helping the situation. Jos hasn't and will not talk about what happened to make her change her ways so drastically. Enter Dusty. A friend of one of the sisters' housemates and former bad boy, who has had a change of heart and attitude for the better. His interest in Jo's is pretty obvious but 'little sister-syndrome' and some friendly promises made, have him stopping at the threshold, driving Jos batty. She doesn't know whether he is coming or going.....but then neither does he. Dusty claims to have his own issues and his turnaround had roots in a tragic loss of some sort that everyone stays pretty 'mum' about as well.  Coolest chick of the entire book is Hanna, a new friend Jos makes and a girl who has learned to cope in a kickass way. Her story is a pretty traumatic one and beats them all hands down, but she deals like a trooper. I hope she has her own book coming, because that is one I would enjoy reading. As for Jos and Dusty, after some push and pull, their lives are already closer entwined than they could have imagined, and as the secrets come spilling out, their relationship may not survive. What disappointed me after reading the entire book, was the relatively mild nature of the issue Jos was struggling with. I could have imagined many other things reason for all the secrecy, this would not be one of them though.....  Well written, and as stated before, if Hanna gets her own book, I'm on board.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review. Jos is suffering from the loss of her best friend. She blames herself for the things that happened to cause this loss. She has decided to live her life day by day instead of living for the future. She has moved in with her sister and the rest of the gang.  Since everyone seems to thing that Jos is spiraling out of control, they keep a close eye on her and everything she does. Enter Dusty. He is sarcastic and attractive. The last thing Jos wants on her plate. She really tries her best to avoid him. The feelings he stirs inside her are dangerous and she doesn't want to have them. Dusty. He has suffered and made mistakes. He has put his life on the right track. He is more than interested in getting to know Jos. He will put himself in any position that will get him closer to getting to know this knew person.  The friendships and relationships that are built in this book are strong. But as always, there are secrets. Secrets that will either tear Jos and Dusty apart from one another before they even come together or they will bring them closer together. Secrets in this book show that it really is a small world after all! I really liked this book. I just could not put it down! And I wasn't disappointed in any way! This book is different from the first. It does have the characters from the first, but it isn't centered around them. It is equally as good as the first book though!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
???