×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

My Way: An Autobiography
     

My Way: An Autobiography

2.4 16
by Paul Anka, David Dalton
 

See All Formats & Editions

A teen idol of the 1950s who virtually invented the singer/songwriter/heartthrob combination that still tops pop music today, Paul Anka rocketed to fame with a slew of hits-from "Diana" to "Put Your Head on my Shoulder"-that earned him a place touring with the major stars of his era, including Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Buddy Holly. He wrote Holly's last hit

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

My Way 2.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am on page 321 and don't know if I can finish this self absorbed book. This book is obviously one sided view which makes you think "really"! I guess it would have been great to be one of lucky cherished friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So very disappointed. I to have been a fan of Paul Anka for many years having been a teen in the 50"s. I was astonished not only with with his self-serving ego but also his adulation of Frank Sinatra and the Rat Pack. Seems he cared more about them then he does his family.Hope his wife got a mega-buck financial settlement.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed !!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was very disappointing and I'm a big fan of Paul Anka. It was not well written at all and contents not only repetitive but not very interesting or informative about his "real" life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a sixty something huge fan of Paul Anka and his music. It's difficult to believe that such a talented songwriter who can pen hits, such as "You're Having My Baby, Do I Love You, The Times of Your Life"' just to name a few of my favorites, could write a book filled with such trashy language. His obsession with the Mafia, the Rat Pack, and the people who moved in those circles is disturbing, especially when he says he never participated, just observed. I was looking forward to reading more about his family which I always felt had to be the inspiration behind his compositions. I am half way through the book and feel more disappointment with each page.
ebooks18 More than 1 year ago
Self-serving drivel from a mafia wannabe. Stick to music Mr. Anka
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a huge Paul Anka fan for years and years. I have been to many, many of his concerts. I've been backstage and had my picture taken with him, and also had my daughter sit with him onstage, as he sang to her over 35 years ago. He was the King to me back then. I will be going to his May concert and wish I hadn't started reading this book until after that time. I am about 100 pages away from finishing the 406 page book of trash. I cannot believe I just said that. I am forcing myself daily to read more so that I can finally say "done". This is not an autobiography, but a book filled with all his Vegas/Mafia friends (but of course he was never involved in any of that), trash language, drugs, alcohol, womanizing (but of course he wasn't involved in any of that) and yes, the self absorbed (as mentioned before) person Mr. Anka must really be. People, this book is going nowhere if more folks read reviews. I hope I can enjoy his in person concert coming up....how will I put this book behind me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure I can finish this book, I'm about 3/4 of the way through and ready to skip pages. I thought this was an autobiography, not a book about the mob in Vegas. I'm sooo over reading the stores of what the mob did, even though the author "had no part in any of it". I thought I would be reading about Paul Anka, not a book filled with stories about other celebrities and the mob. I think two pages so far have been dedicated to his wife and kids. Good luck reading this if you're a fan. 
Darrold More than 1 year ago
Well-done autobiography. He emphasizes how important the arrangement is. Covers how he wrote "My Way" for Sinatra and the theme for the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. He shares much information about the Rat Pack and seems a bit of an angel compared to them, but he probably was more of a voice of reason among them. It is largely about Vegas and how smart he was to diversify his investments rather than just depending on his talent or the longevity of his singing career, which he has also luckily had. The Vegas mafia share the limelight. Never boring, a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elaine- More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed with this book.  All about his life and "friends" in Vegas.  Wish I had saved my money.  Maybe he should just stick to singing and writing, which he does so  well....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love you so that i can cry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Certainly not the best book I've ever read but certainly entertaining. If you want a light read, and want to learn about some great stories from behind the scenes, you'll love Anka's stories. I got this book because I always respected Anka as one of the greatest entertainers of our time, but mostly because he is one of the most responsible and respected people in showbiz today.